We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, if not a bit 'quirky'”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red & Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red & Blue
Ranked #71 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, if not a bit 'quirky'”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A great hotel across the river from all the action. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with a wide selection on offer, although when we got down towards the end there wasn't a lot left. The bathroom was within our bedroom, not sure if all the bedrooms are like this. It was fine for us but if you are travelling as friends, not ideal. Having the sink as my bedside table was a little odd and with no towel rack, we just had to make do. A great hotel, but an odd room layout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    516
    72
    9
    2
See reviews for
173
1,049
80
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Red & Blue. The staff was excellent and friendly and our room was large, clean, modern, and air conditioned! The location is "off the beaten path" - away from tourists, but close to a few of the tram/metro lines. We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComeAlongWithMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We used the hotel to arrange transfer from the airport. Very efficient. However, the driver was new and he did not turn up to take us to the train station on our departure. The receptionist sorted out a replacement within minutes without any fuss.
The hotel location is in the Lesser Town and this really means lesser cost. Good value restaurants within walking distance and not too far to Charles Bridge. The hotel is quite new and the standards are high. All staff we encountered were friendly and did their job very well. The room was spacious, had an excellent shower and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was good but not exceptional. There were 3 hot dishes each morning which were rotated i.e one morning boiled egg, next morning scrambled, next fried. Sausage, frankfurters and bacon were also rotated. The was a selection of cereals, breads and cooked meats and cheeses. There were also pastries and good coffee and juices.
I consider the hotel to offer excellent value and the standard of service exceptional. I was emailed by the hotel the next day to say that I had left a pair of glasses behind. They even arranged to post them home to me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTKL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

What can I say ... An amazing hotel at a reasonable price ... Rooms were clean, modern, spacious and cool ( it was really hot when we went so the air con was a blessing) ... Requested a bottle of bubbly on arrival and was waiting chilled. Amazing location to all the sights, a little walk but nothing to excessive.

DO NOT get a taxi from the town, the taxi driver wanted 300 but when we booked through the hotel it only cost 85.

WATCH OUT AT THE ATMs not sure which ATM but my card got skimmed for £500 when out there, they apparently fit devices on the ATMs to read your card ... Be careful and hide your PIN number.

An amazing place and would definitely go again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago. The hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are big bed was great. Location was convenient to most every Prague tourist site, about a 10 minute walk to the river. Bar girl gave us recommendations for several good authentic Czech restaurants. Would stay here again. A few bad things, the shower was weird! Glass on only half the tub, and it swung out. To make matters worse the shower head was extendable so you find yourself squirting out side tub and getting your bathroom all wet. We pre booked a cab that was suppose to pick us up at the airport and take us right to the hotel we arrived and did not see him. so we waited a bit then decided to take a cab at the curb. When we got at the hotel they told us we had to pay for both caps the one that took us and the one that we couldn't find at the airport. After some negotiation we were able to get them to agree to half the fare 12E. The cap driver swears he was at the gate....maybe after flying all night we didn't see him. Just watch out for this if you reserve a taxi in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetripcolony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago, during a "heat wave". The hotel was nice and cool. The room large, well decorated. The hotel is not that close to the historic centre but was close enough to the meeting I attended. On the whole I was very satisfied, and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysses186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arrived late at night and were warmly welcomed. Unfortunately our luggage was to follow but the team were helpful and called us the next afternoon to advise us of our delivery. The hotel was spotless, especially the bathroom. Good size room with the comfiest bed ever! Perfect location as away from the main drag. Lovely stroll to the main attractions and reception advised us on the tram numbers to use.

Breakfast was excellent with loads to choose from. You can sit inside, outside or in the conservatory. Wi-Fi was free.

Lovely Italian a 5 minute walk away - Carmelita - down the brae, cross to the left at the traffic lights and look out for it on the left of the main street.

We did loads on our 3 days/4 nights trip. Our boat trip was really poor as you don't go very far and not much to see! If you do fancy relaxing on the water the pedal boats looked like they would have been a better option.

At the clock look out for the Free Walking Tours - we left a £15 tip - some people left next to nothing which was poor as Calum our guide was first class - so informative and the tour was 3 hours long - I think they start at 10am - 2pm - 5pm.

Brilliant time and would thoroughly recommend this Hotel - we booked through Trivago and paid less than £60.00 per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvernessLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#62 of 670 in Prague
1,877 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 670 in Prague
1,514 reviews
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#59 of 670 in Prague
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#95 of 670 in Prague
674 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 670 in Prague
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red & Blue

Property: Red & Blue
Address: Holechkova 366/13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red & Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red & Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing