We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”
Review of Red & Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red & Blue
Ranked #75 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed there in february. the hotel was very modern and the staff friendly and helpfull. its an excellent value for money. the rooms were a bit small but very clean and colorful. the bathrooms have a very good size and are very clean. breakfast was also very good. the only minor inconvenient was the location, however not very far from the main attractions, a 10 to 15 minutes walk to the Charles bridge. it was an overall very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vera m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    541
    80
    9
    3
See reviews for
183
1,086
81
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying that the negative reviews on here are compete rubbish! Red and Blue in Prague is an excellent hotel. The staff are so helpful ad friendly, the location is perfect - next to a beautiful park and 15 mins to the old town. (5 by tram). The rooms are extremely clean and a very good size and the bathroom was lovely, with a great powerful shower. I would 100% return to this place and reccomend it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenniferBec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I can't praise this hotel highly enough. Excellent value for money, superb location ideally placed to get the tram to all the different areas of Prague that we wanted to see, scrupulously clean, well designed, spacious room. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and warm, everything we needed was provided. The breakfast buffet was very generous and delicious. The staff spoke very good English and were always smiling and cheerful, and check-in and check-out were very efficient.

Room Tip: We had a standard room on the first floor at the rear of the building and it was very quiet and plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECarr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a lovely 3 night stay at this hotel. Thought it was a great location, away from the very busy tourist areas at the other side of the river and it is close to a large shopping centre and some great wee reataurants. Our room had a view into the park across the road which was beautiful in Autumn. It also had very nice decor and was spotless! The staff were also very helpful.

We also had the breaksfast each morning which was nice and had quite a few unusal dishes. Although not sure I'd get it if I stayed again but this could just be due to personal taste.
We statyed in early October although still found the room extemely warm to sleep in, with the window open in daytime and aircon on overnight. Apart from that it was excellent and I would recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I seriously do not know what people find to moan about. This hotel is a lovely comfortable base for some great sightseeing. The hotel reception staff are friendly and actually acknowledge you every time you enter or leave the hotel. The bar is small and quiet but comfortable and the girls who work there are friendly. The breakfast is perfectly fine. It's never going to be to everybodys taste but certainly nothing to moan about. The staff work very hard and the lady whom certain reviews seem to focus on...was perfectly pleasant every morning as were all of the other staff in the breakfast room. They have their job to do and one of them is to check your room card when you enter the dining room...so take it every morning and all will be well. Anybody could walk into any hotel in Spain and eat breakfast...If they followed this proceedure in Spanish hotels maybe Spain wouldn't be in the financial state it's in. So don't be mean to people who are just doing their job! The rooms are modern and very clean. The pillows are quite large and comfy and so is the bed. The safe is free and simple to use. There are English channels on the flat screen TV...BBC world, Bloomberg,etc... Music channel(Flava) 1 True movies 1&2. Please note that there is an HDMI socket and USB socket on the telly so if you take an iPad or laptop and take an HDMI cable with you I would imagine you can make full use of the Free wifi and watch whatever you want via your laptop. The wifi is great. Fab shower too. There is a kettle and a mini bar. No iron and the hairdryer isnt brilliantThe price list for the items in the mini bar is displayed. Room is a perfect temperature. Hotel is on a slight incline. At the bottom of the road is a set of traffic lights....Please be careful..they don't give you enought time to cross the road. Prague is a smokers paradise ..we are non smokers.Always ask if they have a non smoking area as a lot of the restaurants do...but lots don't also. It's about a 10min walk to the Charles bridge and about 20mjns up the hill to the castle. Great restaurant called Olympia. Well worth a visit. Prague airport transfers were brilliant. Everything done online. About £36 or 1050 czech kournar return. Reliable drivers. Prague duty free isn't great. Everything is cheaper back home. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela09whitleybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overall a nice hotel where I would stay again. We spent 2 nights here in mid October at the start and end of our week in the Czech Rep. The staff are very helpful, arranging a taxi transfer from the airport for us and giving us good information for which trams to take etc. The rooms are clean and a good size, the breakfast is very good with the staff constantly checking that there was plenty availiable. There is some noise from the road if you're at the front of the hotel, the rear rooms are much quieter. I have no night time road noise at home and it was noticable for me, however i appreciate that it's a city and this is fairly normal. There is also some noise from adjoining rooms, we had a couple 'celebrating' fairly vigorously in the room next to ours and this was quite loud. its location is not a problem, it's a 10- 15min walk to Charles bridge and about the same to Wenceslas square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-L-Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently spent 3 days in Prague and stayed at the Red and Blue Design Hotel which was recommended by European Destinations. I really enjoyed this small boutique hotel for the following reasons: friendly English speaking desk staff, small full bar /lounge, very good breakfast included with the spacious room. The bathroom was clean and stylish with high quality bottles of shampoo, lotion, shower cap etc.

The only downside to this hotel is that the parking is on your own or you can pay a daily fee in their lot which seemed difficult to find from they way it was described. There is little space to pull off the street and we street parked our rental car right fromt the hotel on the street but that may not be there all the time. It was safe and we had no problems with parking our car there.

It's a 15 minute walk to the Charles Bridge, and to the other side of the river where many of the historical tourist sites are located. But we like having someplace to walk and its more of a neighborhood feel. There is a tram 1 block from the hotel but you need exact change which the front desk was not able to provide. We couldnt find a newsstand either so we just walked to everything.

This was the best place we stayed in 9 nights mostly in Germany.

Room Tip: Our room was one floor up from the lobby so we were able to use the stairs to go in and out and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 649 in Prague
2,107 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,612 reviews
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#60 of 649 in Prague
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#111 of 649 in Prague
1,473 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,335 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 649 in Prague
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red & Blue

Property: Red & Blue
Address: Holechkova 366/13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red & Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red & Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing