We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fun decor!”
Review of Hotel PurPur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel PurPur
Ranked #345 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Purpur is a great value, especially compared to what you get in most European cities. We paid $50 for a private room with a kitchenette and a nice balcony. Normally this is the price of 2 beds in a dorm without breakfast or even a towel!

The decorations are bright! Our room was all pink, which was fun. Patio was awesome to enjoy a drink and watch the sunset over a neighboring church. The bathroom design looks cool, but isn't entirely functional. The water pressure was low and the water quit on us all together a couple of times (but not for long).The bathroom gets pretty wet also since there is no real lip to the shower. The bathroom also had an off-putting smell from the moment we walked in that never really went away either.

Wifi was a bit shaky, but usable. Breakfast was good (fresh fruit, pastries, wheat bread, eggs, cheese, veggies, meat, coffee, juices, yogurt, cereals). Staff was always friendly and helpful.

It's not next to all the tourist attractions, but we saw that as a positive because we didn't want to be stuck with all the tourists all day. There are some nice restaurants/cafes on the same block and a convenience store also. Short walk to the center of everything, ie hoards of tourists.

It's a great value all in all!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor (best balcony!)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Hotel PurPur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 417 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel was clean, the staff was nice, the breakfast was really good. The rooms were big and sent out a touch of luxury. I liked the fact that the room had a fully equipped kitchen. The location was good and in a nice, quiet area.The beds were among the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. There was nothing bad about the hotel and I could do nothing more than strongly recommend it for those who stays in Prag during a short or a long visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Firstly can I say that some of the recent reviews are either fake or from some sadly deluded individuals! I don't trust reveiws that don't have some proof of their visit - ie pictures.

Good points:
Value - 56€ per night is cheap for Prague in summer
Free wifi - worked well
Room clean and tidy, towels etc changed daily
In a quiet area - 20 mins walk from Wenceslas square, 40 mins old town
Balcony (some rooms only) - although this just faces the back of other buildings. The guy who said his had a terrific view must have been staying somewhere else!

Bad points
There's not much sound insulation so you'll hear every door opening/closing/footstep/elevator and conversations from 6am!! Combined with the useless curtains I was never able to sleep past 6 - a problem if you're out till 2am!!
My room was small and the "kitchen" not really useful. All in the room with you and fridge can be noisy at night also.
Fridge was full of their mini-bar stuff so couldn't get much of my stuff in
Shower is the usual eurohotel standard - ie turn 2mm right - too hot, 2 mm left - too cold
Nice big TV - but only Czech channels! No instructions.

Room Tip: Ask specifically if you want a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Is a nice place, the rooms are well equiped and comfortable. The location is very convenient, only 5 minutes to the touristic areas.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great value hotel. Nice rooms with good features. Breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay there.

Rooms very well equipped with big flatscreen TV, desk, chairs, hairdryers, mini-kitchen bedside lights/sockets etc.

Walking distance to most of the main sights (10-15 minutes to old square). Would definitely stay there again when I next go to Prague.

WiFi was a little ropey while I was there (went down a couple of times) but got good reception in the rooms and is free so can't really complain.

Room Tip: Some rooms on 4th floor have balconies!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fergus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I am from the states and I want a certain standard when I stay at a hotel. This ticks off all the boxes. The interior is chic and trendy. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is to die for. My room had a balcony and a terrific view. The location is central and the area posh. The fact it includes free wi-fi saved me alot of money compared to other hotels. I also saved money as I was able to cook in the room. If you want something with all the best amenities. Then Pur Pur is the way to go.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are the best if you want a nice view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olusola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were really hard to find the hotel when we got off the Metro, it was located in a really small street. There was no telephones in the room so if I needed the reception I would have to go down to the desk myself. WiFi connection lost in the room, the pillow would rather being called a bean bag than a pillow, no air-conditioner in the room and if you are not worry about burglar you could choose to open the window but people could easily break into your room. The breakfast was terrible. The only thing I appreciated was that the hotel was decorated in my favourite colour Pink. That's it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Andante Hotel
Andante Hotel
#297 of 648 in Prague
201 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amarilis
Amarilis
#163 of 648 in Prague
435 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Bohemia Plaza Residence
Bohemia Plaza Residence
#271 of 648 in Prague
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Crystal Palace
EA Hotel Crystal Palace
#344 of 648 in Prague
349 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Sonata
EA Hotel Sonata
#303 of 648 in Prague
386 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#211 of 648 in Prague
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PurPur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PurPur

Address: Reznicka 1360/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $76 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel PurPur 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel PurPur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purpur Aparthotel Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing