We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good - good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Toy Museum

The Toy Museum
Ranked #125 of 920 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The second-largest exhibition of toys in the world. The collection includes toys from all over the world, spanning from ancient Greece to the present.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
149 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good - good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Yes, you do walk up two flights of stairs before you find you have to pay to see this museum, but you don't have to pay a lot, and it's surprisingly interesting. OK, I could skip the Barbie, GI Joe and Star Wars figurines quite easily, but the quality and variety of older doll furniture and tin soldiers was quite amazing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwcBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    67
    24
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
504 reviews
256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 808 helpful votes
“stepping back in time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

visited this museum before we went to the castle as it is situated in the castle grounds. we really enjoyed visiting here as there were lots of toys that were very interesting and in very good condition and other toys brought back many childhood memories. a nice wander around two floors full to the brim of great toys.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank holiday032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For the child inside :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Was a bit hard to find the museum,we kept asking for directions(people are very nice and helpful)
The museum is on 2 floors,you have tons of toys throughout the history,toys you even forget you had at some point in your childhood so it was a pleasant feeling and on the 2nd floor you get to see the Barbie doll collection throughout the century.It's worth seeing it and it's not expensive either.Enjoy :)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Oana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of my Prague stay (been there many times)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I saw a poster of the Barbie exhibition on our way from the Castle, but decided to go back the never ending stairs the next day. But it was SO worth it! The nice lady gave us a group ticket - there were six of us. On the first floor was a truly ethnographic exhibition dedicated to the "evolution" of christmas tree and beautiful collections of almost every kind of toy imagenable. The quality of the exhibition was stunning. The second floor was a Barbie-lover paradise. They had even the oldest models from the 50ties. Also there were Star Trek and Star Wars action figures. Cool museum!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Slavic_Serafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Recommended for families with children and children at heart.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Museum located at the castle area. The Day we visited was cold and rainy, so it was a nice Family refuge. If you visit as a family, do not forget to ask for a family ticket, it's much cheaper and they never offer it unless you ask!. The same rule for the castle itself and many other places.
The exhibition is interesting and busy. The Barbie's exhibition is on a separate floor, where we spent most of the time with our teenage girls. The display itself a bit outdated, but the price match it...
It seems that there is no age limit for toys… for our girls (13 and 16) it was one of Prague's highlights.
Recommended for families with children and children at heart.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank galitreshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toy Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Toy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing