We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do As You're Told.”

Choco Cafe U Cervene Zidle
Ranked #10 of 149 Dessert in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Newcastle
Level Contributor
236 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Do As You're Told.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a great place for coffee and cakes and, of course, chocolate. But it’s not hot chocolate as we know it in the UK. Forget Cadbury’s, this stuff is so thick and decadent that it’s best tackled with a spoon.

Although it doesn’t say so at the door, best wait to be seated as otherwise you will be rather sternly dealt with. We were further punished for finding our own table by the server refusing to accept a 100 crown note as it had a very small rip in it. It wasn’t refused elsewhere!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony_goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    189
    49
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yikes, watch your weight and the cholesterol...”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Choco Café had been recommended and we stopped there having had no breakfast....the chocolate cake, the cheese cake and the cup of hot chocolate was superb and amazing....So many chocolates types to chose from. Atmosphere there is a mixture of business, university and all types...Will return for more warmth when it is -10 outside...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JACQUES D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"mmm"”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

omg this is the best hot choc ever, i went there twice in one day only wished i lived near.
Frirst time i had hot choc with cream and nuts, and the second time i had caramel hot choc both as good as each other. Im taking my neice there at easter and im going to try the cherry hot choc. Go on the first day u arrive then you can go everyday "ENJOY"

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antoinette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A must for those with a sweet tooth”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A great cafe - much bigger on the inside than it looks on the outside.

There was plenty of comfortable of seating and staff were friendly and efficient.

The drinks options were plentiful - and all those we had were delicious.

The cakes and chocolates on offer were also very tasty.

Glad we went and would happily return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richp670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decadent dessert rolls and hot chocolate”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our fabulous tour guides took us to Choco Cafe where we had shots of the Czech liquor Becherovka and horicke trubicky rolls with hot chocolate. Now that may not sound exciting, but these rolls are made only here and have been handmade by this family for generations. They are like a thin wafer cookie that is rolled into a long cigar shape and filled with whipped cream. Then you get this little dipping glass of hot chocolate - not like America hot chocolate for drinking - this is pure, melted, sweet dark chocolate that is divine! You dip the roll into the chocolate and take a bite, hoping that you don’t squirt whipped cream all over, but not really minding if you do because it tastes SO GOOD! Everyone in our group used the tiny spoon they give you to ensure we didn’t miss any of the incredible chocolate. Don't miss this place on your trip to Prague!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoustonBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choco Cafe U Cervene Zidle also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Choco Cafe U Cervene Zidle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing