We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are looking for the ideal base for your trip to Prague this is it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Ranked #296 of 670 Hotels in Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you are looking for the ideal base for your trip to Prague this is it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

We have just returned from a long weekend in Prague, our first visit to the city, and we loved it. Your hotel is often the first impression you get about the city and it's people and the hotel liliova did not disappoint.
Situated on a very quiet street we were a bit worried when we seen the sign for a table dance club which shares an entrance lane (do not let that deter you please. We were here for 3 nights and saw no-one and heard nothing from the club) We were met by a more than helpful receptionist who was more than happy to assist us and answer questions.
The hotel itself was immaculate and we had a very spacious, clean room with very comfortable beds. We were also given a discount card to use inthe restaurant on the ground floor where breakfasts would be served. We dropped our luggage off in the room and headed for some lunch and were pleased to be met with such lovely friendly staff and an extensive international menu.
Really did make an excellent impression on us this hotel.
LOCATION
Ideally situated in the old town. Walk around the corner and you are at Charles Bridge, walk round the opposite corner and you have a straight 3 min walk to the astronomical clock and the old town square. About 10-15 minute walk to Jewish quarter. Couldn't have asked for more!
2 doors down from the hotel there is a TGI Fridays. Hagan Daz shop round the corner as well as a mini market.
All in loved Prague, it's very welcoming people and this hotel was a real find. Thank you to all staff at the hotel liliova for making our stay so stress free!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bradys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    137
    37
    17
    9
See reviews for
49
122
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ny
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, left to go to Cesky Krumlov for 2 days and came back for 5 more nights. We were able to leave our luggage while we were away. For the two nights we had a smaller room on the back, very quiet, no view. For the later nights we had a front room with a distant view of the castle and a good view of rooftops and a bridge tower. When the trumpeter played in the tower we could enjoy it. I never tired of the view. There were only a few moments when loud people in the street below disturbed us. In warm September we mostly left our windows open.
The location worked very well for us. We could actually be on the bridge in 5 minutes. We could follow the crowds and stroll the shopping street, arriving at the square in just a few minutes. We kept finding new places to eat, or for a beer , nearby.
The staff were efficient, pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good, with a choice of hot eggs along with a pretty good spread of bread and cheese and meat.
We had no complaints and thought that having a week to wander Prague was a great luxury.

Room Tip: Small and quieter on the back, larger (for 3 persons) but could be loud on the front.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

LOCATION: 5 minutes from the King Charles Bridge can’t be bad. But you are in a side street, so away from the constant throng

One reason this hotel seems a bit odd at first is that I suspect it was not built as a hotel but as apartments and has been converted. Maybe the clue is in the name on the bill – Liliova Apartments! You go down a wide passage, up a few steps, into a small reception and thence to your rooms.

None the worse for that. The table dancing club is indeed in the courtyard at the far end of the passage, as others have noted. But the street itself is respectable and feels safe. In fact the whole central city feels safer to me than native London.

There is not much traffic in the street so it is quiet at night from that point of view (until about 7am when service vehicles start deliveries). But there is always some bunch of people who like to sing at the top of their voices as they stagger back from a bar in the small hours. You would not hear it with a back room or the windows shut, but if you like the windows open it might annoy.

One of the best restaurants in town (Zatisi) is at the other end, and in the street is a friendly bar and a very good café (Choco) open until 10pm – and an Irish bar if you want to come all this way to drink Corona. Inevitably most of the local eateries are tourist oriented so you have to be careful where you eat. We ended up checking the TA reviews in advance after one bad experience.

INSIDE: There is no residents’ lounge to speak of, but reception is manned 24/7. They keep the door locked much of the time which is good for security, and are quick to release it when you buzz. The place does have the feel of serviced apartments rather than a hotel for this reason. It lacks the hustle and bustle of a traditional lobby/lounge; not a problem, just a bit different.

BREAKFAST: This is served in the attached restaurant which you can get to without going outside. Breakfast is from 8am to 10am so this may not suit early risers, but is handy for lie-abeds. Usual buffet plus cooked to order included in the rate. The self-service coffee is OK rather than great, and can get a bit stewed if it’s been sitting around. Curiously the cooked dishes each arrive on a separate plate, but gherkin as accompaniment seems compulsory. Ask for sausages and you get frankfurters, but the bacon is excellent – proper bacon not that watery apology we get fobbed off with in the UK today and four slices too. There is just one staffer on duty so I found it best to go to the bar to order the food otherwise you might have to wait a while. And don’t ask for “bacon and eggs” as they will get confused. Best to ask for “one bacon and one fried eggs” – you’ll get one plate of two fried eggs and one of bacon. In fact they do “scrambled eggs with bacon” as a single dish. So all a confusing at first but it makes sense once you get the hang of it, and one reason this place is such excellent value.

Bread is caraway brown or indifferent white rolls. As you’d expect there is ham, cheese, fruit yogurt etc., though the juice was watery. Oh, and don’t sit near the street door in the winter as people come in and you’ll get a cold draught.

You get 20% off the lunch and dinner menus if you eat while a guest, but we never tried it outside the breakfast hour.

ROOMS: Our room was clean, decently furnished and reasonably sized. On the third floor we had very good wifi (free, 54mbps) though the desk is so tight on the bed that no one can come past once you have the chair out. I found the bed a bit hard though my wife was happy. We asked for a double but got two singles shoved together so if that’s important to you then best emphasise it when booking in case they don’t exist.

Our room was double glazed. There is Aircon for the summer and the heating looks efficient - we did not need it in October. The bathroom (shower only) was spotless and looked pretty new, though with a basic mixer for the shower- so don’t flush the loo while someone is in there or you won’t be popular! It’s a small quadrant shower too so if you are a big person you might keep knocking the shower control with your elbow as you wash. The insulation between the rooms is not that great (plasterboard walls) but we did not have any problems with neighbours though clunks and bumps were not infrequent.

Towels were changed daily, and the bathroom well cleaned, but the sheets were not changed during our one week stay. We were happy with that and I expect they would have changed them it we asked or stayed longer – the whole place seems efficiently run.

A quirk is that the lift services the inter-floor landings, with flights of twelve steps between (yes, 24 steps in total - the room heights are decent). So to get to the 3rd with heavy luggage, it’s best, as the helpful and friendly receptionist advised, to go to the 4th and walk down a flight. If you struggle with steps this would be an issue. I think the upper floors would be best to stay in. On the 3rd we had the beginnings of a rooftop view and I think higher up you’d get decent views on the street side (and maybe less noise from revellers).

TAXI TRANSFER: We arranged a taxi transfer from the airport and our car was there with a clear sign for us. At 590KN it seemed good value (the trip is about half an hour) and the driver was friendly and drove sensibly – decent vehicle too. To come back we had a different but equally good car and driver. I booked for 2pm and was glad to see the receptionist write down “1:45” and he was there on time.

CHECKING OUT: The bill was exactly as promised and the receptionist apologised for having to charge me in crowns “at the national bank rate” as I wanted to pay by credit card. The room had been quoted in Euros, but this was fair enough and the rate was better than I expected and certainly better than the £=24.08Kc I got from Thomas Cook at Heathrow. In fact we typically got around 27Kc at bureau de change which are plentiful in Prague, happy to accept GBP and seem far better value than the UK airport rates.


CONCLUSION: While this hotel is not a place I’d suggest for a memorable experience, as a functional clean and convenient place to stay I thought it was terrific value considering its location and included breakfast, and I’d happily go again.

Room Tip: Upper floors best. Toss up between front with a view of the river and back a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jandelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel last week with my 2 sisters and we would all highly recommend this hotel. The customer service is great, when booking I had a few questions and emailed the hotel and they responded very quickly and organised a taxi to collect and drop us off to the airport. On arrival we were given a warm welcome and our room was clean and spacious. The food was very good, we had breakfasts and an evening meal, it was also reasonably priced and as residents we also received a 20% discount. The hotel is located centrally and was a great base for exploring the city. The only (very small) thing that would have improved the hotel was tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Lovely friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiliovaTrinidad, General Manager at Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for your time to writte about us. I hope to welcome you back in near future. WIth my kindest Regards, Veronika Choteborska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The staff were nice and cooperative. The location was in a walking distance to all the places we wanted to visit in the old city (especially for us as we have difficulty in walking long distances!). The room was clean, quiet and comfort for the two nights we stayed there.
The elevator stops on half floors, so we had to lift our baggages over the stairs (we have some difficulty with it). The public parking is difficult to access from the hotel so it caused us another expenses, to leave our car there and to access it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uzitassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Great location, so close to Charles bridge and only 5 mins walk to town square. Staff spoke very good English and were very pleasant. So close to everything but not a noisy area at all! Bathroom was really nice but shower very small.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Prior reviews mentioned a strip club sharing the entry with this residence - this is no more. It shares an entry with a very posh restaurant. Apartment #5 is on the top floor and our group of 5 was quite comfortable. The apartment was clean and simply furnished (Ikea style stuff), with working laundry, excellent wireless connection and air conditioning. One bathroom is a little tight for a group of 5, but we can't complain about much else. It's on a quiet street, but easy walking distance to the Charles Bridge, the Astronomical Clock, the Metro, etc. The very friendly owner picked us up at the airport and dropped us off. Do be prepared to pay cash when you arrive - we were not! Fortunately, the owner was willing to take a paypal payment, because otherwise getting that much cash would have been a major hassle for us. Also, our group did not mind, but be aware that there is no elevator and lots of steps to climb to get to unit #5 (I think one of our group counted up and it was 114 stairs!). I would definitely stay here and again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Nice view and great air conditioning in unit #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#286 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#187 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#205 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#103 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Aurus
Aurus
#133 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#96 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town

Property: Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Address: Liliova 1099/18 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is situated in one of enchanting area of Prague city centre, close to the Charles Bridge, and is ideal for those wishing to see the city by day and leave it at night for less busy areas.An excellent central Prague location, affordable prices and friendly personalised service are just some of what we offer at Residence Liliova. . It is just a short walk to more of Prague major attractions : Old Town Square (astronomical clock) shopping district of the Wenceslas Square as well as Charles Bridge or the famous Prague Castle ,the National Opera,Museum and atc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing