We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of School Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

School Restaurant and Lounge
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Explore mysterious nooks and crannies of the world of delicious gastronomic specialties and uncommon culinary experiences. Discover unexpected taste variations and experience eating with all the senses. Visit a convivial venue where time is hidden in the mist of a magic gourmet spell. Welcome to the School restaurant & lounge.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Easy to get to restaurant, menu was well balanced with good wine selection. A three course dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine was equivalent of 85 USD.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FormerExpat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    298
    79
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scrumptious food, extremely disappointed with the service”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having read past reviews and given the location of this establishment (usually the nicer ones are along the river), my fellow traveler and I decided to go to School for a nice dinner out. We were greeted with a mediocre, 'Hello, do you have a reservation?" We did not have a reservation and the host scoffed at us and meekly pointed to a table that he "guessed" we could have at the front of the restaurant. Upon ordering our drinks, the server had to come back twice because both times he forgot what we ordered. Once we received our drinks we proceeded to order. I had ordered chicken stew with pasta (rice being the other option) and the wrong side dish was brought out. I ate the rice anyways because we were in a rush and the food had taken a considerable amount of time to come out (a lot more than what I would expect for a place of this calibur and fine dining). When our food came out it was delicious but we had virtually no time ot enjoy it as we were going to be late for our next engagement.

For the price and menu options, I would not go back here. I am happy to pay more for an exquisite meal in a fine dining restaurant but the service and amount of time spent here is a real deal breaker. However, this is just my experience and others may have different ones. I will not go back or recommend it though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peevery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

School was close to our hotel. We liked it so much, we had all 3 of our breakfasts here, and a dinner! The ambience was chic but relaxing. It has a wonderful view. The food was delicious, and the staff very friendly. I would highly recommend this spot for any meal of the day!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not the School Food You Grew Up With”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Great food and service. Everything we had was freshly prepared and delicious. The pea soup was delightful. The rocket salad and beef tartar were both great. Even the bread was freshly baked. A great meal at a great value.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dandukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food with a view”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We made a reservation for our last night in Prague and were not disappointed. The service was very slow which was not a problem for us as we like a break in-between courses. Our food was nicely presented and very tasty. There were some interesting options on the menu, we really enjoyed the mint and lemon water which we have been making at home since visiting. The tables by the window offer a fantastic view of Charles bridge and the castle. at night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed School Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing