We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, good service and food”
Review of School Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

School Restaurant and Lounge
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Explore mysterious nooks and crannies of the world of delicious gastronomic specialties and uncommon culinary experiences. Discover unexpected taste variations and experience eating with all the senses. Visit a convivial venue where time is hidden in the mist of a magic gourmet spell. Welcome to the School restaurant & lounge.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Modern, good service and food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We had an enjoyable evening here. It was surprising how high the standard of food and service was given the reasonably high profile location and views.

Helpful?
Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petr_stumpf, Manager at School Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello we would like to thank you for your review. We feel proud that we have surprised you with quality of food and service. We are looking forward to see you again in future.

Regards

Petr Stumpf
School restaurant & lounge team
petr@school.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    298
    79
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxed Lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

After looking through Trip Advisor for recommendations, we stopped here for lunch on our first day in prague. It looks slight more formal than it actually is - service is telaxed and food excellent. I had the mushroom risotto which was rich and superb. Pumpkin soup and sorbet also hit the right notes for us. The girls had a sharing platter if salamis with home made tomato sauce which was also excellent.

In short, good value for a telaxed lunch with very good food. We will be back, maybe for dinner, to enjoy the food, service and views!

Helpful?
Thank northdown
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
petr_stumpf, Manager at School Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello we would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate your visit and we are glad that you like everything you have ordered. It is always nice to hear that guest´s are coming back.

Thank you

Petr Stumpf
School restaurant & lounge team
petr@school.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best place to have lunch in Old Town”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were told that many places offered a business menu at lunch for around CzK$100. In our first day walking around Old Town we saw this lovely place, School, and they offer the business lunch for exactly CzK$100. Although we were many blocks away at lunch time, the restaurant seemed so nice that we decided to walk back to eat there.

It was totally worth it! The place is beautiful, well decorated, and super clean. The menu is modern, with great dishes, and the business menu is really cheap, but with the same quality. I know that because I ordered from the business menu and my wife from the regular one - both excellent. Service was great, with a very nice waiter that spoke english and could help us on everything we needed.

Great food, great service and great price! Meal for 2 under 12 Euros!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlavioQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petr_stumpf, Manager at School Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello we would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate your visit and are glad that you like our business lunch offer. We do offer business lunch week days from 11:30 till 15:00 and offer selection of soup or salad and main dish for 99Czk. We will be happy to see you again for dinner as well.

Regards

Petr Štumpf
School restaurant & lounge team
petr@school.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
“Romantic dinner”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wonderful dinner on St Valentines day. With 4 meal dinner, stuff was really nice, there was live music. Food was delicious and owner and chef in one, come to us and ask if we are satisfied with the food and atmosphere. Perfect!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petr_stumpf, Manager at School Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello we would like to thank you for your review of us. We appreciate you visit and we are glad that we have made you Saint Valentines day momerable in best way.

Regards

Petr Štumpf
School restaurant & lounge team
petr@school.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
245 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went for an evening meal after reading about the place on tripadvisor. Outstanding quality for the price. Very nice welcome from all the staff. I had the tartare to start with which was beautiful. Nice main dish too. Only let down was the strawberries for desert which were not ripe and dull, but I know that its not the right season, so my fault really. Will defineatly go back on my next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KEITH TRAVEL AGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petr_stumpf, Manager at School Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello we would like to thank you for your nice review of us. We appreciate your visit and hopefully we will see you again in future.

Regards

School restaurant & lounge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed School Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing