We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey alternative to Czech & Italian food”
Review of El Toro Negro

El Toro Negro
Ranked #2,731 of 5,470 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good but pricey alternative to Czech & Italian food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Despite being right on the Old Town Square this place is easily overlooked, being surrounded by average eateries that pander to the tourist trade with stodgy Czech and dodgy Italian cuisine. So this restaurant was a welcome change with its beefy menu comprising mainly steaks, burgers, and chilli-con-carne. My wife had steak, I tried the burger, after sharing a nacho starter. The food, when it eventually arrived, was very good. Lovely juicy steak cooked just as asked for. Tasty burger with all the trimmings. Unfortunately we had a 40-min wait between starter and main course which rather took the shine off. The food wasn't unduly expensive but beware drinks prices. A 0.4-ltr glass of beer costs CZK130 - ouch! Slightly better value is 1.0-ltr for CZK199 but then you get funny looks. Assuming our long wait isn't the norm then this is a good restaurant. However I have to say that we weren't warned about the long wait while ordering, nor was it apologised for until I explained why I hadn't left a tip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    243
    186
    97
    135
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“£4 for a thimble of coffee”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a few hours to waste before our flight so thought it would be nice to sit in one of the Old Town Square cafes and watch the world pass by. We'd done this several times before in other cafes and generally found the quality good and prices fair - in the end all these cafes are tourist traps but they didn't take the p**s. This place did!!!

We ordered two cappuccinos for 115czk each - about £4. When they came they were so tiny and luke warm that they were finished in two large gulps. The froth was just dumped on top and was so thin that it couldn't be called a cappuccino. It then took about 15mins to get anyone's attention to get the bill.

We didn't eat here and wouldn't.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SABurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
168 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“I frequented the bar”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did not go here for dinner, but because of the central location, our group of four rendevouzed here frequently, like three times a day for four days. We did not try a meal, but had several snacks/salads which were all very good. What I am writing about is that for one who has a varied drink palate, it is unusual and nice to find a bar that can make all sorts of cocktails: genuine Martinis, Pina coladas, bloody Marys, Tom Collins, the list goes on. I suggest you try the Raspberry Kaiperusckas. service was excellent & pleasant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent location for just sitting and watching the world go by. In winter there are heaters and blankets provided so you won't be cold. A good selection of beers and soft drinks are available but food is quite expensive and to be honest not of a quality to match the price, however if you just want to sit and people watch and have a drink then this is the place to be.

Helpful?
Thank Steph19680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, quite expensive”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A great place for tourists to shelter from Prague's icy winters, the outside area is well screened with warm air patio style heaters and blankets for all. Being opposite the famous astronomical clock in the Old Town Square, this is a great place to watch the world go by whilst waiting for the horological antics on the hour. The food and drink is of a good quality, and delivered without too much of a delay, even when busy, but don't be surprised if your bill is a little more than you expected .... a lunch for four us came to approx GBP £65. There's just something about a 299K meal that your (UK) brain thinks is £2.99, rather than being nearer the £10.00 it actually costs!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Negro also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to El Toro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing