We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Small Hotel”
Review of Askania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Askania
Ranked #56 of 368 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just got through with a two day stay at the Askania. If you are researching the location on Google Earth you will not see the restoration of this "new" Hotel (since 2010). It, however, will be the older version of the narrow building just to the right of the older SIS Hotel.
The Askania is very neat and modern inside. All the rooms are small (I had a single room), but well appointed, especially the beautifully titled bathrooms. The shower stalls are a bit cramped, but the nice part is all the fixtures, water pressure and hair drying function well. The windows open. There is a safe in the small closet which is easy to use. The stairwells are emaculate with fine dark red carpeting. There is a new, well functioning elevator. The lobby is small and not one where you will "hang out", but who needs that when you have a nice room to use. I did not use the swimming pool or billards area (borth which cost extra I believe to use) as my purpose for a hotel is just for sleeping and breakfast. Speaking of breakfast and its choices, which is included in the price of the room, it was superb! An excellent assortment of breakfast food choices to satisfy various tastes. The lady in charge of breakfast's did a marvelous job of providing and replacing the supply of items used by the guests. The breakfast room itself is spacious with plenty of room between tables. There is a purchase mini-bar in the room, as well as at the reception desk where one can buy an assortment of goodies, to include beers, wines. etc. to take to your room. The # 11 and #18 TRAMS can be caught at a stop about two blocks from the hotel, called "Namesti Brati Synku",which is the best stop to use because both these trams stop there. The other Tram stop a long block away from the Hotel, called "Horky", after the stop above and farther from city center, can also be used, but just the #11 Tram goes in that direction and stops there. The # 18 Tram turns in another direction at the previously mentioned stop. It takes about 10 minutes by Tram to get to Old Town Prague. You can purchase tickets for the Tram (one way-30 minutes time frame for 24 Kr. Have a 90 minute for 32Kr) from the reception desk clerk. The clerks, especially Stephan, are helpful and speak English along with their native language and a few more. There is a nice restaurant/bar a block away near the "Honky" Tram Stop. The clerks will tell you about it.
So, if you are looking for a not too expensive small, well-kept, Hotel from which to explore Prague, this should fit the bill nicely!

Room Tip: Obviously, the non-single rooms are a bit larger. The single rooms are just that, fit for one perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanBelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Askania. The staff was very polite and serviceminded. Brekfast vas good, the room very clean, bed very nice and the location is quiet

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Freddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Askania for a short city break - 4 nights. We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with easy access by public transport to the sights. We were not interested in luxury, just basic accommodation in a quiet part of the city. Hotel Askania fit our needs perfectly. It is near Vysehrad and there are two very near tram stops with many lines to everything we wanted to see. The rooms and public areas were very clean. The staff at the front desk were helpful. They had an iron on hand for guests and helped us access the web so we could check-in online for our flight home. They also allowed us to pay the bill with our remaining koruna and put the balance on the credit card. We appreciated not having to bring foreign currency home with us to sell back to Travelex. The smallish room was comfortable, well-cleaned daily, and the hotel quiet. Breakfast was a typical central European continental, adequate but not noteworthy. WeI did appreciate the boiled eggs and crepes that appeared on some days.

The were only two negative points for us. One was the low lighting in the room made it difficult to see what you were doing, especially when dressing for going out because I just couldn't see wrinkles or lint on dark clothing. Nevertheless, the lighting in the bathroom was fine and that is where it matters most. The second thing was the loud television on during breakfast. There was no table in the breakfast room where we could get away from the noise of the television, which was annoying. One morning we thought we would be spared because we were the only ones in the breakfast room and my husband turned the television off. Unfortunately, the server just turned it back on again. I have to say that Hotel Askania is not alone in having this flaw. It has been our experience that so many lowish to mid-range hotels have this feature during breakfast that it seems nearly impossible to avoid it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cereus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

When we arrived the man on reception was very friendly and spoke perfect english (phew!).

Plenty parking on the local area if required and it's completely free. Room was excellent and huge, although we got upgrated to a juniour suite as i suppose the other doubles were full. Also great to see a minibar where yo ucan get a Budvar for 1 Euro - amazing!

Travel to the centre of town is very easy, tram 11 / 18 straight to the Charles Bridge in around 10 minutes. The bonus with being slightly out of the centre is also the noise - it was silent at night and beds were very comfy too.

Overall very friendly, perfectly clean, convenient location and a great price.

Room Tip: Booked a double via their own website and ended up in a juniour suite - can't complain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

refurbished in 2010.carpets and curtains had matching logos, and even towels were embroidered with hotel name.
Very helpful staff, especially when trying to find trams to the centre of town.
Not in the centre, in Praha 4, which is a 300 metre walk to a tram stop, then about 10 stops to Praha 1.Worth the extra journey to the centre, as such good value. In a quiet area which is being upgraded, but close to the business district.Even a little open-all-hours shop, just round the corner, for drinks for the room. There is a minibar, but as only 21 rooms, no hotel bar.
The pool was new, but a mini-pool, only about 5 metres by 2.5 metres.
I saw a charge of 4 euros stated on a note on the reception desk, but we were not charged for this.
A substantial amount of money has been spent here on the refurb, - if you stay here, take a look at the ceiling lights in the breakfast room.- impressive.
Well worth the high rating on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: junior suite worth paying for, with desk and sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I’m glad to start reviews about this hotel, because the hotel is a really good!
A very nice small hotel with 20 rooms only. As I’d red before to book, the hotel was fully reconstructed in 2009. And it’s a really true; everything in entrance / lobby area, restaurant and our room was new, including furniture and all systems. We had a double room consisted of two separate rooms and bathroom. Flat screen TVs and air-conditions were in each of two room areas. Room was a very spacious and light, in good red-gold colors design (it’s not an ultramodern or historical design, anyway very pleasant). In-room safe-box is free. Bedroom with a big comfortable bed. Bathroom is new and very spacious too, with shower-cabin. Bath amenities were provided too, but we didn’t use it, had our own. Everything is clear and works perfect. Cleaning service was every day.

Large room windows have view on the common Prague’s living street. Sometimes it was a short noise on the street (local citizens like to speak loud from difference sides on the street here), but all windows are soundproof. We closed windows and had a good rest and sleep. All rooms are perfectly soundproof too and we rested well every night. There isn’t any noise from trams or railway too, although both are not far from the hotel.

Hotel breakfast was good with a lot of verities. Free Wi-Fi works perfectly in the lobby and restaurant, but slight missing in room. There is free computer with Internet on the first floor. The reception staff helpful and friendly, speaks English. They help us anytime with all our questions about city sights, restaurants and good ways to get any place in the city.

About the location – the hotel is not in walk distance from the city center. It takes about 10 minutes by tram to go to Charles Bridge or Muzeun metro station. But Prague’s trams are so accurate; you can reach any place in few minutes. Tram station (Namesti Bratri Synku) in 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Trams # 11 and # 18 go every 10 minutes to the center. The district around is quiet and peaceful. But we found a lack of restaurants to have dinner in the evening. But it was always more interesting to try local dishes in the center restaurants and in 10 minutes by tram to come to the comfortable new hotel and have a well sleep in it.
We had got only positive experience from this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JuliettaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank I9030RB_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Carl-Inn Hotel
Carl-Inn Hotel
#449 of 646 in Prague
45 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Arkada Hotel Praha
Arkada Hotel Praha
#266 of 646 in Prague
198 reviews
Praha 9
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#564 of 646 in Prague
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Na Zamecku
Na Zamecku
#546 of 646 in Prague
92 reviews
Praha 3
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
#379 of 646 in Prague
502 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#208 of 646 in Prague
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askania

Address: Rostislavova 199/19, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: $48 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Askania 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Askania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing