We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best ever restaurant outside of Spain”
Review of El Centro

El Centro
Ranked #612 of 6,581 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Praha 1 (City Center)
Description: Prague's first Spanish restaurant, El Centro was founded in 1999 by Radek Neruda and his wife Norma Lam, with to 2 decades in the business located in the beautiful and charming district of Prague's Mala Strana. Nowadays this typical family restaurant offers specialties from Guatemala alongside its Spanish menu. So come and enjoy a carefully chosen selection of tasty Tapas, our renowned Paella or even a delicious marinated chicken, tacos dorados and “Plato Chapin” while sitting in the beautiful interior garden terrace and restaurant. Our waiter will help you to choose the best wine or you can try the famous sangria to accompany your meal. If you want to experience real Spanish ambient in Prague El Centro is the place to go.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i was around Charles bridge in Prague ( Czech Republic ) with few Spanish friends and we decide to eat some Tapas , near by was this restaurant .
first when we arrived we have very great impression by the garden terrace in the backyard from this place , the waitress invited Us to go until the garden which have exactly a table for four in the corner ,the waitress was very friendly and polite, she advise Us about their Menu of tapas and Paellas also few Latin american dishes also . she let Us to decide and came with a table water was good attitude, we ordered 2 sea food Paellas and 2 steak entrecote Medium with side dishes of fries ,the waitress offer To Us some sangria fresh, was really great and taste ,i saw the other tables around and some of the Paellas looks very taste ,so my expectations for the food after this was to have a great meal .
half hour after As the waitress (Isabella) explained before the paellas takes minimum this time to be ready .
she served for US the Paellas and the 2 Steak entrecote ,was so good and well done made my friends Miguel and Angel told me this was the best Paella and steaks the have out of Spain and after this Delicious meal the waitress recommend to Us Crema Catalana for dessert So we just accepted ,Angel is from Barcelona and he say for us ( let see how is this crema Catalana ! ) well was great like the others dishes served , well all was wonderful and even we asked to the waitress divide for four the check was very fear price compered with Spain . This was one of my best lunch time with friend in foreigner country . El centro Staff deserve my congratulations .

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ebalef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCentroR, SM at El Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your comment Ebalef! We appreciate very much and hope you could comeback soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the restaurant to the sound of Spanish music in the courtyard. We entered, the Spanish music becomes a distant memory and 80s music is being played in English. We waited for almost 5 minutes before finally getting the attention of a staff member to offer us a table. She was unpleasant. When our food arrived, the Argentinian entrecôte was requested as medium-well but was almost raw! Really disgusting. Gave feedback to the waitress who clearly didn’t care. We ordered the Crema Catalana for desert but it was cold and grainy. Overall, really horrible food and horrible experience. Such a shame.

Date of visit: September 2019
5  Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCentroR, SM at El Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sir, happy to hear that you entered our restaurant because of the Spanish music in the moment. As you may understand, we must create a different environments to entertain all our guests. The day you visited our restaurant we only had one waitress taking care of our customers, we offered you a table in the restaurant area first, but you choose to sit on the bar area. The waitress take less than 5 minutes to go to your table and ask for the order. Regarding the food you ordered, for been a disgusting meal I need to ask, how do you manage to eat it all? I would like to share with you some information, about Crema Catalana this delicious Spanish desert, it’s made with time ahead and freeze during the night, when is serve you put the sugar on top and flame it, the cream should be cold to room temperature. We would appreciate this comments directly to our personal, the same way you request for discount, this is going to helps us improve for future customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice find on a walk - lovely back patio where we enjoyed excellent food great service and for a good price. Really enjoyed the stuffed red pepper dish. Our little dog was welcome on the patio as well.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCentroR, SM at El Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much Jean! We are a pet friendly and love to take care of our customers. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is celebrating twenty years of Spanish and Guatamalan food. Cute quiet backyard to enjoy good food. Friendly owners.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank WorldTravelOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCentroR, SM at El Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you WorldTravelOne!! We appreciate and take care of all our customer in this 20 years in businesses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

We walked 3km to visit the Czech Slovak restaurant only to find it was booked out. As we were walking back to our tram stop we stumbled across El Centro and thought we’ll give Czech food a miss and go Spanish. Ordered the Paella which we love and it was delicious. Had a litre of Sangria which was pretty
good, nearly as good as mine. Staff were lovely. We sat in the cute little hidden garden. All in all a delightful experience, I can highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank roey1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Centro also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing