We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth finding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Cerveneho Kola

U Cerveneho Kola
Ranked #107 of 5,365 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Well worth finding”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

U Cerveneho Kola (The Red Wheel) is tricky to find - it's in a back street just beyond the Jewish Quarter - but well worth it. Unpretentious Czech cuisine and friendly service is no more and no less than you want and this restaurant delivers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rallyman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    121
    38
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Wonderful surprise!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the outside we really didn't know what we could expect by dining in the restaurant, but we were in for a very nice surprise! The ftraditional czech food was fabulous, the service was great - and I really don't have a bad thing to say about the place. So happy we found it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magster_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
246 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent Czech Food”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved our dinner at U Cerveneho Kola, the Red Wheel. We had authentic and delcious Czech food in one of the beautiful rooms of the restaurant. The food and service were excellent. We highly recommend the goulash, better than any other that we tasted. The vegetable side dishes were large enough for two and extremely tasty.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adventurers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Intimate Ambience”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had passed this restaurant several times on our way back and forth from our hotel to the Old Town and I had liked the look of it from the start. Finally on our last day we decided to give it ago and we were not disappointed. The interior is homely and welcoming. The several small rooms ideal for a party to take over part of the restaurant without unduly disturbing others. As it was around 16:00 on 2nd January, unsurprisingly we were the only couple there. therefore the service was excellent.

The food was very good. My wife had the chateaubriand and I went with a traditional duck, ham and dumpling dish. The portions were huge! Neither of us, despite a long day, could get through the amount of food presented.

Certainly a place to which I would return again. Check it out if you want something more Czech and off the beaten track.

In terms of cost, its the middle to high end in Prague which equates to the price of a good pub lunch in the UK.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dimex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great service”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant is in a wonderful old building in Prague Old Town. As you enter you feel as if you are stepping back in time into a wonderfully decorated restaurant made up of several rooms. The menu was comprehensive focusing on high quality Czech food at very reasonable prices. The service was friendly and efficient with nothing being too much trouble, especially for the children and babies in our party

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HairyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Cerveneho Kola also viewed

 

Been to U Cerveneho Kola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing