We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #86 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel lived up to its excellent reviews. It is a lovely old building in an excellent location, just a short walk from the Old Town Square. We loved everything about it, The room - a junior suite on the second floor - was very large, very comfortable and exceptionally quiet. The bathroom was very classy, although a bath would have been nice. The free wifi worked very well and there was a good selection of TV channels. The breakfast was high quality with eggs, pancakes and omelettes cooked to order by a very friendly chef.
Prague is a fabulous city and - contrary to what I have read - it has not gone downhill due to its recent popularity. We visited Prague in 2002 and it still offers incredible value to tourists (we had a very nice three course lunch for 180 kc (little over £6) and the superb beer could be found for under 30kc for half a litre).We loved our three-day stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin61Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    415
    67
    27
    19
See reviews for
299
842
46
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, with very welcoming staff. Upon arrival was upgraded to a Junior suite, which was superb. Didn't have breakfast in hotel, but did enjoy a few drinks and dinner one night. I would certainly recommend the food which was of a very high standard with very attentive service and at a very reasonable price. The Czech wine we enjoyed with dinner was also excellent. The location of the Hotel was also very good, being only a short stroll to a large shopping centre and both the new and old towns, yet in a very quiet street so no noise at night. Highly recommend this hotel for a short break in Prague.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nabraham316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Fantastic hotel in the old town great location within a couple of minutes walking distance of all the main old town sights. We had a junior suite which was brilliant, lots of room and immaculate. Trip was for my boyfriends birthday and we really appreciated the mulled wine on arrival and the bottle of bubbly and cake to share in our room. I would definitely recomend this hotel to all. It was good going in Feb although cold the town was quieter and all the restaurants and bars were very well heated.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willsamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good hotel with everything you need in a very central location at a very reasonable price. Internet connectivity was fine, though sometimes had to try different options. I would definitely stay here again if I visit Prague again.

Room Tip: Rooms vary enormously, check per room. We had 4 rooms booked - 3 singles, one "junior suite&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizaC-Medlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After a week of trawling thru what seemed like all the hotels in prage! and then checking here to c if they were any good, probably what your doing right now.....I decided to take the girlfriend to the hotel barcelo old town. A good choice it turns out. we stayed 10th jan 2013

We booked directly from the JET2 website for flights from leeds/bradford for 3 nights thur - sun total was about £480 for 2 adults 10kg hand luggage each. a real bargin for this hotel!

Its very close to the airport transfer shuttle bus drop off 2 min walk check the link here for more info. http://www.cedaz.cz/public-shuttle-bus-from-airport-to-prague-centre.php 150czk per person (around £4 each) Bargin!

the hotel itself IS a 4 star. on arival (we were able to check in early at 11am for no extra cost) we were greated with great customer service and free hot wine and sweet biscuits. the room we were given no13 was spacious and very clean. lovely and warm mini bar ect. Big bathroom with large shower all to a nice high standard. you get the usual 4 star bits and bobs, shoe horn sewing kit, shower caps, toothbrushes, with paste, razors, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner blah blah blah. Turns out i didnt even need to bring that stupid little sandwich bag thru customs!
rooms were cleaned daily as were the beds and fresh towles. we never ate in the hotel but we did have a peek at the food which looks delicious and after checking the menu the prices were fair also. but the true buty of this hotel is the location itself! it is in the heart of the old town away from any busy street noise and just a great place to stay.

The only downside about the hotel i had was the room had 2 singles pushed together but this seems pretty standard over there from all the hotels i looked at. (a very minor niggle for such a nice trip)

Enjoy you holiday even if you dont stay here. prauge is lovely!

Room Tip: 13 had 2 single pushed together
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Britisheyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an outstanding hotel in the perfect location in Old Town, Prague. Everything in this hotel is just perfect and the price is very reasonable. I highly recommend it. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet even though the hotel is in the very heart of Old Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monchotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Being a first time visitor to Prague we wanted to make sure we were in the right location. Look no further than Barcelo. its right where you need to be and wonderful to walk out the door and in 2 minutes be in the old town square. Staff were excellent, appreciated the mulled wine whenever we came in from the cold and also being upgraded to a very large top floor suite. it was excellent. Also for business travelers the business room was most useful. Wifi throughout the building
Barcelo offers the best of both worlds, old building in the old city but with the most modern up to date interior. Breakfast was included which consisted of a self service buffet with a very wide range of offerings. It was not quite up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. But that is just a minor gripe.

Room Tip: we had a top floor room overlooking the street. It was just fine and not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,297 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#71 of 649 in Prague
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 649 in Prague
1,752 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
1,115 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Property: Barcelo Old Town Praha
Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#49 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#76 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing