We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel in a brilliant location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Old Town Praha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #83 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
YORK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel in a brilliant location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

After a week of trawling thru what seemed like all the hotels in prage! and then checking here to c if they were any good, probably what your doing right now.....I decided to take the girlfriend to the hotel barcelo old town. A good choice it turns out. we stayed 10th jan 2013

We booked directly from the JET2 website for flights from leeds/bradford for 3 nights thur - sun total was about £480 for 2 adults 10kg hand luggage each. a real bargin for this hotel!

Its very close to the airport transfer shuttle bus drop off 2 min walk check the link here for more info. http://www.cedaz.cz/public-shuttle-bus-from-airport-to-prague-centre.php 150czk per person (around £4 each) Bargin!

the hotel itself IS a 4 star. on arival (we were able to check in early at 11am for no extra cost) we were greated with great customer service and free hot wine and sweet biscuits. the room we were given no13 was spacious and very clean. lovely and warm mini bar ect. Big bathroom with large shower all to a nice high standard. you get the usual 4 star bits and bobs, shoe horn sewing kit, shower caps, toothbrushes, with paste, razors, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner blah blah blah. Turns out i didnt even need to bring that stupid little sandwich bag thru customs!
rooms were cleaned daily as were the beds and fresh towles. we never ate in the hotel but we did have a peek at the food which looks delicious and after checking the menu the prices were fair also. but the true buty of this hotel is the location itself! it is in the heart of the old town away from any busy street noise and just a great place to stay.

The only downside about the hotel i had was the room had 2 singles pushed together but this seems pretty standard over there from all the hotels i looked at. (a very minor niggle for such a nice trip)

Enjoy you holiday even if you dont stay here. prauge is lovely!

Room Tip: 13 had 2 single pushed together
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Britisheyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    343
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
255
713
37
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an outstanding hotel in the perfect location in Old Town, Prague. Everything in this hotel is just perfect and the price is very reasonable. I highly recommend it. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet even though the hotel is in the very heart of Old Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monchotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Being a first time visitor to Prague we wanted to make sure we were in the right location. Look no further than Barcelo. its right where you need to be and wonderful to walk out the door and in 2 minutes be in the old town square. Staff were excellent, appreciated the mulled wine whenever we came in from the cold and also being upgraded to a very large top floor suite. it was excellent. Also for business travelers the business room was most useful. Wifi throughout the building
Barcelo offers the best of both worlds, old building in the old city but with the most modern up to date interior. Breakfast was included which consisted of a self service buffet with a very wide range of offerings. It was not quite up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. But that is just a minor gripe.

Room Tip: we had a top floor room overlooking the street. It was just fine and not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

stayed three nights between christmas and new year, location is just perfect only a few minutes walk from old town square,only 20 minutes walk to the little/lesser quarter and the most atmospheric restaurants and bohemian coffee shops in prague.
the hotel accommadated us for an early check in and late check out even though hotel was very busy at this time of the year.
special thanks to jana & tereza on reception, always helpful and friendly.
hope to be be back.
Dave & Barbara

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in December 2012. The hotel itself was quite nice, however the room itself had quite a strange layout with a large entry area, an almost kitchenette (but without any way to heat anything), and then some posts delineating the bedroom from the other areas. The tv was very small, particularly for the size of the room, and there was only a single chair facing the tv so it was not possible to sit together to watch it. I was travelling with my husband but we were given two single beds that had been pushed together with two separate covers. When we requested a real queen or king sized bed, we were told that only a few rooms had those types of beds. The design of the hotel is such that noise from other guests and the cleaners in the hallways travels and echoes and can be heard very clearly in the room.

Breakfast was quite good, although the service was a little random. The individual breakfast options on offer ie cooking your eggs to order, did not seem to be available after about 9am..

Room Tip: If you want a proper queen or king bed, you'll need to ask when making the booking to make sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neverenoughtravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location is awesome, really easy to find and right in the centre of old town. Staff are lovely, we were greeted warmly and even offered some mulled wine on arrival! We booked a deluxe room but were upgraded free of charge to a suite with private balcony!!! Room service menu and hours a bit random, very limited late service but on the whole a wonderful experience! Will certainly return next visit! Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy-Loop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loanhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at Barcelo Old Town Praha and were very comfortable and very well looked after. An injury to my nose, in no way linked to the excellent local beer, necessitated a visit to hospital and the receptionist on duty was superb in providing details of where to go and organizing a taxi. The location for exploring the city is ideal. The food was very good and we appreciated the availability of local dishes on the dinner menu. We were also impressed by the quality of the Czech wines on the list. Our top floor room was spacious, very comfortable, immaculately serviced and had the bonus of a view of the spires of the Tyn Church in the Old Town Square. We hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#14 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#53 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#33 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#77 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Property: Barcelo Old Town Praha
Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#49 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#77 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Barcelo, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing