We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Old Town Praha
Ranked #86 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There were several of us, with mixed interests staying in this hotel and it was perfect for everyone and everything we wanted to do. It has a great location and the staff were brilliant. The price we got was exceptional, very good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    415
    67
    27
    19
See reviews for
299
842
46
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Beautiful hotel right in the centre of Prague, close to shops, bars, restaurants and the Old Town square. Modern hotel amenities in a very old building, tastefully decorated to a very high standard.
We were upgraded from a deluxe room to a Junior suite which was very spacious and had a balcony overlooking the old street. The hotel is quiet, staff are very helpful, and breakfasts are delicious.
No negatives at all. Even the weather behaved impeccably.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The minute we saw our family room, we checked with the front desk to make sure it was what we had booked, as it looked much more expensive than what we had paid. Very spacious, very clean and stunning decor. Breakfast was great and the kids were very comfortable in the room. The views of Old Town and the position was unbeatable. We loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I'm writing this from my "Gran Suite" at the hotel. I didn't end up in this suite because I reserved it, nor was this hotel even my first choice, and yet I'm now in one of the most beautiful locations, enjoying some of the best service imaginable.

My friend and I originally booked an apartment in Prague. On arrival, nothing was as advertised, and rather than spend three miserable nights there I quickly got on tripadvisor to figure out our best last--minute options for our final two nights. Chose Barcelo based on price and location, and in the morning began the trek with all our luggage to the hotel.

Did I mention that the trek was in a cold, hard rain? Or that we originally went several blocks in the wrong direction due to bad directions from the apartment manager? When we arrived at Barcelo, we were freezing and soaking wet, and I'd have understood if they wanted us out of their lobby!

Instead, the very wonderful Anna at the front desk greeted us warmly and asked if we wanted sparkling wine. It was 8:30 a.m., so of course we did! She explained that, as we expected, we couldn't check into rooms yet, but she allowed me to borrow an electrical adapter (mine had gone kaput), gave us maps and other information, and very patiently and kindly let us in and out of the luggage closet as we stored our stuff and then repeatedly remembered something we needed. This might not seem like a lot, but these bits of kindness were so necessary for us at the moment.

We enjoyed Prague for several hours, and when we returned to get our rooms, Anna and her colleague Jana smiled and told me that they had a surprise for us. They had upgraded both of our rooms, and while my friend's was a lovely junior suite, Anna and Jana didn't want to tell me what mine was but wanted me to be surprised!

I went to the room and...wow. When you complain to yourself that your front door is really a long walk from your bedroom, then you know it's a pretty big hotel room. But aside from being large--there is a separate living room, dining area, bar, and a giant bathroom with four-person jacuzzi tub--but it is among the most tastefully appointed rooms I've seen. The historical aspects of the hotel have been preserved and combined with the most gorgeous modern furnishings and art. There are four floor-to-ceiling windows in the bedroom area and even a balcony overlooking beautiful Prague buildings!

The hotel itself is similarly gorgeous, as is my friend's junior suite which is a two-level suite with exposed wooden beams. The public areas are extremely comfortable and feature huge-screen computers for guests' use as well. The location is absolutely perfect, very close to the Old Square but without any noise (and I am a very light sleeper).

I haven't been able to find a single fault with this hotel, but if I were to highlight one aspect most of all, it is the service, which has been every bit as good since we first arrived as it was when the two wonderful women, Anna and Jana, took such great care of us! There is nowhere in Prague that could possibly compare to this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KAE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very friendly staff, great location. Close all facilities like Metro, restaurants, taxi stops.

Alos close to the heart of main touristic places. eg:Charles bridge. Staff are very friendly and willing to help & guide.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakan123190356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent location in the historical centre of Prague. Rooms are clean, spacious. We have already stayed in Junior Suite Deluxe, Junior Suite and Grand Suite Zlaty Andel. All the rooms were very well furnished, in a modern style. Grand Suite Zlaty Andel is amazing, it has large bathroom with whirlpool and TV in bathroom and also two other TVs in the suite :-), settee and large bed. Btw. beds in all rooms are VERY comfortable.
Buffet breakfast offers plenty of different and delicious food.

Really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Agree with most other posts....great hotel in an unbeatable location.
Comfy beds and very quiet at night.....great sleep after walking all day
Only a couple of minor points
1. If you like a coffee in your room take some suplies with you.....our cleaner was mean with the coffee, to the point where we didn't get any.
2. The shower in RM 214 floods the bathroom.....reported it to reception but wasn't fixed during our stay.

Would still recommend/return to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0CKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,297 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#71 of 649 in Prague
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 649 in Prague
1,752 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
1,115 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Old Town Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Old Town Praha

Property: Barcelo Old Town Praha
Address: Celetna 29/288, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
#49 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#76 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Old Town Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Barceló Old Town Praha is located in the heart of the historic city, in the popular Celetná street next to the famous Powder Tower which is the door to the Old Town of Prague. From there the Kings used to start the coronation ritual through the Royal Road towards the Prague Castle. Barceló Old Town hotel is set within a listed and completely renovated 17th-century building and combines a historic facade with modern amenities. Each of our 62 spacious elegant rooms, in 5 different categories welcomes you with calm and cozy atmosphere with comfortable beds, sober furniture and noble woods. All rooms are equipped with individually controlled air-condition, flat-screen TV's and free Wi-Fi. With its ideal location, Barceló Old Town hotel is just a stroll away to some of the city's most popular sightseeing including Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Hradcany Castle and the Astronomical Clock among others. The Palladium Shopping Centre is just a few steps and the luxurious Pařížská street, where all the most prestigious boutiques are, is just 5 minutes walking distance. To complete your experience, discover the magnificant Bohemica Old Town Restaurant specialized in Czech and International Cuisine, where you can enjoy some of the most traditional local meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Old Town Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Old Town Praha Hotel Prague
Barcelo Hotel Prague
Barcelo Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing