We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for traveling pair”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ankora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ankora
Ranked #261 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for traveling pair”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

GOOD: pretty cheap rate; perfect location within 10 min by foot to downtown; 24-hour cheap alcohol and food minimarket in the same building; 2 min to Metro station; 3 min to perfect restaurant "U Vocku" - VERY cheap and tasty, real old Check style!; good and clean new-furnished rooms (all rooms are not smoking, smoking zone in on the grand floor!); mutl-language speaking and friendly staff; not bad breakfast; free internet (wire in room + wi-fi at the reception); cable TV; good bathroom; goog beds. Special "Hotylku" pub with fully naked waitress (Wednesday only, 7 p.m - 11 p.m., free entrance) within 500 meters;
BAD: no teapot in the room, you have to ask for a hot water at the reception when you want to have a tea or coffee in your room; strange elevator, it doesn't move until you applied a room key and then "thinks" too long;
I will stay there next time for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    107
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
44
93
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is ideally located just steps from a Metro Station. The room was huge and very clean, the bathroom even had a bath tub/Jacuzzi. We had a great stay at this hotel and would definitely stay again on my next visit to Prague. The only thing was that internet was only available at the lobby but other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Although I rarely write bad reviews, I can say that Ankora Hotel is the exception.
To start with the hotel facilities and the location were not that bad.
Nevertheless the worst part of Ankora hotel it is it's staff(not all of them). I am working in the tourism sector and i can assure you that i have never met such a rudeness, unprofessional, in polite, unfriendliness and lack of respect to a guest. A person called Va...something in the reception tried to ruin our vacation by insulted us for our nationality and our knowledge for making an online reservation and also is trying hard to destroy the reputation of the hotel. Imagine that we treated with that in polite way because we tried to make clear our reservation procedure in order to pay our bill.

The hotel need to educate the staff and give them free seminars of behavior.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mliapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Family of 3 for 5 days. Great price! Close to everything, nice staff, good and rich breakfast, air condition in rooms ( a must in the summer), clean, quiet, nice and modern room. Refrigerator and internet in room. Good sleep quality. Room looked in pictures. We had a great stay at this hotel, and next time in Praha i will definitely stay here. This is a 3 star hotel, but i would say it ranks up to a 4 star. Taxi place just up the street with taxi 14014. If you are to take taxi, only take taxi with this number, and ask for the price before you get in. The 14014 taxi's did never try to cheat us, but other taxi's did. I highly recommend Ankora hotel Prague.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnHavdalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Was on business, and my Czech Colleague found this because of its location next to the metro station Pavlova making easy connection to the Congress centre one stop up the line and within about 10mins walk from Wenceslas or one metro stop the other way (Museum). Hotel seems to have been renovated recently, great prices, rooms are clean, not huge but OK, internet connection with cable is fine and breakfast had hot food and decent coffee. Some good places to eat not far away- the wine bar (go inside further to find the restaurant) opposite Rocky O'Reillys Irish bar just down the street was a find. Will return one day for a weekend break and use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Very pleased after reading mixed reviews. We had a very large room on the 7th floor so had a fantastic view over the city, very pretty especially the Palace lit up at night. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast had plenty of choice. The room was clean and fresh. Advise you take a satnav as a bit hard to find and a small front entrance hard to spot.To enter the garage you have to drive upto a shutter and then nip inside to reception. Parking included in the price an absolute bonus in a city.Well located for all the sites. Would definately use this hotel again. Thank you Ankora.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUngary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Clean and very large room with a big bed. good price. great bathroom with jakuzzi. Fair breakfast. come back soon.

Room Tip: delux apartment on the 4th floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#242 of 670 in Prague
218 reviews
Praha 2
Legie
Legie
#403 of 670 in Prague
299 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#139 of 670 in Prague
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#106 of 670 in Prague
572 reviews
Praha 11
Ibis Praha Wenceslas Square
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#108 of 670 in Prague
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankora

Property: Ankora
Address: Katerinska 465/42, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ankora 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ankora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing