We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff & Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Ranked #166 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff & Hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a "one & done" quick city tour. Great Hotel, staff were amazing. Its a good 20 minute walk to the main part of old town, however, we didn't mind and there is heaps to see along the way. Also is connected by metro and bus so is very convenient.

Staff were amazing with helping us navigate to places etc. We had to check out at 3:30am and they organized us breakfast packages to take with us as we couldn't have breakfast in the restaurant. We really appreciated that touch and was good. Also airport bus is only 200m up the road.

Bed was comfy, room nice and clean. Only downfall was Internet wifi was a bit weak and temperamental. As were the reception computers. This aside I Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: High floor as walls can be a little thin if your a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Ash,
It was a pleasure reading your detailed review, I am sure many Trip Advisor users will appreciate it. We are happy that you are one of the guests who leave with an unforgettable impression and will come back one day, we will be looking forward to that. Of course that we are flexible and prepare breakfast packages for all guests with early departure, good to hear that it was helpful. Once you know when you will be coming, please contact us directly so we provide you with our best offer for regular guests.
Your Hotel in Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    211
    38
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
329
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We would recommend the hotel Amigo as the hotel was very clean & central.
The rooms were pleasant & spacious,good sized bathroom . The staff were very pleasant & helpful. I am on a gluten free diet & there was plenty for me to eat & the hotel provided me with Gluten Free bread,which was a great help.The rest of the breakfast was excellent.
Would definitively come back to this great hotel.

Alan Biggs

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanrb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure reading your review about your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation and found the ladies at our reception helpful, they always do their best to make all the clients happy. Thank you for your compliments and for the time you spent writing this review. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly for a sweet discount for your next stay.
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at the Alqush (Amigo) hotel in Prague.
The hotel is very clean and classically designed. Rooms are gorgeous and spacious enough.
The location of the hotel is descent, as it is not a short walking distance from the center of Prague, but is approx. a 7 minute walk from a main Metro station and many tram lines which can lead you pretty much anywhere and quite quickly. Next to this transportation station you will also find many coffee shops, restaurants, stores, and supermarkets.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful with many great tips to enjoy the city.
Breakfast was wonderful, the diversity of the food is truly great. Here, too, the staff was very nice.
The only negative thing is that the hotel is currently being renovated, a fact which was not mentioned prior to us getting there. There is construction work between 8 am and approx. 4 pm. This also leads to guests having to enter the hotel through a door which is usually locked, which made us wait a few minutes on a number of occasions until we got the receptionists attention. Would be better to just keep this door unlocked most of the time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Haifa,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. Yes, you are right about our central location, in addition; you can find a great variety of Czech and international restaurants around our hotel which many guests take advantage of. We appreciate your compliments on the helpful receptionists, I am glad that our guests are able to tell when receptionists actually enjoy what they are doing. As for the renovation, I am glad that I can tell you that we have successfully finished it and we will be doing complex cleaning until the end of this week after which also the second main door of the hotel will be available. We hope to have you back soon so that you can evaluate the difference.
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was my second stay at the Alqush. I chose to go back as I had so enjoyed my first stay. Again, the hotel was found to be spotlessly clean and the reception staff very friendly. They knew I was a returning customer and mentioned this which was nice. This time I had a room at the rear of the hotel which also has an enclosed balcony. Room was lovely and very clean and comfortable. The free WiFi is a very useful bonus which I made use off in my room on both phone and tablet and had no problems with. Bathrooms nice and spacious and lovely powerful shower. Breakfast again was very good. Although a fairly small breakfast area, I had no problem finding space and didn't feel at all rushed to finish and leave. Nice touch is the daily newsletter in different languages so I knew what terrible weather I was missing at home. Good choice for breakfast and I didn't feel hungry at all until lunchtime. The staff are all very friendly and more than happy to help with information and advice. Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from I.P. Pavlova metro station but easy to walk to the centre in about 15 mins. Top tip for your first night there for good food etc at excellent prices if you don't want to hit the centre is Legends bar and restaurant on the same street towards the metro. Have spent many a time there over the years and never disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Xian,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad that you spend wonderful holidays with us and became our returning guest. Thank you for mentioning our delicious hot and cold buffet breakfast with wide variety of cereals, yoghurts, dried fruit, nuts, cheese, ham, sausages, eggs, beans, fresh fruit, home-made desserts and other delicatessen. We are glad that you took advantage of our complimentary daily news, you can be sure we will have even more news when you pay us a visit next time!
We wish you all the best and can’t wait to have you back.
Your Hotel in Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed in the Alqush for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The room was small but comfortable, very clean and the bed was good, too. The breakfast was really nice, a good selection of food and drinks to choose from. The location is ok, it's a few minutes walk to the nearest metro station and the tram stops. Be prepared to pay a deposit for the minibar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review full of compliments, especially to our cleanliness and the quality and variety of our hot and cold buffet breakfast. We will be looking forward to your next visit, please don’t hesitate to contact s directly for special price for regular guests!
We will be looking forward to your visit.
Your Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have chosen this hotel because of the good reviews and also the location, and we were not dissapointed. The Alqush Hotel is located pretty close to the old city (I've stayed in hotels very far from the old city before) and has everything you need close by (supermarket, exchange office, subway...).
We had a room in the back of the hotel so we heard nothing of the main road.
For me the most important thing: the room and especially the bathroom was very clean!
The breakfast was just fine, with everything you need. I don't understand the critics of some users, that the coffee was terrible. I drink a lot of coffee and this coffee was totally ok.

The receptionist was very helpful and gave us some good advises.
Parking spot was pretty expensive but typical for Prague, I guess.

I would recommend this hotel and for sure consider to come back again. Thanks a lot!

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a main road, so you would better chose a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aireen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
It makes us happy to hear that you appreciate the standard of our services. You are right about many local stores, but also restaurants being located in the hotel area at non-turistical prices, I think that in combination with our central location is what makes our hotel very likable :) We appreciate your compliments on cleanliness, it is one of our top priorities and we are glad to hear that we are doing fantastic. It is true that we are lucky to be able offer monitored parking place which costs 480 CZK ( approximately 18 EUR) per night, which is considered a great deal in the central area where free parking for others than residents is impossible. Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor! We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed in the Alqush for 13 nights for my business trip. It was very good experience, Room was very clean and stylish with all facilities. It is very clean hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. I will definitely consider this hotel to stay again. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varenkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. It makes us really happy that you provided other traveler with such a detailed review, and that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the accommodation, interior design, breakfast and our helpful staff Thank you for your review!! We can’t wait to have you back so we can make sure you spend another unforgettable holiday with us.
Your Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#196 of 649 in Prague
706 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#112 of 649 in Prague
1,119 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#69 of 649 in Prague
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#147 of 649 in Prague
499 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#59 of 649 in Prague
358 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#123 of 649 in Prague
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alqush Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alqush Downtown Hotel

Property: Alqush Downtown Hotel
Address: Legerova 15, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alqush Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO ALQUSH DOWNTOWN HOTEL ****Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is a luxurious family hotel situated in the heart of historical Prague. Its convenient location offers our guests a close proximity to the fascinating sightseeing highlights of Prague. Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is located only a few minutes walking distance from the famous Wenceslas Square, National Museum and the Congress Center. Hotel´s limousine service and reliable public transport guarantee quick access to the beautiful Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Quarter and State Opera. The hotel is surrounded with restaurants, bars, banks and close to various shopping centers.Alqush Downtown Hotel **** offers 24 air-conditioned rooms, suites and family apartments, providing free Wi-Fi with high speed Internet connection. Our guests enjoy refreshments in the hotel lobby bar with a garden or take advantage of the conference room during their business meetings. Among special services, we also provide our guests with an airport transfer, and those of you coming by car, with a monitored parking space. We believe our hospitality, friendly approach and effort to meet all your needs will make your stay in the Alqush Downtown Hotel **** in Prague unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Alqush Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing