We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Ranked #166 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice and comfortable hotel!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very nice and comfortable hotel. Great breakast. It was very pleasent to stay here and enjoy Prague. Clean and cosy. Not far from the center, quite area but still there are bares and restorants around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Less2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers using Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate the time you took to write this review and will be looking forward to your next visit!
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    211
    38
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
329
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were extremely pleased with this hotel. The rooms are very nice and spacious. It was a great deal. The breakfast is nice. Lot's of non touristy restaurants in the area and an easy walk to Wenceslas Square or the subway. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mark,
It makes us happy to hear that you appreciate the standard of our services. You are right about many local restaurants being located in the hotel area at non-turistical prices, I think that in combination with our central location is what makes our hotel very likable :) Thank you for your compliments and for recommending us on Trip Advisor!
Best Regards
Your Hotel in Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I will definitely come back to this hotel in my next trips to Prague!
All was perfect: the staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel is beautiful and clean, as the rooms. Very good location, and the breakfast is sooo tasty...!!!
Thank you very much!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuaneleDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Juanele,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. It was our pleasure having you here as well as reading your positive review of your stay with us. We highly appreciate your compliments on the cleanliness, location, friendly staff, and we are glad to hear that you will come back soon! Once you know when you will be coming, please contact us directly so we provide you with our best offer for regular guests.
Best Regards
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby Ont.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Alqush in early Sept. 2013 and were very pleased at the value and service we received. we arrived a little tired from an early morning flight but were happy to rest in a pretty room with a balcony overlooking the street. location was good perhaps 5minutes to IP Pavlova metro stn. 15 min's to Wenceslas square. the room was large and well furnished, shower and bathroom were more than adequate. and we enjoyed the garden terrace, pretty and serene. Breakfast buffet was excellent! Plenty of variety with Eggs and choice of bacon or sausage, several salads, pastries and well stocked cereal, dry fruit bar. The staff down in the breakfast area are constantly replenishing the food and coffee etc. clearing plates and bussing tables. Two computers in the lobbly are available to guests and the girls at the desk polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59DenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad that you spend wonderful holidays with us. Thank you for mentioning our delicious hot and cold buffet breakfast with wide variety of cereals, yoghurts, dried fruit, nuts, cheese, ham, sausages, eggs, beans, fresh fruit, home-made desserts and other delicatessen. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our green garden with a terrace and hope to have you back soon!
Your Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Alqush Downtown Hotel is a well-planned and well-executed mid-range hotel. It is clean and well-maintained, its Art Nouveau style is not over-the-top, and it is staffed with competent and friendly people. The location is fair, and the price even more attractive. It is a very reasonable choice for sightseers who do not wish to splurge on lodging.

Alqush Downtown Hotel is located on Legerova, a major thoroughfare, and about 400m south of I. P. Pavlova metro line C station. This I. P. Pavlova station is two metro stop away from Hlavní nádraží (main train station) and one stop away from Muzeum station, where you can get off to Václavské náměstí (Wenceslas Square) or transfer to metro line A for most sights of interest in Prague. Connection to the Vaclav Havel Airport (PRG) is also relatively easy, since bus line 119 connects the Airport and Dejvická, the northern terminus of the said metro line A. Also there is an airport express bus line (AE) that goes back and forth between the airport and the main train station (the AE also stops at Dejvická). We’d like to note that it is better to get off on the western exit at I. P. Pavlova station then walk along the west side of Legerova to reach the hotel, as there are no pedestrian crossing near the hotel (though there is an underground passage on Koubkova a little to the north). There is a mid-sized mart on the west side of Legerova, close to I. P. Pavlova, good for stocking up on water and snacks.

This hotel, along with its sister Amigo City Centre Hotel right next to it, is run by a corporation. Apparently the management knows what it is doing; the hotel offers most services that are expected from decent chain hotels, and are actually better than most at comparable price range. All the front desk staffs we met were cordial and efficient. Housekeeping is also above average. Most noteworthy were the ladies serving breakfast – they were not only efficient but were genuinely caring and friendly. After a couple of mornings they remembered us and began to pay extra attention to us, wearing genuine smile that is seldom seen in chain hotels. The breakfast itself has fair selection, and offers three or four bread types that change daily.

The hotel room is fairly spacious and, surprisingly, quieter than expected, given its location on a major road. The building must be well-insulated, as our room was quite warm and comfortable without heating turned on. The bathroom was clean and in perfect working order. One thing to remember is that, unlike chain hotels, they do charge for the coffee in the room.

To summarize, Alqush Downtown Hotel is very good at most everything to be expected from a decent mid-range hotel. Its location may not be ideal, but still is convenient enough for any activity in Prague. The proximity to Hlavní nádraží makes day trips easy as well. The hotel offers standardized and efficient service, and the staffs are very friendly. All these come at an attractive rate. We do recommend this pleasant hotel to any budget-conscious sightseeing travelers looking for well-rounded lodging in Prague.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. It makes us really happy that you provided other traveler with such a detailed review, and that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the accommodation, interior design, breakfast and our helpful staff. I am glad that some guests do realize what the differences between smaller local hotels and big famous chains are and that based on that comparison, they choose to stay in a local hotel. It is definitely not only about the huge price difference and the culture, but one definitely gets much more personal services and feeling of being at home once they stay in a family hotel like ours as you described in your review. Thank you for your review!!
Best Regards
Your Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, very good location, wonderful rooms and awesome breakfast. The price was just unbelievably low for this room (to be honest I didn't expect much for this price at this location). For my next visit in Prague, I will definitely try to find a room in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Nella,
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers using Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate the time you took to write this review and will be looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is located ca 5 min walk from Pavlova Station ( Metro and Tram, also the 22 ). Our room was very clean, not too small. The staff were all very nice and helpful. There is a small covered terrace to the back of the building, where you can enjoy breakfast al fresco, if you don't mind carrying your plate out.
Downside: our room faced a main road, so earplugs were a must.
Alqush is now a smokefree hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Andrea,
It was a pleasure reading your review about your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation and found the ladies at our reception helpful, they always do their best to make all the clients happy. Great that you took advantage of our green garden, this calm terrace is available for our guests all day long. Yes, it is true that all our rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is possible in the garden or in front of the hotel where ashtrays are available. Thank you for your compliments and for the time you spent writing this review. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly for a sweet discount.
Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#196 of 649 in Prague
705 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#112 of 649 in Prague
1,119 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#69 of 649 in Prague
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#147 of 649 in Prague
499 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#59 of 649 in Prague
358 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#123 of 649 in Prague
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alqush Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alqush Downtown Hotel

Property: Alqush Downtown Hotel
Address: Legerova 15, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alqush Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO ALQUSH DOWNTOWN HOTEL ****Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is a luxurious family hotel situated in the heart of historical Prague. Its convenient location offers our guests a close proximity to the fascinating sightseeing highlights of Prague. Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is located only a few minutes walking distance from the famous Wenceslas Square, National Museum and the Congress Center. Hotel´s limousine service and reliable public transport guarantee quick access to the beautiful Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Quarter and State Opera. The hotel is surrounded with restaurants, bars, banks and close to various shopping centers.Alqush Downtown Hotel **** offers 24 air-conditioned rooms, suites and family apartments, providing free Wi-Fi with high speed Internet connection. Our guests enjoy refreshments in the hotel lobby bar with a garden or take advantage of the conference room during their business meetings. Among special services, we also provide our guests with an airport transfer, and those of you coming by car, with a monitored parking space. We believe our hospitality, friendly approach and effort to meet all your needs will make your stay in the Alqush Downtown Hotel **** in Prague unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Alqush Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing