We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Ranked #192 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

For the price we paid ( £33/40 Euro/$48us per night ) we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious and very well presented just like in the hotel photos. A nice large bathroom with a good strong shower.
Breakfast was really good, a wide selection of both hot and cold choices with slight variations each day.Served by friendly, efficient staff.

The location wasn't that central, but too close to make it worth using public transport, about 15 minutes walk to top of Wenceslas square ( I did it in 10, but with long legs and determination )

It did seem a bit much to charge for coffee and tea in the room which you make yourself, but for this quality at such a good price they have to make their money somewhere. Also a bit more choice on TV would have been nice, bot not essential. Only one channel in each of about 7 languages ( BBC World News in English ) except three in German.

Best way to get there from the airport was on the 119 bus getting off at the last stop ( Dejvicka )where there is a metro station change trains at Muzeum to the red line getting off at P L Pavlova station and walking about 5 minutes down Legerova.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianandelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very detailed and objective review! It was our pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our hotel’s location, room facilities, breakfast and staff as well. We are still working on improving our services even more; therefore it would be great to have you back so that you can evaluate the changes in the future. In such case, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly to get the best deal for our regular clients.

Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 550 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel is nice, clean, normal. Certainly not fabulous and not a 4 stars hotel. Some of the rooms are quite large and spatious - those ending with 2 and 4 (ex. 454, 452). Others are smaller and less spatious (ending with 1 and 5), but they have balconies. Breakfast ok. There are coffee and tea facilities in the room, but you pay 2 eur for one. If you bring your own tea, I suppose it is free, they have no charge for the cups yet. 30 minutes walking to the old city center.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms ending with 2 and 4, they are larger and nicer than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Monica,

Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. Yes, you are right that guests are free to bring their own tea which they can make in their room since all rooms are equipped with kettle. We do provide tea and coffee in the rooms as well and yes, they are not gratis unlike most of other extra services which we provide, such as high speed Wi-Fi connection, rent of ironing facilities or socket adapters, additional bathroom amenities, bathrobes, baby cots and others. We hope that next time you visit Prague, you will choose to stay in Alqush Downtown Hotel **** again so that we can make your experience much better than average.

Best Wishes
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

With the price I've paid, I must say that this hotel was beyond my expectation. I love the spacious room, lovely decoration, free wi-fi and nice people at the front desk. The breakfast is generous even though a bit boring since it's the same menu everyday. Located 1 metro stop from Wenceslas Square, but on a nice sunny day I would prefer to walk down to the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Primaully W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your providing us as well as other travelers with your experience in Alqush Downtown Hotel ****. It was a pleasure reading your review and it made us really happy to hear that your stay with us was beyond your expectation. Please don't hesitate to contact us next time you plan a trip to Prague in order to get special offer for our returning clients.

Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Alqush Hotel in Prague during May 2012 and our accommodations were excellent.  It is a small, 24-room hotel, fully renovated with lovely appointments and all the amenities.  The rates are 55-58 Euro per night, approximately $75, including a full breakfast and all taxes and fees, free WiFi in the rooms and complimentary use of computers in the lobby if needed.  It is located just off the downtown area, not the busy and expensive tourist area, about 3 blocks from a major tram line as well as a metro subway station, a 20-minute tram ride to all major tourist attractions, 10-minutes from the National Theatre, or about a 20-minute walk from Wenceslas Square.  They have dependable drivers available at reasonable rates for train station and airport pick-up or for private tours.  Diana Shayaova, one of the managers, extended us every courtesy and addressed all our needs.  All of the front desk personnel speak English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoNoscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. We highly appreciate your detailed review and compliments. I hope that next time you come to Prague you will stay with us again, please don't hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more than happy to provide you with our best offer.

Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in early April and we could not fault it. From the very helpful reception staff who assisted this non-Czech speaking group with fluent English through to the quality of the rooms and superb breakfast we felt all our needs were met to a high degree. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was beyond our expectations and we certainly did not leave the hotel for our day's activities needing any further food during the day. It is a bit of a walk to the Old Town but you get to see Wenceslas Square on the way and other beautiful buildings. ATM and metro close by. Overall we were very satisfied with the highlight being the friendliness of staff

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knightsupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a positive review, it was a pleasure for all us to read it and I believe that it will provide many travelers with a lot of useful details. Once you plan another trip to Prague, please make sure you contact us in advance so we offer you our best prices.
Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed with my partner and mom with friends (ladies over 50). This is firsthand experience and not hearsay or rumors.

The only good thing about this hotel is that we were able to book it cheaply from booking.com.

The hotel is probably 500m away from IP Pavlova train station. If you're getting in at night, when it might be raining, walking to the hotel could be tedious. It's a long walk with your luggage!

On Service and Cleanliness
We stayed a total of 4 nights and 5 days. Sheets were not changed!!! We notice this on our 3rd night and had to ask the front desk for this to be done. They only clean the bathroom, they do not vacuum the room.

The weather was transitioning to spring from winter and it was becoming hot in our rooms already. We called frontdesk for the remote. The night front desk Filip informs us that he does not know where the remote is, and is most likely locked in storage somewhere by his colleagues. He also added that he is only temporary staff of the hotel and would not be able to help us.

On Value for Money
Booked the junior suite for a good price through booking.com. When we got in, we informed front desk that we wanted to stay an extra day, the front desk (Tereza) simply informs us that the hotel is fully booked and that we would have to pay double the price for the last night.

Lastly, the three older ladies we were traveling with had a very bad experience over breakfast our first day there. One of the waitresses rudely pointed out where the coffee area was and did not have the patient to point things out. This was brought to management and they apologized sending them a bouquet of nuts. I commend management on this. I hope they can keep tabs on the rest of the service staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oyalevatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Alqush Downtown Hotel **** for your stay in Prague. We appreciate your review, not only the positive side of it, but also the negative one because it helps us improve our services even more and that is what we are most interested in.
I am aware of the miscommunication you had with one of our restaurant employees and I am glad that she apologized and you explained the misunderstanding to each other in person. I see that overall your experience was not so positive as our guests usually have, but in case you decide to give it another chance, you can be sure that we will make your stay unforgettable.

Please feel free to contact us anytime if there is something we can do for you.
Have a great day.
Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel is very comforting. It's really close to the I.P. Pavlova metro station and you can even walk to the city center within a couple of minutes. There are a lot of shops in the neighborhood, so getting groceries is absolutely no problem.

The hotel is situated at a very busy road, but my room was very quite and calm. The bathroom was nice and everything was very clean.

All in all a very good value for the money, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a descent affordable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room on the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magikMaker666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Alqush Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, which we appreciate. Yes, our guests are lucky to have such a strategic location which is a walking distance from the main Wenceslas square and National Museum, and next to a metro and tram station which easily takes you around the whole city during day and night. We are glad that you would recommend us to other travelers and hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#203 of 647 in Prague
744 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#67 of 647 in Prague
1,174 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#136 of 647 in Prague
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#159 of 647 in Prague
539 reviews
Praha 2
Assenzio
Assenzio
#289 of 647 in Prague
551 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Louis Leger
Hotel Louis Leger
#164 of 647 in Prague
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alqush Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alqush Downtown Hotel

Address: Legerova 15, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $35 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alqush Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO ALQUSH DOWNTOWN HOTEL ****Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is a luxurious family hotel situated in the heart of historical Prague. Its convenient location offers our guests a close proximity to the fascinating sightseeing highlights of Prague. Alqush Downtown Hotel **** is located only a few minutes walking distance from the famous Wenceslas Square, National Museum and the Congress Center. Hotel´s limousine service and reliable public transport guarantee quick access to the beautiful Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Quarter and State Opera. The hotel is surrounded with restaurants, bars, banks and close to various shopping centers.Alqush Downtown Hotel **** offers 24 air-conditioned rooms, suites and family apartments, providing free Wi-Fi with high speed Internet connection. Our guests enjoy refreshments in the hotel lobby bar with a garden or take advantage of the conference room during their business meetings. Among special services, we also provide our guests with an airport transfer, and those of you coming by car, with a monitored parking space. We believe our hospitality, friendly approach and effort to meet all your needs will make your stay in the Alqush Downtown Hotel **** in Prague unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alqush Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing