We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, family run, very friendly staff, beakfast”
Review of Chaloupka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chaloupka
Ranked #135 of 365 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2011

To start with the major drawback: This small family run B&B is situated on a rather noisy street. But onthe other hand there is a tram stop virtually outside the front door and the line takes you right into Prague city centre. Breakfast is simple (coffee, tea, butter, cheese, jam, cereals) but quality ok. The family that runs the accomodation als olives on the premises and they are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple and the furniture looks worn but the bath and bed linen etc. is clean and looked after once a day. There is a car park and free wifi. it is definitely worth the money if you are looking for a cheap but comfortable hostel to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank falstaff030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

We decided to stay at Penzion Chaloupka on the advice of a friend who had stayed there several years before. We could not have asked for more perfect accommodations for our family. We were a family of 2 parents with our 20 and 23 yr. old children. We stayed in the apartment with the terrace and it was a perfect fit. The interior was moderate and clean and we each had our own space with a common living area. Being in the "residential" area was perfect and we could step outside the door and get on the tram to take us anywhere we needed to be. But the most important part was the hospitality and helpfulness of Petre, the owner, and his family. They helped us with directions, recommendations and anything else we needed. We felt like part of their family by the time we left. We will stay there again and hope you do too. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pek52011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I was looking for a place with parking in Prague because I was driving from Berlin and I could not find a place close to the Prague Castle and Old Prague which also has parking for a reasonable price, until I found this place on Tripadvisor.
I contacted the pension and booked a room for 4 people (my spouse, my sister and my father). Prague was the last city I visited in my one-month trip around Europe and I should say that this place was the best place I stayed in during my travel given its reasonable price. Our room was very clean and quite big, with a reasonably big and very clean ensuit. There were also two nice comfy rocking chairs in the room with a small table, and a small fridge. As I mentioned, that also had secure free parking at the back, and also free wireless with very good speed.
The guy who is running the place, Petre if I remember correctly, was very friendly and nice. He explained everything in details to us and was very helpful. The price you pay also includes a great breakfast which includes cold meat, cheese, butter, nice bread, all different kinds of jam, different kind of cakes, yogurt, juice, coffee/tea, etc. They sell tram tickets there which is very handy, for the same price you can get it outside. I didn't use some of my tickets and they were kind enough to get it back. They also have a big fridge with all sort of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, and whenever you felt like drinking a beer or something, you can get whatever you want and just write it on the piece of paper on the board that keeps your balance.
Regarding proximity to city attractions, the tram stop is literally in front of the pension. It takes you 8-10 minutes to Prague Castle and 15 minutes to Old Prague. If you are coming back to pension late at night (after 12), there are night trams that you can take which will bring you to the pension, however it take a bit longer.
I would definitely stay at this place again and I would recommend it to everyone who is looking for a reasonably cheap and very clan place to stay in Prague with great service.
BTW, despite the other review, I had no problem with the bed and slept like a baby, I guess people have different tastes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohsen_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is the third time we stayed in this penzion and we were always very satisfied with their level of service. Penzion has free secure car parking, free Wi Fi, bar opened all hours of the day. The tram stops in front of the Penzion which is great for transportation throughout the city.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visit2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

This place has to be one of the best accomodations I've stayed in. I've travelled around Europe many times now, and stayed in one hostel too many, so my expectations were not high with another out-of-town small place. But from the word go, we were pleasantly surprised with everything in the Penzion Chaloupka. On arrival, we were told that there was a problem with the double room we had booked, so they upgraded us free of charge to the penthouse appartment! It was amazing with a kitchenette and a small lounge. I can't vouch for the regular rooms, but everything in our appartment was in great condition, and it was a really comfortable place to stay. In terms of transport, the hotel has private parking at the back, and the tram stop is literally across the road! Trams come by every 5 -10 minutes, so there is never any problem going to and from town. In addition, the hotel sells public transport tickets, as well as other things you may have forgotten, like a toothbrush or tissues. The breakfast was in the style that is commonplace throughout Europe, with a selection of cereals, cold-meats and bread, but in addition, they can cook quite a nice scrambled egg on request. The bar is entirely self-service, and accessible at any time. In addition, they also had free Wi-Fi if you asked for the passcode, but unfortunately I couldn't get it to work with my iPhone. But the highlight of our stay here surely had to be the young guy who runs the place with his wife, who was so friendly and did everything he could to make our stay comfortable and nice during the entire time. His Czech English was pretty good standard, and quite endearing. If you don't want the impersonal, stiff nature of some commercial hotel like the Hilton, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed here September 19th and 20th, 2008. It was close to public transport (outside the front door) and it had safe enclosed car parking.

The pension was very clean, quiet and included a buffet breakfast.... selections of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads and tea and coffee. Accommodation was double bed with ensuite.

The young couple who managed it were very helpful and even provided tram tickets to the city - paid for at the end of your stay.

Only 2 problems.
1.The bed was so hard it felt like sleeping on a board.
2. At the end because we wanted to pay in euros and not the local currency we ended up paying more than we should have because we did not have the correct amount of euros. Most of the problem was the young lady taking our tariff had limited English and limited mathematical skills.There would have not have been a problem if we had the correct total in euros.

http://translate.google.com.au/translate?hl=en&sl=cs&u=http://www.penzionchaloupka.cz/&sa=X&oi=translate&resnum=1&ct=result&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dpenzion%2Bchaloupka%26hl%3Den

Thank LyanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank ALOREGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
HOLIDAY HOME - Hotel, Pension
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 686 in Prague
783 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#21 of 686 in Prague
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#534 of 649 in Prague
187 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#141 of 649 in Prague
5,064 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#185 of 649 in Prague
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaloupka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaloupka

Address: Nad hradnim vodojemem 794/83 | Stresovice, Prague 162 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: $56 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaloupka 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chaloupka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing