We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindner Hotel Prague Castle
Ranked #119 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sherman, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel was chosen by Trafalgar for a tour that I was taking. I enjoyed this hotel, It was quiet and out of the way, next door to St. Norbert's monastery which had 3 restuarants in it and was known for the beer that was made there. Our room was very quiet, no problem with water pressure. The employees were very helpful and spoke English quite well. Some on the tour commented that their rooms were hot. Mine was not, but I did open the window while there. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    292
    71
    18
    10
See reviews for
93
411
24
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Center
Level Contributor
558 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recommend this hotel for the old-style building it's set in, the aparted location, the good service in all compartments.
Room: I had a Deluxe on the first floor. Romantic, average size, fine bathroom. Nice view towards the Monastery towers.
Breakfast: all fine, average. Dining: the menu is a lean one, we dined here twice and had very good experience. Prices are eu-average (I mean you can spend less in local bohemian restaurant), but the service was excellent.
Skilled fisiotherapist, nice common areas, very kind receptionists (especially the boys).
Location: it's at the edge of the upper old town, just inside the old walls of the Petrina hill: it means that it will take a lot of walk to get to the Charles 4 bridge. But what a walk! you can choose to pass by the castle with stairs, by the noble via Nerudova, or through the orchyards of the hill. I actually woul recommend this place if you don't want to be in the middle of the turistic chaos, but desire a feeling of homecoming, when you leave the city behing and enter in this historic courtyard.
Note: the building is not a noble one. I guess they were stables/miews. The interior work was very well done and mixed modern style, art noveau-inspired, to very cosy details and fabrics.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Fantastic hotel, very well appointed and now owned by Lindner Hotels not Crowne Plaza. staff very polite and helpfull with good English spoken. Perfect location for us as we prefer somewhere quiet. Goods access to public transport with the Lesser town a short downhill walk away, Old and new towns are better reached by Tram from the nearby Prohelev stop and the no 22 going down to a stop by the bridge across the river from the Old Town then going on to cross the river into the new town. I have to say the Tram system is very comprehensive if a bit convoluted to work out. Do not look at the city map and think that anywhere is very far away as all of the Old Town and New Town "things to see" are not very far apart so walking between them is easily doable but with sensible shoes only!!. If your staying at this hotel there are many good bars and restaurants very close by, one of the best being Peklo in the Monastery grounds and set up in caves that we're formerly the Monastic wine cellar. stunning food, excellent service, good choice of wines, with a good selection of Cezch wines, which are well worth trying, we paid £75 (2550 k) for starters, mains, bottle of wine and coffee which is not cheap but the quality was outstandingly good and accompanied by live music (2 piece Jazz outfit) who were brilliant, and I don't like Jazz!!. Another good nearby venue is the "Klasterni Pivovar Strahov", again in the Monastery Grounds, which serves up home made Cezch beer of three types with Ceczh cuisine and is brilliant value for money. All in all a great stay and a beautifully city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlgboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I just returned from Prague. This hotel was nice and quiet ,and situated away from the center of town. It is clean but very hot (I am always cold, but this was ridiculous). I agee that it is not up to Crowne Plaza standards. Although the staff was helpful, their English is limited and so directions were not complete. I took the tram and metro, but the stop I was told to get off was wrong. As a result, I missed a tour. Be prepared to walk and have comfortable shoes for this area. Charles Bridge, Prague Castle are within walking distance. I like the fact that they had computers to use too. You are going to want to go elsewhere for eating and massages, as they are very expensive here. If you want to take a taxi, ask for AAA. By the way, you should find out the taxi rate (rounded) before you go. They are metered. This way you won't get ripped off in areas such as the big squares. I booked a car back and forth from the airport which was 550 CZ. That's what I would recommend,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 718Hippie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed for a week, had a wonderful time, electric tram was a block away so our transportation to Old Town Square was a 20 minute ride. Quite enjoyable, the Petrin Tower is just a 10 minute walk, right behing the hotel. The service was exceptional, breakfast buffet was absolutely delicious. Would definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Prague Castle during heavy snow on a weekend getaway. The setting is very picturesque and the location is nice to be set back a bit from the centre of Prague whilst still being on the tram line.

The hotel was clean and the room was comfortable. Staff were friendly on the whole, and were helpful when checking in/out.

Breakfast was a little disappointing due to limted choice, but overall it was an enjoyable stay in a nice location and I would return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
432 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel belongs to IHC Group no more, and is now run by Lindner hotels chain. One star has dropped off, so it's four star property from now on, which fact, to my opinion, deeply reflects what happened to this hotel in the last few years. It's really beautiful from the outside and has a nice, quiet location just behind the castle, but the rooms and service are of a lower quality than Crowne Plaza brand usually had to offer.
I hope than new management will sort things out and this hotel will become a nice 4*, not a faulty 5* like before.

Room Tip: avoid the so-called "heritage" rooms which are located in the historical part of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#36 of 649 in Prague
427 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#76 of 649 in Prague
1,028 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#47 of 649 in Prague
768 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#151 of 649 in Prague
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel Prague Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel Prague Castle

Property: Lindner Hotel Prague Castle
Address: Strahovska 128/20, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#95 Business Hotel in Prague
#105 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#168 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindner Hotel Prague Castle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lindner Hotel Prague Castle, a charming hotel nestled in the grounds of the UNESCO protected site of Strahov Monastery is perfectly placed within the intimate ground of Prague Castle. The Lindner Hotel Prague Castle Hotel occupies a heritage building dating back to the 16th century. Beautifully appointed fittings and friendly service combine to an unforgettable experience amidst Prague s most charming location. In the vicinity are some of Prague s most delightful sights such as the Strahov Monastery with its beautiful baroque library halls adorned with frescoes. Mozart himself used to play the organ of the monastery s St. Mary s church. The enormous Prague Castle with its St. Vitus Cathedral and Golden Lane is a stone-throw away.The hotel is located at Petrin Hill, with its Astronomical Observatoryand View Tower offering one of the best views over the golden city. The graceful quarter of Mala Strana, home of palaces and their beautiful gardens can be reached easily as well as the famous Charles Bridge.Do not miss sights such as the Astronomical Clock, the Powder Tower and the luxurius Parizska Street. The Fairground is close by and the Convention Centre easily reachable either by car or public transport. Enjoy Prague's countless pubs and beerhalls, gourmet restaurants of all kind and elegant cocktail bars and nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Lindner Hotel Prague Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Prague
Prague Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing