We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome, average accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Praha-Prague"s Heaven
Ranked #162 of 656 Specialty Lodging in Prague
London
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome, average accommodation”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Prague's Heaven is located a 15-20 minute walk or 10 min tram ride from central Prague. We had booked the private room with ensuite, which turned out to be a dorm with a double bed and three other singles in the eaves of the house.

The room was spacious but not terribly well designed - for example the toilet was on an eaves wall making it difficult for my partner to use. The double was comfy but I would echo previous reviewers comments about the quality of bed linen and towels, so do bring your own.

The plus sides are a lovely close location to the Vysehrad fortress, cute communal space and unexpected but lovely snack breakfast served by Anna, the undoubted highlight of the hostel. She welcomed us with coffee and a walking map of Prague and was unfailingly kind and helpful the whole time we were there. She also made us an unexpected and very welcome and tasty snack breakfast every day - a real warm welcome.

The cons are rough around the edges bedrooms and a bit of a trek from central Prague. I'll definitely visit the city again but next time would probably pay the extra to stay more centrally. We also drove, and there was nowhere safe nearby to leave the car.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Awful neighborhood...scary and covered in grafitti. No place to park. Walk up 4 flights of stairs. Three locked doors for safety in and out....obviously not a safe place. They demanded cash payment at 9PM on a Sunday night after I had spent 4 hours trying to find the place. They charged my credit card for a full stay, even though when I finally found the place I said I was cancelling the rest of my reservations. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! It is really horrid!!! Even the police in Prague were skeptical about me staying there when I asked for directions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank estre68132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This place was such a nice surprise. It's more like staying in an apartment than a hostel. The room my wife and I stayed in was spacious, comfortable, and had really nice windows and a skylight. The entire place was very clean, probably the cleanest place we stayed in our 2 months of travel across Eastern Europe. The woman that ran the place was very friendly. She made us a light breakfast each morning at whatever time we awoke and gave us suggestions on where to go, restaurant tips, etc. There is a partial kitchen, ok for light meals but no oven or burners. Speak a little Czech if you can (hellos, goodbyes, thank yous, etc), the staff appreciates it, even though they have no problem conversing in English.

The tram was a short 5-10 minute ride from the city center, very convenient, and the location is great because it gets you away from the tourist center and into a more authentic part of the city. It is also a short walk from Vysehrad, which has nice park space and great views of the city.

If we go back, I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EReviewer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We booked this hostel about 10 months ago and when we arrived at the front door we could not get in. We had to SMS a number to contact somebody to let us in and when he came he told us that he had given away our room. (We were delayed by 1 hour due to rail breakdown from Munich and had arrived at 5pm rather than 4pm, when their office closed).
We have had our deposit refunded by the booking agent but this hostel then charged our credit card for 1 night, despite the fact that he had a customer for our room!!!. He did this after we had left and without our knowledge.( He cancelled our reservation, not us, so we should not have to pay the first night, as the contract stipulates.) Now we have to fight for a refund.
Beware, they send you an email straight after you book initially and you do not hear from them after that. Despite your paperwork, they assume you are not coming unless you confirm with them again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This was a very comfortable hostel. It felt like staying at home with additional visitors in other rooms.

Stayed at the highest floor (i think it was 4th).

The bathroom was very clean and the heater worked well.

Staff was very friendly. The older lady was very patient and gave a lot of information and advice such as budget restaurants for polish food and also tram and tours details. She scribbled a lot of information on our maps which helped us to navigate.

Tram stop a few metres away (approx 2 minutes walk) from the hostel, which made it quite convenient to travel around.

Enjoyed the free use of WiFi and also computer with high speed internet access. Large living room and a lot of books around to read. Really felt like being at home.

Room was comfy and warm, useful especially during the cold weather!

A pity the reception is not 24 hours though. Then we could have left our belongings till we set off for the railway station.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

My boyfriend (now fiance) and I stayed in this hostel in the summer of 2009 and we choose it because the price was good for a private room. When we arrived we were brought to our room which was on the first floor of the building. There were two rooms on the first floor of the building and several more rooms several floors up. (There is a small elevator.) As soon as we arrived we put our stuff down in the room and then taken up stairs and given a run down of the transportation system, maps, and all the important places. The older lady was very nice and spoke english quiet well. She gave a key and asked us what time we would like to have breakfast in the morning and we told her around 9:00am. She provided us with a few small pastries, yogurt, and tea or coffee at 9:00am the next morning down stairs in the eating area outside our room.

We had a private room with a queen size bed on the first floor of the building. It was like a small apartment which had two rooms, one used by us and one used by another couple. Security is very good, there is a key to the front of the building, another door inside to the rooms, another door to the apartment, and a key to the private room. All of them lock. Our bed had two pillows and two sleeping bags laid on the bed. The room had a little mirror, a little table and two chairs, lamp table, and window. The bed was comfortable enough. The building does back up to some railroad tracks but it didn't bother us too much.

The apartment area outside the room had the shower room, bath room, and breakfast area, and a little kitchenette, with everything you would need to make something if you wanted.

The shower could have been cleaner but it was fine and towel were provided but I would bring your own.

The hostel is not located near the old town square or the other major land marks but there is a tram right outside the hostel which is very easy to navigate. It does not take long to get there and this such not be a deterrent from staying here.

There are several little restaurants around the hostel which are great for snacks.

Overall, I loved the hostel because it felt like we were living in Prague for a few days and that we were just more residents of the building and the service was beyond what you would receive at most hostels. The price was great too. Couldn't have enjoyed my stay more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjack0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Tiny, cosy hostel with simple, still modern and nice rooms. Very nice receptionist speaking good English, ready to help with info.
Although located abot 15 minutes from the historic center by tram, the calm atmosphere and pretty view over Prague from the hostel windows is compensating enough.
Surprise breakfast included, which we did not count on:)

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Amadeus
Amadeus
#422 of 649 in Prague
56 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Coronet
Hotel Coronet
#284 of 649 in Prague
145 reviews
Praha 4
Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Union Prague
Hotel Union Prague
#281 of 649 in Prague
493 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#15 of 649 in Prague
447 reviews
Corinthia Hotel Prague
#163 of 649 in Prague
3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Praha-Prague"s Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Praha-Prague"s Heaven

Property: Hostel Praha-Prague"s Heaven
Address: Jaromirova 497/20 | Praha 2 - Nusle, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 656 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Praha-Prague"s Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Praha-Prague`s Heaven Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing