We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Your room is not available"”
Review of Hotel Rubicon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rubicon
Ranked #219 of 650 Hotels in Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"Your room is not available"”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the Rubicon for a stag weekend - Friday to Tuesday. 11 of us arrived late on Friday night to be told that our rooms were not available. The receptionist said it was due to an electrical fault but I doubted this (my suspicions were later proven right) He wasn't particularly apologetic/sympathetic.

We were placed in an apartment in the adjacent building as an alternative. The apartment was in a very poor state. Paint flaking from the walls, bits of the wall missing, cracked window, old dirty carpet and one bathroom between all of us. The beds also looked as though someone working for the hotel had knocked them up one afternoon with some scrap wood they found. We made do and it turned out to be quite a good crack having all of us in the same room. The following day; the hotel gave us another apartment - the one next door. Now less cramped, we resigned ourselves to put up with the apartments until we left.

However, on Sunday at 12 o'clock the manager knocked on our door (luckily we hadn't gone out for the day yet) to say our rooms were now available and we had an hour to move because some students were coming in for the apartments. One of the rooms wouldn't be available until much later that day because it had to be cleaned - confirming my earlier suspicions that they had simply overbooked. The staff struggled to appreciate why we were annoyed at being given an hour to move, especially considering we could have been out for the day when they knocked.

The quality of the hotel rooms was much better than that of the apartments. I finally felt like I was staying in a hotel, as opposed to a hostel. They were basic but clean and had everything we needed.

On checking out on Tuesday, the receptionist informed us that we were being charged 2000czk extra for staying another night. When we showed that we hadn't stayed an extra night, he claimed the charge was for something else but couldn't explain what. Eventually we resolved it and left.

Overall, the staff made a bad situation worse. Very rude and unapologetic about the room mix up.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    210
    116
    60
    54
See reviews for
97
176
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent a week recently at Hotel Rubicon, Praha1. Looking at earlier reviews after booking made me very apprehensive of the outcome. Worst feature is the facade but once you're inside everything looks up. Rooms clean,good firm mattress, crisp linen, towels and courtesy shampoo in basic enough surroundings. Location only 10 minutes walk from Old Town square. Nice restaurants, superb cafés abound. A little noise from ROXY on Dlouha street but if you didnt know about the club you probably wouldn't notice. Elevator is slow particularly in the mornings around breakfast time. Breakfast is good. Breads, boiled eggs, choice of meats and cheese, yougurts, porridge, cakes, frankfurters, apples, and cereals. You wont starve. Price excellent for this location

Room Tip: Singles, doubles, triples or quadruples available in modest but clean surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

"Hotel" is an exaggeration for this place. The price is all right and the location isn't bad. For about 60 CKZ we could get breakfast included, but you can easily use it better in Prague. Our hairdryer and most importantly our showerhead didn't work. Remember to bring your own soap - and Mattress if possible, that's no joke.

Soviet style simplicity - some rooms are windowless, so be careful when choosing. No fancy hotel corridor for us, we got the fire escape stairs.

And STAY AWAY FROM THE ELEVATOR for the love of god STAY AWAY. Don't ever go two persons inside that thing!

We got stuck between third and fourth floor for 3 hours and when they finally helped us out we had to pay a bill of € 150,-

Well, you have to be careful in Prague, there are good hostels out there, but this is not one of them...

It was fun Rubicon, but we are not coming back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaahrRejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights to discover Prague, we selected the hotel by the location which is awesome, the Old Jewish town is the best part to stay in Prague when you ask me, not too touristic, great restaurants in the area (see my other reviews), you can walk to everything and it's very cheap. Since we don't eat meat the breakfast was terrible (again) as expected and the entrance and reception are just plain ugly. Furthermore everything was functioning and pretty clean. We had a car parking which was on a real shabby place behind a strange door, parked on dirt and the key was with the receptionist, price 16 euro's a day, I wouldn't park there again. Conclusion: great location, price is correct for what you get!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deVolleWaarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The location is pretty good just a few minutes walk to the old square town. The main train station is not so far.
The facade of the building is really ugly and kind of hard to find the right entrance the only renovated part of the hotel is the elevator.
Our bathroom had a bad smell every day we arrived from the street, the hotel is really noisy and breakfast is ok.
If you are expecting a hostel then you will be fine, if you are going to stay at maximum 2 nights then you should be fine, but if you have other option dont think twice choose the other one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otiasogirdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel offers nice rooms but a little bit outdated, first we got some rooms towards the backyard, even though we had ask for room towards the street when we orded the rooms,
i went down to the reception, and shows them the mail where they comfirm my desire, and
there was no problem, we got some other rooms towards the street.
But the rooms we got, was located on second floor right above a Squash center, who had opend
from 7 in the morning to 11 in the night, and belive me people plays squash from 7 o'clock in the morning, we could hear them runing around, so try to get rooms higher up..
The Wifi at the room we had was ok, a little bit slow, but it works.

The breakfast was actually really fine despite the hotel price, the selection was fine, and the breakfast room was also fine..

But again a nice low budget hotel, and if we can get room´s higher up next time, we will return to the hotel, but dont expect any luxury, it´s a room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Try to get a rooms higher up than second floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was a good choice for the 2 nights I stayed there as I was going out at night so I used to get back at the Hotel around 3AM, so it has a good location (3 blocks from all touristic tracks). The service of the staff was good, all of them were helpful and speak very good english.

The value is quite far and good but the biggest issue of this Hotel is the Sleeping Quality as there is a night club on the other side of the street with a couple of bars so its really noisy at night.

The rooms were clean and I was satisfied with them, you have your own bathroom, clean towels (old but clean), TV, internet and a safe (you pay extra for it -1 euro per day). Also the breakfast is included which was good enough - cereals, milk, yogurt, ham, sausages, fruit, bread, coffee, the, juice, etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfrido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#122 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#113 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bene
Residence Bene
#252 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Central Hotel Prague
Central Hotel Prague
#196 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Casa Marcello
Hotel Casa Marcello
#167 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Koruna
Koruna
#568 of 650 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubicon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubicon

Property: Hotel Rubicon
Address: Hastalska 371/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rubicon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rubicon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing