We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visual feast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of la primavera

la primavera
Ranked #3,954 of 5,323 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A visual feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Don't miss this. It is a beautiful nouveau-deco building housing a great cafe/restaurant. The food is very good, reasonably priced and the service friendly and efficient. Apparently Franz Kafka hung out here but there are lots of other reasons to include it in your itinerary

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    5
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
224 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We were also cheated!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We came to La Primavera because it was close to our hotel. However, the name on the front was not La Primavera but was Ristorante Longiano. Consequently, we couldn’t find any reviews online. We didn’t know the La Primavera name until we received our bill which has both names. First, let me say that the food was good and we rate that a three. The wine was also good and a bargain at five dollars for a half liter ‘mug’. But the trail ends there. The poor service began right after seating. We asked for water, but since there was only ‘still’ water or ‘sparkling’ water for five dollars a bottle each we asked for the ‘sparkling water’. We didn’t get it. We received an open bottle of water…it was not opened at the table. It was also not sparkling water...it was still water that for all we knew came out of the tap into the opened bottle. The waitress left and was not to be seen so we began drinking the water. During her absence we decided that we would have garlic bread with our meal. Ten minutes later she returned and brought us our entrée’s. We asked for the garlic bread at that point and slowly started eating our meals to wait for the bread. Another ten minutes later there was still no garlic bread and we called her over. She said that it would be out in ‘six minutes’. It came out at the end of our meal, fifteen minutes later. As a result, we said we would like to take the bread with us. She said she would put it into a box for us to take it out. We thanked her and asked for the check. When the waiter brought the check we had our next surprise. The total was larger than the sum of the items. There was also an item that was listed as ‘Krabice’ which we thought that they were charging us for the ice that we asked for with the water. I also suspected a service charge was added but the discrepancy was more than 10%. There was a line that said service charge, but there was no service charge amount listed. The line was blank. I asked the waiter and he said no it was the tax. I told him that the tax should be included. I was confused and decided to check the bill back in our room. I then left an additional tip. Back in the room we confirmed that they charged us an unknown extra 96 Kc (which was greater than a 10% service charge) and that ‘Krabice’ meant box. Yes, they charged us two dollars for the box that they gave us to take out the garlic bread that they delivered twenty five minutes late. Our advice is to avoid the Ristorante Longiano a.k.a. La Primevera. Go someplace that doesn’t have surprise and fictitious charges. It was a sad disappointment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jackmcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“two dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great food. We came quite late from airport and this little ristorante was jus few steps from our hotel. I had steak, salad and crushed potatos fried with onion and bacon (for some reason called in menu: mash potatoes), my wife had chicken in parmesan crust and roast potatoes plus some beer, all that was excellent, and I mean excellent. I'm bit choosy with food and my wife is a proper fussy eater but we were over the moon. Prices -more than reasonable : £20 for decent meal for two plus drinks and tip. Not bad a? Second night we tried pizza and that turned to be as good as any original italian pizza you ate in good italian restaurant. To accompany that we had some moravian white wine - very good, refreshing, fruity. Overall great experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jarek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
180 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We ate here on the first night of our break.
They couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome.
We asked for a variation of something on the menu and they obliged without any problem.
Food quality was superb and flavous great.
We would certainly recommend highly.
Phenomenal value for money

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Italian Cuisine at it's best in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

This small but delightful Italian restaurant was only a block from my hotel. The warmth of the pizza oven gave the restaurant a very cozy atmosphere. That staff were very friendly and the food was terrific. So much so that I ate there two of the 6 nights I was in Prague. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank newforestsway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la primavera also viewed

 

Been to la primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing