We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunger Wall Residence
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Julian(Prague)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$124
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$675
$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$195
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Unitas Hotel(Prague)
$182
$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$294
$232
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
334
25
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
25
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe loungewasher and dryersuperior suitebeautiful accommodationthe ground floorclean clothesmala stranaold towncharles bridgetram stoproom servicecafe savoyplace to staypetrin hillthese apartmentsapartment was spaciouswouldn't stay anywhere else
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 361 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Love "The Wall" - The Hunger Wall Residence! Just stayed there for the past 2 months and it was the BEST! The whole place oozes comfort, quality and elegance. What an amazing place to stay my first visit to the "golden city" or as it is also called, "the jewel in the crown of central Europe!" Luckily, it's now my second home, after Caledon Hills, Canada. The Cafe Lounge has great tunes (live jazz) , awesome staff, superb atmosphere, DELICIOUS gourmet homemade, Czech cuisine and a variety of other types of fare. It has the best cafe au laits/coffees (voted #1 cafe in all of Czech Republic), an excellent selection of imported wines and they make the best mohitos, in Prague! I recommend it in a heart beat to anyone who wants to stay in the historic centre of Prague, in a small, peaceful, artful and enjoyable location, in Mala Strana, close to all the amazing sights, smells and sounds. What a GREAT place to stay - thanks for everything. Hi to Blanca, Hana, Richard, Suzanna, Petra (my fav), Chef, Eva & Kamil!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janina777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Hunger Wall Residence is located in Mala Strana, the sedate side of the river, below the Castle hill. A remnant of the historic Hunger Wall literally runs across the rear of the hotel. The hotel is newly remodeled in a 19th century style in the public areas and high-end IKEA (I think) in the rooms. So everything looks good and works well, including the free Wi-Fi in the rooms. The staff is friendly and attentive. (English-speaking Kamil is friendly, patient, and usually present; we were very dependent on him the first couple of days.) We got two rooms at a reasonable price. At first we were a bit concerned about having the boys in a separate room, but that worked out well (especially with the Wi-Fi). The rooms had kitchenettes, and there was a small grocery about a block away.
Our rooms were at the rear of the hotel and were very quiet. There is a terrace/bar in the rear, and if that were used at night, the noise factor might be different. The street at the front of the hotel had 2 or 3 restaurant/bars, but they seemed fairly quiet at night.
Tourist Prague is a walkable area, comparable in size to Florence. You can walk anywhere from Hunger Wall without difficulty. The bridge to the Old town side of the river is about 3 blocks away, just past the Cafe Savoy. The biggest attraction in Prague is the Castle; taking the tram for the ascent is a good idea. The walk down is interesting on any path you take.
About 3 short blocks away to the southwest is the Artisan restaurant, which offers an eclectic menu and I now see is the top-rated restaurant in Prague (don't miss it), and about the same distance in the other direction is Cafe Savoy, near the bridge, which offers a very good take on traditional Bohemian food.
All in all, Hunger Wall may be the most satisfactory place we have stayed in several trips to Europe. It is an outstanding value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torrealta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This place was just amazing. From making the reservations - we contacted Hunger Wall direction and they quickly set us up with a great room - to our arrival - they met us at the door, brought us cappuccino and helped us with our luggage - to the accommodations - breathtaking room nearly as large as my condominium at home. The place was beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfy. The room service - yes, yummy room service was available from the cafe adjacent to the Hunger Wall with the same owners - was outstanding. The people were so friendly. Kamil is awesome. Stay here. Don't waste your money anywhere else. This rivals any five star you'll find in Prague for sure!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FishPicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We spent a month in Prague (work/pleasure), and found the Hunger Wall Residence to be an ideal place to stay.
Situated at the foot of Petrin Hill in Mala Strana, the location couldn't be beat. Many restaurants are within easy walking distance and it is not very far from both new town and old town. The tram is also just at the end of the block for easy access to everything.The apartments facing the front of the building are quite spacious and have been recently renovated and very nicely furnished. All bathroom/kitchen facilites are up to date, with laundry facilities in each unit. Know that the front apartments face the street, and there is some street noise at night. The apartments in the back (junior suites) are a bit smaller, but have all the amenities of the larger apartments.
The staff is absolutely superb and is extremely helpful. Everyone speaks English, and is more than happy to help with directions, arrange for concert tickets, set up private cars/cabs for trips to the airport, or anything else you might need. There is a restaurant/coffee bar and we found the meals we ordered to be very good as well. We would recommend the Hunger Wall Residence for a short or long term stay without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoLawProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We just returned from a 10 day trip from Prague/Vienna, and am happy to say that we had a fantastic stay at the Hungerwall Residence. We were travelling with a group of 6 adults and 2 young children, so needless to say we weren't sure how the accomodations would be for everyone, but it turned out to be great.

After a 13 hour journey, we were thrilled at how beautiful the rooms were, and as promised we were all on the same floor (even the baby beds were made with stuffed animals included!). The cafe was a great meeting area for all of us to start our day, and we ate breakfast there almost everyday.

The location is also fantastic. It's in Mala Strana, which is lesser town, and it was nice to stay in a neighborhood where you are close to sightseeing (we walked everywhere), but not an overly touristy area of town. There are also a number of great restaurants/cafes within walking distance as well.

I am not sure how soon I will make it back to Prague, but if I do, I will definitely be staying here again. Thanks Kamil and all of the staff at the Hungerwall Residence.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZKDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews