We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Prague Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Square
Ranked #115 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very clean and excellent location ten seconds away from Staromeska Namesti.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 244 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

This cheap hostel is in prime location! I would recommend it to everyone I know who is going to go there! Its literally steps around the corner from the old square. During December this is where the main christmas market in Prague is and it is absolutley amazing! I must see and do! Was not disappointed with the hostel at all, fab location, fab place and fab price!

Room Tip: Not the window that backs onto the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifenadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed here with friends for 2 nights during an inter-rail trip around Europe. We were on a budget and opted to stay in a hostel.

The location is good and the building is a large period property with plenty of character. The staff were helpful and the facilities were in my opinion better than average for a European hostel.

I personally thought that the rooms were crowded. Fortunately we knew 90% of the guests in out shared room (9 beds). I think it may have been too close for comfort if sharing with all people you don't know.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Progressive1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We've just came back from Prague. Visited with two other couples (6 people - 1 room) and we all loved it. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel is really well located and their prices are fair.
The only problem - but it relates to Prague, not the hostel - is to get a parking space. There's a car park nearby but bloody expensive, so keep that in mind if you're coming by car.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I stayed in this hostel in March (room 403) and I woke up the next day covered in itchy little red bumps, which after a hospital visit once I got back to my apartment in Switzerland, I found out were bed bug bites. DONT STAY HERE! It is now May and I still have scarring on my neck, hands, legs, and ankles from the ridiculous amount of bites that I got. I had to wash everything I own and clean my apartment top to bottom, have an exterminator come, and steam my mattress, just in case one got in my suitcase and I brought it home with me. I spent a ridiculous amount of money on prescriptions to ease the itching, not to mention that it was a totally traumatizing experience and I have a really hard time sleeping in general now because I am so paranoid about bed bugs. The hostel looked so clean and nice and appeared to be the nicest one I stayed in in Europe, and I never would have expected that my bed would have bed bugs. My two friends who stayed with me also got the bites, although mine were the most extensive and covered a huge amount of my body. If you do decide to stay here, definitely check your bed!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amcbride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Location was very good. Close to the old town square and also the market on Havelska Street.
However, room was so-so only. Mainly because of the lack of privacy in the room as the curtain was transparent! Toilet was outside which was fine but the shower room on our floor was mixed. The shower doors can't be locked. So we had to go downstairs for the female shower room. Not very convenient.
Reception was not very friendly. Initially, we were told they accept euro. However, upon check-in, they insisted on koruna. This was truly confusing and very inconvenient as we ended up with too little koruna left.
Lift situated awkwardly as it does not stop on the floor where the rooms are. Rather it stopped halfway. Hence, you will still need to carry your luggage up.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

I had a great time at Prague Square Hostel. It's hands-down the best located hostel in Prague. You are literally a 1 minute walk away from the main square with the astrological clock, etc.

I found it very easily, despite being a bit nervous during the 1 a.m. walk from the train station to the hostel. The front desk was helpful and matter-of-fact. Checking in and out took less than five minutes. Lots of reading/activity pamphlets at the front desk as well.

I stayed in a 8 person room and had no problems with my Brazilian room mates - all very kind and polite. Showers/WC also very clean and sanitary.

There was also a cool common room where I saw people watching movies and a computer room (with 4 computers) which was nice.

The people were mostly young travelers, though I did notice one VERY older gentlemen (re: creep) who propositioned every woman he saw (including myself) for a drink, but if you've stayed in hostels before, you'll know that there are one or two creeps at every hostel and it's very hard to avoid unless the hostel employs a very strict maximum age requirement.

Downsides:

Lockers are not reliable - The lockers were not completely theft-proof, evidenced by the fact that when I was given my key, it not only opened my locker, but the locker next to mine as well! It was also not possible to put my own padlock on these thin, wooden lockers. I was worried about my laptop, passport, and other items that I didn't want to take out with me when I went exploring, so I asked the staff at the front desk if they would please hold it for me. They agreed and tucked it safely away.

It was a bit loud at times, mainly at night, and although I didn't have a problem with the noise, I can see how other more prudent travellers would object.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunette53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#42 of 691 in Prague
191 reviews
Praha 2
Hostel Advantage
Hostel Advantage
#16 of 691 in Prague
389 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Safestay Prague Hostel
Safestay Prague Hostel
#15 of 691 in Prague
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Prague Hostel
Old Prague Hostel
#138 of 691 in Prague
436 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#88 of 691 in Prague
182 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Post Hostel Prague
Post Hostel Prague
#10 of 691 in Prague
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Square

Address: Melantrichova 471/10 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $26 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly in the HISTORICAL CENTER of Prague. JUST 150 STEPS from the famous the OLD TOWN SQUARE (Staromestske namesti) with famous Astronomical clock and 1 min walk from Wenceslaus Sq. The area of bars, clubs, shops and historical sights. No tram, metro or taxi needed!! THERE ARE NOT MANY HOSTELS so centrally located in Prague! Our great location SAVES YOU MONEY which you would spend for public transport and taxi if staying out of Prague historical center!!!PAY ONLY FOR A BED...FREE- internet access + WiFi, FREE- breakfast, FREE- bedlinen, FREE - towels, FREE- baggage room and safety deposit boxes, FREE- lockers in the room, FREE - map of Prague, iron, hair drier, FREE - hot showers 24h, NO SMOKING hostel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prague Square Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing