We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is a perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Ranked #337 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Pescara
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Is a perfect Stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Near at the major city attractions, this aparthouse have large and clear rooms.
Friendly all the personnel. Antonio

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REA70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    59
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
55
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Not the worst place we've ever stayed but certainly fell way short of what we were expecting. We booked it based on the information on the U Zlate Podkovy website which has more photos and descriptions of the apartments. Unfortunately, the professional photos on this site did not reflect the reality of the apartment. It was much smaller than expected with cheap mattresses, bedding and decor. The heating was inadequate, especially as it was well below -12 C. The breakfast was among the worst we've encountered in our years of travelling and the staff were generally unhelpful - when they could be found that is. Be aware that it is a tough walk uphill from the nearest metro station, especially with luggage, and the attic apartments (C1 or 2) are up three flights of winding stairs. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank We-really-hate-work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Nice and large appartment with hotel service: large living (with beds if needed), separate bedroom, equiped kitchen, nice bathroom (appt. B5), located at the street side (sometimes noisy, depending on traffic and other occupants).
Excellent location just below the Prague Castle.
Reception is in the restaurant (open morning till +/- 10 pm). You receive a key for the frontdoor.
Breakfast has a nice and varying choice.
Daily cleaning and fresh towels incl.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine123Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I stayed in this hotel last year over the weekend when my friend came to visit me in Prague. We were very satisfied with our stay in this hotel. It's located very conveniently on an ancient Nerudova street just a few minutes from the Pražský hrad and a short walk over the bridge to the historic Old Town.
Our room was huge and cost just 30 euros incl. breakfast. It was a double-level room, with the bedroom on the second floor. It had a very spacious main room on the first floor and even the adjacent kitchen! The view from the windows was magnificent - we could enjoy the view of the Katedrala sv Vita. We didn't use the restaurant in the hotel, but a buffet-breakfast was included into the room price. The breakfast was hefty and delicious. I surely recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nata_creator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

A friend and I just stayed there for 4 nights..
The fact that the place is run from the restaurant makes the letting of rooms seem like an afterthought.. The fact that the restaurant is closed after 10 pm lead us to major hassle and problems getting in and disturbing other hotel guests..
The room itself is fine, we didn't expect or use the kitchenette, we thought this was a hotel, where in fact it's an apartment rental.
We received towels and linen, and 1 soap and shower gel bag just the first day. The rest of the time, even having put the 'please tidy my room' sign up, our bed was made, but the room was not cleaned.. i would like fresh towels, shower gel and a clean room daily..
The street was nice, but a bit steep, good location, swarming with tourists going up to the castle.
After the reservation we reveived directions from the 'hotel' on how to reach it from the airport which make it quite easy to find.
all in all, it was an ok stay
oh, almost forgot! breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit, bread, pastry, something warm, musli..mmm : )

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RapNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

I booked this hotel through charming hotels website.

The apartment was incredible and huge! Exactly as you can see at hotel website.
the accomodation comprised of an open plan kitchen with cooker, fridge, kettle and all the kitchen equipment you would need. On the main room was a sofa, table & chairs, tv. the bathroom was clean with a heated towel rail and shower over the bath. the bedroom comprised of a comfy double bed, and add baby bad.
There was also breakfast included in the price!
The apartments are in an excellent location within easy walking distance of all the attractions and shops, with only a steep set of steps to the castle, and old town is also walkable quite easily. Nerudova street is magnificent.

there was one inconvenience. The hotel doesn't allowed us to check out late on our final day so we must leave our baggages in restaurant from where everyone can take them (fortunately every thing was ok). But even though I strongly recommended this hotel for stay in Prague.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank intimite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Residence at the Golden Horseshoe, Prague

We stayed at this Residence /Hotel for 4 nights, it was very clean
and the fact that we had an apartment was great and we could have a hot drink etc., when it suited us.
The Golden Horsehoe is very central, and not far from the Charles Bridge, and many other must see sights - it is in a popular tourist area but is nice and quiet at night time. Be warned - it is up a hill and with steep staricases not a choice for those who find hills difficult.
However, although getting to our room left us a bit out of breath it was worth it for the views. would recommend it to a friend.

  • Liked — Central location and value for money
  • Disliked — the seating in the living room, very uncorfortable/ ancient shower head should have been replaced
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ann123Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#127 of 649 in Prague
244 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Residence Thunovska 19
Residence Thunovska 19
#310 of 649 in Prague
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#120 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy

Property: At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Address: Nerudova 220/34, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prague Castle Apartmets - U Zlate podkovy is nestled in Nerudova street in the very historical center of Prauge. The most famous sites such as Prague Castle, Malostranske namesti, Charles bridge, Petrin, are just few minutes walking from the hotel and our attic apartment has a beautiful view to the Castle. You should not forget to see all these spectacular sites when staying in Prague. Nerudova street used to be a part of Royal Route and it prides itself with charming Renaissance and Baroque houses with cafés, galleries, restaurants, pubs and shops where you will experience atmosphere of old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing