We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended hotel at prague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Ranked #341 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended hotel at prague”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, it is behind the prague castle, and 5 minutes walking down to the charles bridge. The price is very affordable. The room is suprisingly large, which has a small kitchen and nice bathroom. The TV is very old, and only have few channels, but we don't watch TV in our holiday right? The staff is very helpful. We arrived at prague at 23.30, and the hotel had already closed at 22.00. They left the key at the next building that is still open In the envelope which to access to the main building and to the my room. We just had a little problem because when we entered the main entrance it was very dark and scary, and even when we went upstairs we used the lightnings only from our cellphone because there were no lights at all. It was very scary, escpesially when you arrived at around midnight. But, it was a huge relieve when we finally found our room, it was very cozy, celan, and bright.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    57
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Very well situated aparthotel with a charming personality. We had one of the two top rooms under the roof and had fantastic views over the castle and Mala Strana. Very clean. Minor issues: heating system couldn't cope when temperatures went below -15C, breakfast was a bit dull and with no fresh bread/pastries and there is cafe with an open air terrace right behind the hotel rooms, which might cause some trouble in summer if you plan on getting early to bed. Apart from that fantastic location in a fantastic city to a very good price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The room we rented was nice and clean with a great view of Nerudova street. In my opinion Mala Strana is the best place to stay in Prague; it is close to the Old Town but quieter. Our room was spacious and fully renovated. There was also a kitchenette which was useful. A restaurant is located downstairs, here is where breakfast is served in the morning. Please take into account that Aparthouse U Zlate Podkovy is on a hill and there is no elevator up to the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittynam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great hotel! Nice cozy rooms with very high ceilings, kitchen, and good service.
It has authentic ancient spirit and quite comfortable on the other hand.
Location is just perfect.

Room Tip: We've chosen double+extra bed which resulted in two rooms apart which was just great. Room #3a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zavrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Good value, breakfast plentiful and away from the noisy hoards but just a matter of minutes walking distance to Charles Bridge. Clean and tidy and bedroom (resembling Ikea furniture). Suits most age groups but not the disabled - steep steps .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

There was nothing terrible about our stay here, but it wasn't fantastic either.
The bad first: The toilet didn't work one night (wouldn't stop filling) and we had to do some repair work ourselves because it was the middle of the night, and there is no hotel reception, just a bar.
The shower was a challenge: It just needed some work on the head - we couldn't move it up or down for some reason and it meant it was too low. And we found it hard to regulate the temperature of the water (too hot or cold) but that could have been because we werent familiar with that style of gas water heating.
Noise: One night there were about 5 men drinking outside the bar (which means they were in the courtyard the building is built around) and we were only one floor up. It was so noisy they may as well have been at the foot of my bed. They were silenced at midnight so rationally I can see this isnt really too bad but I was exhausted from a long day of sightseeing and REALLY unhappy about the noise at the time, given we were paying for a place to sleep.
And you many not want to choose this place in winter if you arent steady on your feet - I imagine the cobbles on the hill get pretty slippery.
The good: Breakfast - there was lots of selection and it was all tasty.
Character - the building is many centuries old and has the character that comes with this.
Facilities - Our room had a fridge and cooker (2 rings), and a kettle, although no microwave whichwould have been useful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#121 of 649 in Prague
240 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Residence Thunovska 19
Residence Thunovska 19
#332 of 649 in Prague
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#122 of 649 in Prague
707 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
EA Hotel Jeleni dvur
EA Hotel Jeleni dvur
#314 of 649 in Prague
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy

Property: At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Address: Nerudova 220/34, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prague Castle Apartmets - U Zlate podkovy is nestled in Nerudova street in the very historical center of Prauge. The most famous sites such as Prague Castle, Malostranske namesti, Charles bridge, Petrin, are just few minutes walking from the hotel and our attic apartment has a beautiful view to the Castle. You should not forget to see all these spectacular sites when staying in Prague. Nerudova street used to be a part of Royal Route and it prides itself with charming Renaissance and Baroque houses with cafés, galleries, restaurants, pubs and shops where you will experience atmosphere of old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing