We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Apartments U Kapra
Ranked #38 of 646 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

When arriving at the apartment we were extremely dissapointed as the apartment was absolutely nothing atall like the images shown on booking.com. It wasnt very modern and was very small.

But the great thing about these apartments is the location. The centre of the city is on your doorstep. You feel very safe and you couldnt get a better location. It was clean inside and the wifi is very good and quick.

If i stayed here again I would ring them before booking to make sure i had one of the apartments shown in the pictures.

I reccommend staying here if you want to be literally right in the centre of the city - but dont be fooled by the pictures you see online.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaaaazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjmprague, Manager at Prague Apartments U Kapra, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Kaaaazza,

Thank you very much for reviewing our apartment. We are glad you liked its location and amenities. Please notice that you stayed at the Loft Bedroom Apartment which is precisely the apartment you booked via booking.com. You can see the photos of its design as well as its floor plan and its size on our website and on all our other Internet presentations of the apartment. We apologize, nevertheless, that you were not completely satisfied with the apartment and hope to see you back in Prague some time soon.

Kind regards,

Jakub Mihalik
(Prague-Stay.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in Apartment I which had a wonderful view of the the Male square - you can see the astronomical clock from the windows. The kitchen was well-equipped, the bathrooms were great and the rooms were comfortable and chic. Even though we were on a busy square, it was absolutely quiet. The staff was very helpful and immediately fixed the small issues we had. The central air kept us cool during a terrible heat wave. It is a 3 min walk to the Charles Bridge and major transportation.The staff will provide groceries or deliver breakfast at reasonable prices - but there is a nice farmers market only 2 minutes away and a bakery down the block, so we relied on that.

Two small negatives: the double bed is in fact two single mattresses. The staff should put on the $50 connector that covers the crack between the two beds. And the kitchen didn't have salt, pepper, paper towels etc... Also, be advised that the apartment location is in the middle of everything - which is very exciting, but it can feel a bit touristy and frenetic the minute you leave the apartment.

Room Tip: I liked Apartment I.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dp_2000NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 3rd Wedding Anniversary. We booked it at last minute so got a reduced price but even at full price it is still worth it.

We did in fact book this through booking.com and was very impressed by how easy it was. Near enough straight after booking we received an email direct from the agent for this apartment confirming our booking and details of the stay. We were also offered direct with them an airport transfer (obviously at an extra cost), which we took them up on as after reading some reviews people had said it wasn't easy to find the apartment and I am glad that we did as unless you know its there it is easy to walk straight past it.

They also offered a shopping list were you could pre order the food to be there in the apartment, which we also did and was great as it meant no worries when we got there at all it was just all sorted and we could get on with our holiday.

The man who drove us from the airport spoke good English, but be warned that the woman on reception didn't, but this wasn't an issue as on arrival she phoned up our agent who talked us through what we needed to know and sorted out a time for her to stop by the next day to sort out all the final paperwork.

The apartment was lovely and clean and was a nice size, everything in the apartment was from Ikea, so we are not talking great luxury but clean, practicable and comfortable. We hadn't booked this as a luxury holiday (come on it is Prague!) so this was just perfect for us!

The location really couldn't of been any better, a couple of steps down the road and you were in the Old Town Square. We were worried that it would be loud at night with Prague's reputation to stag do's etc but when you closed the windows you really couldn't hear a thing from the street.

So the only reason I haven't given this apartment an excellent score is because of the following. The bath needed some repair work doing to it, a crack and it wasn't the best shower. Also in the kitchen there wasn't any basics, like salt for example let alone some coffee for the coffee machine. Maybe I am being picky but to me that would of given it an excellent score.

I cant fault anything else about it and I will stay there again on our next visit to Prague and have recommended it to everyone I know who wants to go to Prague.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjmprague, Manager at Prague Apartments U Kapra, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear NAT S,

Thank you for reviewing our U Kapra Apartment. We are pleased to hear that you liked your stay overall and we appreciate you taking the time to review it here on Tripadvisor. We would just like to clarify a few things: basic things such as beds and wardrobes are from IKEA, while we use smaller design pieces (side tables, chairs, decor) to create a sort of design-friendly mix of furnishings, should you have had any troubles with the receptionist your agent is available on their mobile nonstop (if you don't have a mobile phone with you, the receptionist will call straight away for you), and as for coffee, we don't provide it in the apartments as clients have different tastes – we do provide coffee filters, and as for purchasing it, several shops are located close to the apartments. Thank you once again and we hope to see you in Prague again in the future!

Kind regards,

Jakub Mihalik
(Prague-Stay.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here last month and just loved it! The location couldnt be any better, it was great to just walk to all the places as all major attractions are right there! And if you get tired with all the walking ,its easy to come back to the apartment to rest for a while , before venturing out again.The apartment itself was just great - very clean , spacious , well equipped and very comfortable. And even though its in the heart of the town it was quiet. The staff , even though they dont understand or speak much English, were very helpful and polite. All in all a great place to stay . Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as69kantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjmprague, Manager at Prague Apartments U Kapra, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear as69kantan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our U Kapra Apartments. For future reference, should you wish to visit the city of one hundred spires again, agents are available on their mobile phones nonstop should you have any issues. If you do not have a mobile phone, the receptionists are more than happy to contact them for you. Thank you and have a nice day.

Kind regards,

Jakub Mihalik
(Prague-Stay.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My family and I just stayed at U Kapra last week and we LOVED IT! We stayed at Karlova 48. The apartment is in old town and literally right next to the astronomical clock and TONS of restaurants. The location truly could not be beat. We found it so nice to just be able to walk out of the apartment and be right by everything. There's a great pizza place right across from the astronomical clock that I highly recommend, it was superb. The apartment itself was huge. The living area greatly surpassed our expectations. We are a family of four and they provided two mattress pads aside from the bed so each person had one. Kitchen was excellent, very big. Bathroom was also big and had a washer and dryer which was great. Beds very comfortable. Apartment very quiet and seemed "tucked away" even though it was right in the middle of all of the action. The staff will give you two separate keys, one to enter the apartment from the street and another key to your individual apartment so we felt very safe. Only complaint is the parking situation. We drove to Prague and the parking situation was terrible. You cannot drive down the street of the apartment because it is a pedestrian only zone (no cars allowed). Therefore we had to park a block over and unload all of our luggage and drag it on the cobblestone streets to the hotel. Then, the parking ramp to park our car in was over a mile away and parking in the ramp (it's a public ramp-does not belong to the hotel) costs 30 euro per day. The elevator was broke when we were there so we had to carry our luggage up two flights of stairs. Other than the parking and broken elevator, we absolutely loved this place. Amazing value given the size of the apartments and the location. Staff was very friendly as well. Would recommend U Kapra to anyone and can't wait to return to Prague and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlerachelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjmprague, Manager at Prague Apartments U Kapra, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Littlerachelbee,

Thank you for taking the time to review our U Kapra Apartments. We appreciate your feedback and are happy that you enjoyed the apartment so much. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the lift being broken. It has been fixed and is now operating smoothly. As for the parking situation – Prague is an old city with many pedestrian-only streets which unfortunately often makes parking inconvenient. We hope to see you again in Prague in the future!

Kind regards,

Jakub Mihalik
(Prague-Stay.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The 2br 'Vault' apartment was spacious, beautifully decorated, and just a 2 min walk from Old Town Square, and close to the Charles Bridge and many other attractions in the Old Town. There was a queen/king? sized bed in the main bedroom and a huge en-suite bathroom with an enormous bath. In the second bedroom there was a queen bed and 2nd standard sized en-suite bathroom which had a shower, toilet and basin. This apartment was very quiet.It was great to have a washing machine and dryer, and there was even washing powder to use which saved me having to go out and buy some! There was a fully functioning kitchen, including dishwasher, and while I didn't do any cooking, all the utensils were there.These are apartments managed by a real estate agent, so there is no reception area like you'd find in a hotel, but there is 24/7 building security on site and I was encouraged by the agents that If I had any urgent problems that the person at the security desk could call the agents anytime to immediately resolve any issues. All in all a great 4 nights in a beautiful, quiet, apartment right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Superb place, in the middle of the city. Quiet and really cool place. Lovely and big breakfast, not included, but so worth the money to have a nice meal in the apartement. I´d love to come back for a new stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#128 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#82 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#104 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#101 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Karlova 25 Apartments
Karlova 25 Apartments
#40 of 646 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Salvator Superior Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Apartments U Kapra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Apartments U Kapra

Property: Prague Apartments U Kapra
Address: Male namesti 456/14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Residence U Kapra)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 646 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors who make this flagship address, mere steps from Old Town Square, their temporary home will enjoy the finest living in Prague. This building is protected by UNESCO, and has been comprehensively restored. Partly overlooking the charming Male Namesti square, adjacent to Old Town Square on one side and Karlova street on the other, the property is convenient to the city center. The building has a lift and an around the clock reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Prague Apartments U Kapra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing