We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Theft in our room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prague Apartments U Kapra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prague Apartments U Kapra
Ranked #36 of 661 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Theft in our room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a terrible experience we booked through bookings .com and our agent was www.prague-stay.com. When we arrived at night there was no hot water in the room and than we were told it will get repaired in the morning.in the morning we were told we could leave without our shower since it would be repaired by the evening. We left with our money put we thought safely in a closed suitcase amongs the folds of our clothes.to our horror we discovered next morning while packing to leave that all money was gone.the room lock was not broken into and only the service engineers for repairing the hot water supply could have entered the room after taking duplicate keys from the management . Everybody I'd being elusive and we understand that Prague-stay has an insurance policy but is not being straight about how to claim the insurance. We suggest nobody use this agent and facility and meanwhile please tell us if we have any options. The police is of course investigating

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
8 Thank Geeta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Prague Apartments U Kapra, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Geeta,

We would like to clarify to other travelers everything that happened in
accordance to your feedback.

Firstly we would like to stress that we always try to minimize the time
duration of any problems that our clients might have. As well as it was
in your case we did our best to fix the problem with the hot water and
it was solved less than 24 hours after we were informed about the
problem. You were informed that an external company would have to come
to make the necessary repairs and that they would be under the
supervision of the residence’s maintenance person, and they were.

Secondly we have to state that the police are still investigating the
reported crime and we do not yet know any final statement; it is
especially confusing, as your story has changed several times since you
reported it. We can proceed with further steps (insurance, etc.) only
after the police investigation is finished and we have the final report,
until then we cannot do anything.

Lastly we would like to apologize once again for this unpleasant
incident and assure you that we will do our best to figure out a
positive outcome.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our favorite home among all the other apartments anywhere we've been. It is in the heart of the old town, and yet when you enter the apartment building, you are in a quiet and secure place. One of the things I like about this property is the presence of a reception area and a receptionist. So, even if the receptionist doesnt speak English, just the thought that there is someone there who sees everyone come and go gives me a feeling of security already.

The apartment assigned to us was huge! It had 2 toilets (one with shower & bath), and the kitchen large, and was even a separate room (not the usual open kitchen/kitchenette that extends to a dining room). The kitchen had everything one would ever need -- a large ref, 4-burner stove, bread toaster, coffee making machines, lots of utensils, pots & pans, chopping boards, dinnerware, etc. you could host a party! I think it was furnished for long-term tenants because it had everything!

The audiovisual equipment all worked well. Internet connection was very good and stable.

The administrators of the apartments thought of everything their guests would ever need! There was ample supply of dishwashing cubes, toilet paper, trash bags, even dish towels. A reviewer mentioned the absence of the usual toiletries, but it didn't bother me because I wasnt expecting any. They have also put together some guidebook for guests to familiarize with the unit, the area, and the city.

I highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank TravelingFamily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#92 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#87 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Karlova 25 Apartments
Karlova 25 Apartments
#51 of 661 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Salvator Superior Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
7 Tales Suites
7 Tales Suites
#17 of 661 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Apartments U Kapra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Apartments U Kapra

Property: Prague Apartments U Kapra
Address: Male namesti 456/14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Residence U Kapra)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 661 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors who make this flagship address, mere steps from Old Town Square, their temporary home will enjoy the finest living in Prague. This building is protected by UNESCO, and has been comprehensively restored. Partly overlooking the charming Male Namesti square, adjacent to Old Town Square on one side and Karlova street on the other, the property is convenient to the city center. The building has a lift and an around the clock reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Prague Apartments U Kapra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing