We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B+”
Review of SPHINX Restaurant

SPHINX Restaurant
Ranked #3,554 of 5,536 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“B+”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I ate here a couple times and I can't complain.
Good food, good service, nice environment.
I will definitely come here again!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonTonXandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, non-smoking environment”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

The best reason why you should go to this restaurant is its non-smoking environment.
They will not offer you a local cusine, but you will get good meal (I recommend chicken shoarma) and good beer along with it. Unfortunately they raised prices last year without any improvements in service or quality of food.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank stipam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst meal in prague”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Not keen at all. Service poor, food just bland and a bit odd quite frankly. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGCMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One meal here was excellent, the next was the worst meal of my life!”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We visited this resturant twice during our stay. The first we had a salad, lasagne, and dessert with a couple of drinks. very cheap and was delicious. The waiter was very nice, and the service was pretty ok. As we had a good experience the first time, we decided to go here on our last night. BIG MISTAKE! We sat down and waited over 20 minutes before the waiter came to take out drink order. We ordered drinks and food, and then waited another 10 minutes for our drinks to arrive. Whilst we sat there having our drinks, we were discussing whether or not to leave as the food was taking so long. As we were about to leave our food turned up. Over an hour later! Our starter was brough along with our main course! The steak was cold in the middle, and the pitta bread side with sauces didn't even make it to the table. We did eat our food, even tho it wasn't very enjoyable as we were so hungry by this point. We did plan to have dessert here, but decided against it and walked to another place to grab some.
Although I did feel a little bad for the waiter, as it wasn't ALL his fault, this was the first and only place we did not leave a tip. How could you tip for such ridicuoulsy slow service and cold steak!

It is a shame as our first meal was great, but which was the one off? The good meal or the bad? This is why I cannot recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lainaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious, esthetically pleasing presentation,attentive staff”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Ate at Sphinx Restaurant in Prague on March 20, 2010.
Easy-to-read menu in English. Had number 34 (299 Kc) chicken dish, accompanied by creamed spinach, potatoes and a fresh, very appetizing salad. Very nice change from heavy Czech food. Waiter spoke English. Plate looked delicious and tasted delicious too. Would recommend restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quebecanglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SPHINX Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to SPHINX Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing