We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Couple Highly recommends this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Road Residence
Ranked #112 of 702 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Boy were we in for a surprise with this one!

BRILLIANT location - TGIF and Haagen-Daz on the ground floor, Old Town 5 min walk away, Charles Bridge a 2 min walk - we were right at the heart!

Zero issues with check in - in fact we reached 4 hrs before the checkin time and the people at the reception gave us the keys to our apartment in advance - something which is really appreciated when you get off a 15 hr flight!

Apartment - on the 4th floor with a pool table in our living room! Yay! Spectacular view from our balcony, very spacious and clean apartment. Extra brownie points for the tub in the bathroom :)

Highly recommended. Go for this one with your eyes shut!

Room Tip: Let the people know beforehand on what kind of a trip this will be and what you expect out of it! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TejalThakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the 5th floor apartment with my family (all grown-ups). First of all, if you are expecting a real hotel, be prepared for disappointment. It is a regular house, and Royal Road Residence has the reception and breakfast room on 2nd floor, and a few rooms on 4th, 5th and 6th floor. Otherwise it's normal people's apartments. I must say that the location was really top-notch, which made up much of the negative aspects of the place. Right on the touristy Karlova street and near the Charles bridge.

The apartment itself was very spacious, with a large living room, a fully equipped kitchen and a double bedroom. However, it was totally outdated and in real need of a thorough renovation. The photos on their website do not tell the true story about the condition of the rooms. The cheap Ikea furniture had seen its best days a while ago, the floor and windows were in terrible condition (we're not sure but on the floor there was something that looked like mold...) and both the bath tube and toilet were leaking, the latter making a really annoying sound.

There was some kind of a gas heater in the room which made a terrible sound at night - I slept on the living room sofa and I didn't get a minute of sleep the first night. From then on we turned the heater off for the night - but somebody had to get up before 7 am to turn it back on so we'd have some warm water for shower. I wonder how cold it might get at night without the heater on in December for example...

The breakfast was quite modest but ok. Not much variety but enough to feed you before a day of sightseeing and shopping.

We survived, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatsyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice apartment in an old building. It's about a 5 min walk from the reception in the main building and with luggage it can be hell in summer! In summer the apartment was super hot - just a small pedestal fan kept blowing away ineffectively. We could hardly sleep at night - the rain eventually rescued us from our misery. I guess we chose the wrong time to travel :). The apartment is spread over 2 floors, the 1st floor consists of the living room with a sofa bed and kitchen, the 2nd floor has the bedroom with bathroom having a shower and a bath tub.

Apartment was as described and very clean, fully functional kitchen. Bathroom had toiletries and towels provided. Breakfast consisting of cold cuts, breads, eggs, fruits, cheese, milk, tea/coffee, etc was nice and fortified us adequately for the day.

Location was spot on - just a few short minutes walk to the Old Town square or the Charles Bridge. We simply loved the central location of the apartment allotted to us on Vejvodova St.

Overall a nice experience. We would love to go back - in cooler climate :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indygo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Ours was an apartment with lots of space, we did our own cooking and after a week of travelling we took the opportunity to spread out. A really relaxing place. Three of us had room 4a with two bedrooms and a huge living area and kitchen. It's very central - right opposite the Clementinum. We arrived by train, it's about 10/15 minutes walk through the old town. The Charles Bridge is no distance. No air conditioning and so we slept with windows open...Prague is not a quiet city at night. The staff were very helpful, sorted laundry for us, and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were expecting the same quality as a hostel when we arrived here and boy did we get a surprise! We loved this hotel and were extremely blown away with the size of the rooms, it was like our own mini apartment. We had our own kitchen and balcony and a room each! The staff were friendly and it was right in the centre in close proximity to Charles Bridge and the Ice Bar in Prague! Will definitely come back here. Value for money and great stay :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avidfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Really nice desk staff, beautiful building, right on Karlova street next to Old Town Square. Our toddler loved running around and through the huge living space and taking baths in the large tub. Good morning breakfast provided by staff, although a bit late for those with young kids (9 am is practically noon). Close to everything. Could have lots of street noise in summer, we heard some at night, but in winter was fine with windows closed. Could make it better by including a hairdryer, shower stand, more pillows on very hard couches in living room. Otherwise a perfect place to stay in Prague for budget families or groups.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonW701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent three nights in this nice apartment hotel which is situated in an old and beautiful looking historical house near all sights. There are many restaurants and shops near also. The staff in the reception was friendly and they spoke english well enough. For the first night we had a studio at the 4th floor. It seemed to be recently renovated and was clean and fresh etc. but the handshower was flowing and it couldn´t be placed up because the parts didn´t fit together! There was also a new bathtub but there was not any closingbutton for water. So we couldn´t wash ourselves easily. The table-tv showed us only blue programs; the digitalbox wasn´t in order. So next morning we asked a new room and we got a huge apartment of one bedroom, livingroom, kitchen and bathroom at the 1st floor and there all things were in order. In the both apartments the furnitures were quite new and modern (from Ikea, we noticed) and the refrigerators were large, but there were only few plates, forks, spoons, mugs etc. and then there was not a coffee-maker. The beds were good and we slept well, only one evening there was loud music from the restaurant just below, but it didn´t last long. Besides the reception there was a small breakfast-area and the breakfast included the roomprice. The breakfasts were good and there was quite a variety of supplies though the place is small. Partly because of the old building we had to use three keys to get from the street to our apartment! And the locks didn´t always work well! But that wasn´t a big problem. The Minimarket Old Prague just besides the outer door seemed to be quite expensive. So when you are on the way to the nearest metrostation (Staromestská, about 10 min.)) behind the huge Klementinum, there is on the right side of the Krizovnická-street a Minimarket named Blue Sea and it is much more cheaper.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terttu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ritchie's Hostel
Ritchie's Hostel
#235 of 702 in Prague
250 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Bohemia Apartments Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charming Prague Apartments At the Black Star
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Comfortable Prague Apartments
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#97 of 702 in Prague
183 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Vladislav City Centre Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Road Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Road Residence

Address: Karlova 180/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 702 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $55 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Road Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you can enjoy fantastic view to the hundred towers and spires of Prague, specially from one side Old Town Square view and Prague Castle view from the other side. Each of the apartments includes equipped living room, which is furnished in very modern and pure style. Part of the living room is a fully equipped kitchenette with stove, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, electric pot, dishes. All the apartments are supplied with satellite TV, air-condition and free WiFi. Each from the five comfortable apartments has its private bathroom with tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Road Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Road Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing