We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs”
Review of Royal Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Road
Ranked #115 of 686 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We found bedbugs the first night of our stay at the Royal Road Residence. We saw the bugs and received bites. We were able to trap a couple of the bugs, and brought them to the staff as soon as they arrived in the morning. The staff was very understanding, and did not charge us for the night and refunded our deposit. They seemed surprised by the bugs, but their presence is undeniable, so be aware.

Room Tip: Choose another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sah415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 168 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was somewhat worried about staying here, in part because of some of the reviews, and in part because I was traveling with three daughters (and one of their boyfriends), and our apartment only had one bathroom. I was worried about a logjam at shower time. In the end, it all worked out fine. The space was generous, with two bedrooms and a huge living room and nice sized kitchen area. We could really "set up base" here for our 4 days in Prague--leaving our stuff on the tables, charging our electronics, storing our food and beverages, etc. The location was simply outstanding, a short walk from old town square, the Jewish quarter, and the Charles Bridge. It meant we didn't have to take cabs or public transport to most of our destinations. The breakfasts were modest, entirely repetitive, and somewhat lacking in variety, so that wasn't great, but it was a good way to get some food in our systems before lunch time. The view out our windows on the fourth floor was very impressive, and it was nice keeping our windows open day and night (until a heat wave warmed things up a bit too much--the place is not air conditioned, so in the heat of the summer, that could be a big problem when compared with traditional hotels). The elevator is small, so only a few can travel together on it, particularly if anyone has luggage. But for value and location, it's an excellent choice.

Room Tip: higher floors have nice views of Prague roof lines, and more distance from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KE W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Location excluded, the Royal Road is a very poor bargain. We were placed in a poorly furnitured apartment in a different building. To enter the flat, you need to cross a (bad smelling) souvenir shop. The flat lacked cupboards/drawers and hand towels. The bath towels had large holes. No support for toilet paper in the bathroom. No shampoo or bath soap. When asked, the staff provided bath gel, but no shampoo. Basic breakfast. Not even cheap. I do really suggest to stay away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHH777M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I made a booking with this hotel/apartment 4 months before the actual arrival date, the day before I was due to arrive, I confirmed my booking only to be told the price of the apartment had doubled! Apparently they had sent me an email 2 months prior, however I never received such an email! This appauling customer service, thankfully I found another apartment just down the road for a lot less than the price they were quoting me. Avoid this hotel/apartment like the prague, they are completely unscrupulous!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sxc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

It took us a while to find as we went down the wrong road, but when we arrived, everything fell into place. The staff were very friendly and could speak English well. The reception was on the first floor and our apartment was on the fifth floor with our bedroom window facing the rear so it was pretty quiet at night.
The flat was spacious, warm and wowed us at first sight with a big living room, bedroom and bathroom, but when we settled in, we found that there were a few niggly items that could be improved. There were a mixture of old and new furniture. The new seemd ok though the couch we sat on for a feet up and a cuppa after a long day seemed to have a major design fault as it kept moving whilst we tried getting comfortable. The old were a bit battered and scratched, but still functioned as they should. The kitchen looked great, and with the presence of a nice gas stove, you would think that there would be pots and pans to accompany it, but we found none and plates and cutlery were also scarce. However, there were cups and a kettle for some home made brew and a nice big fridge to store our milk. We only stayed 3 nights and chose the breakfast included option, so all of this didn't really matter that much to us. If we had stayed longer, then there may have been issues.
Basic items like towels, shower and shampoo, wi-fi were provided, but no hair drier though. Perhaps if you asked the staff for items you want, then they may provide them, but generally the basics were present.
Breakfast was pretty basic which included cereal, toast, yogurts, ham, breads, fruits, a selection of warm food. Nothing too fancy, but was enough for us to start the day with.
Generally a very good apartment to stay in which was close to most of the major attractions and very easy to get around.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseycup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I went to Prague with two friends last November and this was one of the cheapest, nice looking places on the Hostel Bookers website so we decided to stay here. We payed around £25 each a night.

We got a taxi from the airport, it seemed to take quite a while to get there but that's to be expected. Royal Road was right next to a Haagen Das shop (yum) and a TGI Fridays so it wasn't particularly hard to find once you're out and about. There's also a little sign outside the door.

We pressed the buzzer and made our way up the lift. The lady on reception was absolutely lovely and explained everything to us. There was free wi-fi for us to use and she told us about breakfast.

Our room was not a room.. It was an entire apartment to ourselves! A huge bathroom with a bath and a shower. We had plenty of room for toiletries and everything worked perfectly fine in there. We had our own kitchen with a microwave, oven, large fridge and all crockery and cutlery!! Our living room was large with big windows and a little balcony/ledge which is ideal for smokers. There were two lounge chairs and a sofa bed in there with a big TV and table and chairs. The bedroom had a large double bed, big windows again, a full-length mirror and a chest of drawers.

If the 'room' wasn't enough, we were also right in the middle of everything. A five minute walk away from the bridge and the centre. We only caught a taxi once at night to get to a gig but walked everywhere the rest of the time (to the castle, the main shopping area, etc.) There was a cash machine a few minutes walk away and plenty of restaurants around.

We had a bit of a messy first night, coming in late and using all the pots. There was pizza everywhere and the place was a mess. When we got home later on in the day, we found the place spotless! Our pots had been washed, the beds had been made. We obviously felt absolutely awful and kept the place tidy after that but a housekeeping service in an apartment?!

We were really amazed by this place and could not believe it was being advertised as a hostel. This was beyond value for money and we've recommended it to a lot of people!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#209 of 648 in Prague
528 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#136 of 648 in Prague
494 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Golden Crown Hotel
Golden Crown Hotel
#44 of 648 in Prague
440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 648 in Prague
2,412 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#70 of 648 in Prague
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Road

Address: Kaprova 20/3, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 686 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $20 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Road 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you can enjoy fantastic view to the hundred towers and spires of Prague, specially from one side Old Town Square view and Prague Castle view from the other side. Each of the apartments includes equipped living room, which is furnished in very modern and pure style. Part of the living room is a fully equipped kitchenette with stove, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, electric pot, dishes. All the apartments are supplied with satellite TV, air-condition and free WiFi. Each from the five comfortable apartments has its private bathroom with tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Road Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing