We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Restaurant Palffy Palac
Ranked #420 of 5,506 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $70
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Good food, very nice service. The restaurant is on the second floor of a building. It was strange. I was in doubt if it was the right place, you get in a building, go up one floor and you open a door to get inside the restaurant. Wasn't sure was on the right place until received by the nice waiter. The place is dark, lite by candles. I've had the foie gras terrine as starter and was very nice. The first dish could be better, but was ok. The loud classical music is a bit annoying, but the service was very good. There were only another table with a couple, the place looked desert.

Helpful?
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    65
    19
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service, disappointing food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I could see where this crumbling, faded building could have charm for some. The restaurant is on the 2nd floor and at the time of our visit, lit only by dim candles...it had more of a Morticia Adams feel to it. The service was gracious but then, there was only one other couple there, which added to the tomb like ambiance. Big disappointment was the food. Not many choices, it was more grandma than gourmet. A side of spinach was so dried out we were uncertain that it was spinach. Perhaps the chef was on vacation and the electricity was out coincidentally? Either way, not up to it's former reputation that night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Loved this restaurant. The faded glory of the "palazzo" entrance hall adds an air of excitment as you climb the stairs to the restauant. The small intimate dining hall lit by candles make for a special experience with art on the walls and a stunning chandelier above the main table. The staff are impeccably trained (very low key) and knowledgable about wine etc. The food was outstanding and was the best meal of our weekend break by a fair distance. The terrace looks to have a lovely view of gardens and up to the castle- however it was too cold to sit out this time round. All in all a great experience and very good value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Elegant Reastaurant, Good Food - not quite as good as First Visit.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our second visit to Palffy Palac - our first was in 2009 when we had a truly excellent meal.
This time the food was still very good but we found the service a little slow - the waiters were still very polite and described the menu well.. It is a very elegant and romantic restaurant so I still recommend it especially for a special dinner. We will definitely visit again next time we're in Prague.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mw104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
834 reviews
447 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“A gourmet menu that doesn't deliver”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I had heard many good things about this restaurant. But most importantly I was concerned with the quality of the food, as this is a restaurant after all.
Admittedly the setting is picturesque and romantic, and perhaps more authentic than most places in Prague.
But unfortunately this restaurant is let down by poor service and average food quality.
Firstly, it is worth phoning in a reservation. I emailed a month in advance only to pitch up to a restaurant which was booked for a tour group. I was then rebooked for the following night.
Expecting some gastronomical delight I was disappointed to experience a pretty average meal not worthy of it's pretentious setting and cost.
On receipt of the bill we were billed for a more expensive wine that we hadn't ordered which then took quite some time to resolve.
If this restaurant is to be worthy of it's reputation then I recommend much improvement.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Palffy Palac also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Palffy Palac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing