We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of Vlkova Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vlkova Palace
Ranked #41 of 704 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We didn't even get to stay at this hotel! Vlova palace. together with booking.com messed up our reservation and charged us for a stay that never happened. We were actually staying at a different apartment duing our stay in Prague. The worst part of it was the communication trying to sort it our with them when I received an email stating that I had been charged for a 4 day stay because I did not show up on the first day of the bookign which, according to them and booking.com, had not been cancelled. What would I want two apartments in Prague over the same dates? Reception at Vlokova palace were pretty rude and refused to help, stating the they were fully booked and that they could not help me in any way and prompted me to contact booking.com. By the way, I checked their website on that day and they had rooms available...they weren't fully booked. Based on our experience, do not stay at this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Quijanotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Quijanotango,

We thanks for your review even if you didn t stay in our building.

We would like to explain to all our readers. You reserved an apartment in our residence 5 months ago. We sent 2 emails before your arrival reminding about date of arrival and to ask if you need our shuttle service. You never responded us.

The day of check-in we waited your arrival until the 1am (in the night), without success.
You confirmed reservation with special offer non-refundable, prepaid (discounted by 40%) through an intermediary Web site. After few days you contacted us saying that the reservation had been canceled several months ago, we immediately contacted the agency to verify and there appeared nothing of this.

Arrogantly insisted you want a refund for a prepaid reservation charged 5 months before and although you are never arrived at our hotel.

After explaining that we could not do much we informed that we kept free your room and we could extend the stay for free (not accepted) so we told you to contact the agency where you booked because they have a 24-hour callcentre in every language.

Obviously you have never canceled your booking and agency didn´t help as we did (with our alternative proposals).

Regarding the fully booked days, our Residence was fully booked in the first two days (weekend), you verified our availability 3 days later when some rooms was already free.

We are sure that our customers or future customers will understand that his case is unique and above all the problem is due solely to you and that we helped with our availability in our proposals and alternative solutions (rejected roughly)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 256 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

The appartments are very modern, clean, and spacious. There is a tram stop just a 5 minute walk from the appartment, and from there it's a 10 minute journey in to the centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and overall we had a brilliant holiday. Would recommend to everyone, and will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel/apartments are in a perfect local in Prague apart from it being on a steepish hill about
150mtrs.Good amount of pubs/restraunts in the area and around about 10mins walk to the main station and a further 10 mins easy walk to the Old Town Square.
We took tram 9 to the Funecular railway and walked down from the castle.
Easy commute from Airport with bus 119 the Metro then off at Jiřího z Poděbrad‎ and a further 10 mins walk to Apartments.
Very good Vietnamese Noodle bar just up from the metro and an English supermarket on
Vinohradská.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calso555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Prague was our last stop on a 2-week vacation. After a week of staying in tiny hotel rooms, it was nice to have space to stretch out. For two of us, we got a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen, and it was more than enough room. Our room was on the ground floor, so we also got a little patio just off the kitchen. There's a small market across the street, so you can stock up on food supplies if you want to have snacks or make your own meals.

It's fairly close to the city center, but is on the top of a hill so if you walk anywhere (including to the tram stop), you'll need to make an uphill hike. We also had some major problems with the water temperature in the apartment; the shower would scald you one minute, and then freeze you the next. This isn't a big deal if you're only staying for a couple of days, but when you're staying for almost a week it kind of wears on you. Overall I'm very happy that we found Vlkova Palace; it was a great fit for us, and the kitchen was a major plus.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kacey044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Best place to stay in Prague. Nice spacious apartments, good service and only 5 minutes from city centre. If you´re going to Prague - there´s no better place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schoenberg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The location is quite good: 20 minutes walk to the central railway station, 30 minutes to the old city centre. The street is relatively quiet, but occasionally people standing in or walking through the street late in the night may cause noise problems. The major noise problem, however, is the doorway, so don't plan to use the extra bed in the living room if you want to have a good night's sleep. The rooms have all the necessary equipment, though not everything is as clean as one could wish. Also bring enough cash with you to pay for the room; paying by credit card only costs you an extra-amount of money, because the price will then be based on Czech Crownes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomasbaum92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The apartments are located on the hill behind the train station, approximately 20 mins walk (with luggage), with the last part of the walk being up a very steep hill - but this is the only negative about Vlkova Palace. The area is safe, filled with local restaurants, much cheaper than the center and 3 supermarkets in close proximity.

We had booked an apartment for two but we could have easily fit 4 people in there! It was huge! Including fully functional kitchen and utensils, dining table and chairs, sofa/bed, newly refurbished bathroom with power shower and heated towel rack/radiator and a double bedroom with extra single bed. The apartment was clean and airy and also had unlimited free Wifi.

The apartments are a 15minute walk back downhill to the train station and a further 5-10mins to get to Wenceslas Square. The Astronomical clock & Tyn Church is about 25mins walk and Charles Bridge and the Castle a further 10 minutes. Prague is quite a compact city with everything in easy walking distance and with beautiful weather, it was a great 3 days.

Vlkova Palace is an absolute gem and one of the best places I have ever stayed in on a city break.

One thing I would note that, although you are able to pay with credit card, it will cost you more than if you settle the bill in Euros. Our invoice showed the cost in pounds and equivalent in Euros, but when the receptionist changed the value to Czech Crowns for the credit card transaction she used the Euro amount. This resulted in it costing us about 20 quid extra. Just a small gripe, and even with the extra 20 quid, Vlkova Palace is excellent value and in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vicki432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#92 of 646 in Prague
717 reviews
Praha 7
Comfortable Prague Apartments
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Royal Prague City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Royal Court Apartments
Royal Court Apartments
#6 of 704 in Prague
523 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square Apartments
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOOo Downtown
MOOo Downtown
#2 of 704 in Prague
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vlkova Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vlkova Palace

Address: Vlkova 602/25, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 704 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $31 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vlkova Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 800-1000 metres from Prague's Republic Square (400m from Prague 1), Vlkova Residence offers bright, colourful apartments with dining areas, satellite TV and bathrooms. Sheets, towels, toiletries and a coffee machine for espresso, cappuccino and tea are provided among other amenities.Vlkova Residence is within easy walking distance to Namesti Republiky (Republic Square). There are numerous restaurants and bars in the vicinity. International cuisine as well as Czech specialities can be sampled there.Airport shuttle and car rentals are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Vlkova Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vlkova Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing