We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just a lovely spot to reflect on all the delights of Prague” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Ranked #416 of 5,316 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“just a lovely spot to reflect on all the delights of Prague”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had afternoon tea and cake and enjoyed the experience from the moment i walked in the cafe-best carrot cake to date!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    142
    28
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good French food and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The restaurant is tucked away in Mala Strana about a 5 minute walk from Charles Bridge. We arrived without a booking at 7pm on a Thursday evening in April and noticed that all of the tables were already reserved. They let us have a table immediately though with the promise that we could have it for a couple of hours.

The foie gras which we shared as a starter was outstandingly good and we both had the entrecôte of beef as our main course. This came with a well dressed salad to start with, together with some French bread and was followed by French fries which were served with the beef - which came with a tasty 'secret' sauce.

We had a bottle of Swiss red (Gamay) which went really well with the beef. Including a pudding for me and glass of Brandy for him, the bill came to approx £80.00 which we thought was great value. This is not a 'fine dining' restaurant, but the food, service and ambience were great and I would recommend that you try it for yourself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foxymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The place itself is very modest but welcoming. The service is very attentive and speedy. We had the entrecôte with frites. It was very nicely cooked and the house special secret sauce is delicious. The best thing was the small bill.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Vargian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very good - rather than not outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Small and intimate restaurant located close to Charles Bridge in the Kampa area of Prague. We managed to get a table without booking.

We opted for the house speciality of steak and chips which was very good, rather than outstanding. It was however good value for money.

The service was a little too over-bearing and formal for my liking. There is a fine line between excellent service and going over the top…. Unfortunately, the service was a bit too much ‘in your face’. We also felt a little out of place in our informal dress – we had been out on a long day of sight seeing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dangary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I think it says a lot about a place when it's full and surrounding restaurants are literally empty - we know because we had to wait a short while and wandered the nearby streets to see other businesses devoid of customers!

The brief wait was well worth it though for the attentive and knowledgeable staff, along with the excellent food at value for money Prague prices!

Entrecôte "Cafe de Paris“ grilled fillet of beef was our choice (along with quite a few other people) and I'd recommend you try it - beautiful!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LonelyBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing