We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tourist trap”

Restaurace Novomestsky Pivovar
Ranked #619 of 5,536 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A tourist trap”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The server was not helpful and was sort of sketch from the beginning. When we were done eating, he came with a pocket calculator, throws it down and mumbles, "10% tip, its up to you." Once we left, we figured that he added tip on top of the amount we purchased and we tipped over and above. I don't mind paying for exactly what I purchase but hate being cheated. I think this restaurant serves and cheats tourist and should not be rewarded. Their food is not all that great and the beer is DEFINITELY not good; as a matter of fact, I think they just put flavoring in their beer to make their beer flight and over charge for flavored beer. I will not be back and if you ever come to Prague and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jcheung62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    351
    217
    106
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Even gave them 3 chances...”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Heard this place was great and as I am a fan of microbreweries it was definitely on my to do list.

First time we went in we were very reluctantly seated and half an hour later literally had to set off distress signals to get us served. As a result of this they served us our first beer and refused to serve us again.

We thought we'd give it a second try so when we got up we headed out there for about 10:45am. We had an idea it may not be open but thought we'd just go and see. We were met by a waiter at the entrance way who basically just laughed at us when we asked if they were open.

Eager to try a beer I heard was very good there; we were passing through on the final night and got seated again. Once again it was like we didn't exist and this time we left without service vowing never to go there again. Looks like an amazing place but a shame it is let down by primitive service.

GO AT YOUR PERIL!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnesBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Typically tourist place”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Enough space, you'll always find a seat there, but nothing special. Just tourist place with traditional food, tasty beer etc. There are many places better than that. :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aovchinnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you are searching for CZE food and beer is one of the spots in the city that you will be not disappointed
The beer is their own, and the food is good old Czech style cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Service with average beer”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is a fake representation of an authentic old pub. All decoration is too much and kitsch. The people serving are not proud of the beer or place but just want to sell beer. They brew a dark and a light beer. Both are bland and lack character. For serious beer i would not recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank inkypie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Restaurace Novomestsky Pivovar also viewed

 

Been to Restaurace Novomestsky Pivovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing