We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the average”
Review of U Emy Destinnove

U Emy Destinnove
Ranked #730 of 5,470 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: European, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A cut above the average”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A discreet and small restaurant in a quiet part of the city. A most varied and balanced menu - a far cry from the more usual meat and dumplings. I enjoyed the beet salad with feta as a starter, followed by grilled lemon sole with herbed potatoes, complemented with a few glugs of Gascony white wine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heaverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    40
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
196 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent combination of wine tasting and lovely food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We came here to enjoy four course menu paired with eight wines.

Each course was paired perfectly with the wines we were tasting. We sampled eight wines from the Old World and New World. We've got a small place-mat to make tasting notes and guessed which wines are Old World and which are New World. Who got three or more correct, got complimentary home-made chocolate truffles.

Pan-seared St. Jacob scallops served over white truffle cream oyster mushroom ragout was an amazing seafood dish to start with, followed by low-roasted Iberico pork belly with soy, honey and smoked sesame oil. Third also seafood dish came next: Pan-roasted codfish from France served with green asparagus purée. Originally presented Fresh New Zealand lamb lollipops with honey Chianti demiglaze served with roasted garlic mashed potatoes finished our meat feast of the night.
We were not very successful guessing the wines but had a great fun discussing the options.
Head Chef Steven Trumpfheller came to see us several times and explained philosophy and spirits of his restaurant, we found it both interesting and entertaining.
Both waiters were most professional and made the evening very memorable.
Restaurant decór is pleasant and cosy and place is non-smoking, walking distance from I.P.Pavlova about 5 minutes down the hill.
Also available are Chef's table where the chef creates daily a special 4 course tasting menu,
Table side cooking, Monthly wine club etc.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I invited my daughter with her boyfriend and we have chosen the menu. We got fish as starters and lamb as main dish. All three courses were unique! And the desert was phantastic. Wine was very well chosen. Service friendly and professional. Chef, Steven Trumpfheler talks with guests and serves also himself. Can recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The food was outstanding, the building was so charming, the service was perfect and warm, we spent our last evening in Prague here and it was the perfect way to end an incredible trip. The chef came out and talked to my Mum, sisters and I and we even ended up with a picture with him after a few glasses of wine... we laughed the entire night, when we weren't busy stealing bites of our delicious meals. We were so lucky to receive this recommendation and should I ever be lucky enough to get back to Prague, I would absolutely come back, over and over again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A jewel of a restaurant”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Steven Trumpfheller is the owner and head chef of Uemy Destinnové in Prague, Czech Republic. Born and raised in Philadelphia, his accent shows his origins. But his cooking is way beyond Philly. My wife and I participated in Prague's Grand Restaurant Festival where you pay a reasonable fee and then get a three course meal at a variety of different restaurants. We did not know Steve's restaurant, so it was just luck when we chose it. Our first course was scallops and oyster mushrooms. The scallops were the best I have ever had, equaling some that I had at Kraft restaurant in New York. The mushrooms were a perfect accompaniment and the two worked together well. We had a glass of local sparkling white wine, more pro secco than champagne like, which matched the food well. The second course was halibut and prawns in a lobster sauce. It was so good that I wanted to lick the bowl after everything was eaten. The glass of wine served with was a chardonnay that was very light but was quite good. The third course was a chop from wild boar served with roasted potatoes and green beans. The boar was served medium rare, unusual for pork, but was very good. The green beans were outstanding, cooked just right. The local red wine again was a good choice.

From the time we got there until we left we were treated well. The staff and Steve all treated us as welcome guests. The atmosphere was casual although the ambiance was elegant. A talented piano player provided background music next to a warm and inviting fire in the fireplace. We looked at the general menu and the selections are solid and reasonably priced. Many of the customers there were also speaking in English. Steve gave us a lot of information about his restaurant and the general Prague community.

All in all I would recommend this restaurant highly. In fact my nephew and his new wife are supposed to be comiung to Prague on their honeymoon and we will certainly reccommend this restaurant to them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hertzbergl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Emy Destinnove also viewed

 

Been to U Emy Destinnove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing