We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nr 1 is Atmosphere”

Terasa u Zlate Studne
Ranked #19 of 5,536 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $94
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hradcany & Letna
Katowice, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nr 1 is Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We visited this restaurant and have very good experience.
First of all there is such fine view (panoramic prague). That is good idea to sit outside.
Service was a bit slow, there were quite few people.
Food was good and nice decorated.
The cost per person with wine was 80 eur for full dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungerBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,386
    259
    77
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Outstanding way to end our visit”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited Prague recently with recent travel magazine in hand listing some hot new restaurants in Prague. When we mentioned these to our local tour guide, he noted that while they were hot, one particular restaurant was top ranked locally for food and for the location, the Terrace at the Golden Well Hotel. Our concierge helped get us a reservation for our last night in Prague, and concurred with the guide's recommendation (and apparently Trip Advisor's).
It's a little bit of a hike (30-40 min) from the Powder Tower area (but we were up for it), and near the end it's a little hard to find, up a small blind alley. Then it's an elevator and stairway trip up and up...but the view is worth it. You really feel like you're up on the top of Prague, with a stunning city view. Also the dozen or so tables on the terrace all have a view -- either you're right on the edge, or just one table back.
The tasting menu (8 courses for just over $100 without wine) was spectacular. As good as many of the best we've had around the world, but with enough of a local touch to remind you you're in Prague (pear dumplings, mmm).
This was the perfect way to end our wonderful trip to Prague.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ptbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford Ct
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Prague!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I absolutely LOVE this restaurant! My girlfriend and I just visited the hotel (which I think is the best in Prague) at the end of September and based off of the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to have dinner at the restaurant which is an outdoor terrace over looking the city.

I was worried that the weather might be too cold in September but they assured it would be fine and it was. The views of the city are incredible as the hotel is nestled up against the Prague Castle. It looks down over Mala Strana and over the Charles Bridge and into Old Town. You also could see the mini eiffel tower lit up on the top of Petrin Hill. A very romantic spot.

But thats just the view - the food also was spectacular. They started off providing a complimentary treat from the chef - foi gras. Then we ordered some wine and the waiter / sommelier was very helpful suggesting a wonderful Czech wine. I had a traditional potato cream soup to start which was to die for and my girlfriend had the lobster bisque which had a giant lobster ravioli inside. Then she had the parmesan risotto as her main entree which was fantastic and I had the duck. We split a cookie dough cheesecake dessert too. My girlfriend was filling up during dinner and didn't eat as much of the risotto and the waiter came by and asked if they could switch the dish for another dish just in case she hadn't liked it. This is an example of truly great attentive service. (for the record we wrapped the risotto and had it later that night)

We would not hesitate to go back to Terasa u Zlate Studne and in fact probably would want to eat there 2 nights on our next trip! I highly recommend this experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiddKid06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lives up to its expectations.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Been planning on visiting this restaurant ever since we first considered Prague for a city break. Booked it 2-3 weeks in advance for a Monday night but restaurant wasn't full with everyone seated out on the heated terrace (the rain didn't affect our enjoyment one bit).

Everything about this restaurant is special from the service (not too attentive but we didn't have to signal for service once), the delicious breads served with the meal to the food itself which was simply outstanding. We went for the full a la carte menu and weren't disappointed. My scallop starter was good but the Royal Steak main course was one of the best dishes I've ever tasted.

It's not cheap (3 courses for the two of us with wine and aperitif came for 5200 CzKr) but more than worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best resturant I've ever been too.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The view is just amazing and the food is to die for. Would highly recommend. I got engaged after a meal here it's that good! Not to be missed on a trip to Prauge!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Technokilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terasa u Zlate Studne also viewed

 

Been to Terasa u Zlate Studne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing