We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice local”

Restaurace U Rudolfina
Ranked #340 of 5,427 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice local”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

the price of food and beer is Ok not really cheap. but the service and people are very nice. Most of all great atmosphere for a beer house. .

Helpful?
Thank zuuuugi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    186
    51
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Rudolfina, the most Authentic Czech Experience you will Ever Have!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I loved my visit to this place really. Sad to see it only at no496 - as I searched for a site, giving the best authentic czech bars with food in the city, and it was a czech sie, and this was No1.
So, as a recommendation, if your adventurous take the plunge, and you will love it.

Firstly, when you walk in, go down the stairs straight ahead of you, down to the Beer hall. When your in, tak yout seat at one of the large wooden tables and take in the atmosphere in here. We were the only ones speaking english, everyone else was czech, that was very pleasing from the start!

Along comes this big friendly, burly barman, when I asked for Beef Goulash, he was delighted I knew what I was talking about :) When it arrived, it tasted fantastic, and the amount of Paprika was perfect, the beef, and the gravy was awesome tasting, and the Pilsner, out of this world! My mate commented that it tasted as if it is made with Spring water, it was that fresh.

I wuld highly recommend this place for visiting, have a bit courage, and do not be put off by the slightly shabby exterior. Think Great Czech Food, Great Czech Beer, and Great Czech atmosphere awaits you if you make the effort.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamzyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic Czech”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

About as authentic as you can get to an old Czech pub, because it is an old Czech pub.. Walk down the stairs and enjoy a great meal or grab a seat at a table upstairs and have a few beers. Great place to rest your feet or mind. Excellent beer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Eat where locals eat”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This isn't a place for special occasions. People come here to eat fast, good and cheap, and (of course) to drink beer. If that is what you want - this restaurant is for you. But please be warned: in Prague restaurants customers smoke everywhere, even under the signs "No smoking".

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belomor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good and very Czech”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stumbled upon this place twice. First time was just for a quick beer after getting somewhat lost. Second was whilst looking for a place for our final meal.

Went into the downstairs cellar bar. Very roomy, large tables perfect for groups, smart waiters and a very Czech atmosphere to the place. The menu was in Czech so we were getting ready for some blind guesswork with the menu. The waiter was very helpful and translating for us. Eventually he offered us a 'selection of meals, enough for 8 people'

Once this arrived we were all in carnivorous heaven. 2 massive plates arrived. One full to overflowing with dumplings, chipped potatoes, sauerkraut, potato cakes... The other; piled high with meat. There was pork, ribs, chicken, fish, beef, sausage, the lot. It was the first time I have ever cheered at the sheer wonder of what had been offered to us.

By the time it had al been washed down with a couple of beers and a de-congestive liqueur it worked out at a very reasonable price and we all left full to the brim on some very tasty, very Czech foods

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurace U Rudolfina also viewed

 

Been to Restaurace U Rudolfina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing