We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constantly looses quality”
Review of Cartouche - CLOSED

Cartouche
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Constantly looses quality”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have been eating there since 2009. The restaurant has a great medieval atmosphere and is located in the cellar of a building. It has an open fireplace which is also used for preparing the meat.

Unfortunately this restaurant looses quality each time we have been there. We have been there 4 times from 2009 - 2013. The first time it did impress with its great atmosphere. The second time it was one of the best meals we ever had. The 3rd time the food was very bad and the service arrogant and unfriendly.

We just have been there a 4th time, Sept. 2013, and figured out that they have changed their menu, opening hours, staff and owner. Looks like they are trying to make it more interesting for German visitors as the menu now also is translated into German and the menu includes now dishes that also are very famous in Germany such as pickled knuckles of pork ("EISBEIN") and Sauerkraut, fried mashed potatoes instead of dumplings, etc.

Looks like the new owner is trying to make the place a little bit more upscale although the prices are not too upscale. The menu now includes rather international dishes than typical czech dishes. The service was OK.

The restaurant charged us for the bread although we did tell the waitress as we ordered that we do not want to have any of the bread and also did not touch it as we ate. They were unwilling to take it off the bill and told us it would be written in the menu that it comes automatically. In the menu it was written as a side dish that can be ordered, we did not find any note that it comes automatically. The typical Prague rip off...

They also changed the music. Whereas they used to have good music that did not take too much of your attention they are now playing Enya & other music which is a little annoying.

This time the food was ok. The place lives from its atmosphere. We probably will not come back for a 5th time. Every time we have been there we have been almost the only guests. We do not know how this place can survive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBBGIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Love it here.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've been here twice and each time was great. It would be smart to get reservations if you are having dinner but during lunch hours you can probably get away without them. It can be a bit pricey when you start to add a couple bottles of win but it's worth it on special occasions. The first I sat in the front room near the wood burning fireplace and my cousin and I feasted on the mixed grill which was cooked on it. Absolutely a great atmosphere and the staff have always been extremely friendly. Some of the friendliest I have had in my travels in the Czech Republic. This year we were seated in the back in a area lit only by candles and enjoyed a really great meal of Duck and also some liver pate. Enjoyed a nice bottle of wine along with a shot of schnapps to warm us up on a cold day. Server was really nice and talkative. Located on Bilkova away from the city center and very easy to find with out much traffic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcome to XIV century”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went there last April, 2013 thanx to a friend's advice!! We found this small entry into a narrow street, with a light on the top. As we got downstairs an amazing view was presented to us. A kind of medioeval atmosphere with the sembiance of a castle of the XIII century. The staff is very kind and the food absolutely great. Beer was delicious (obviously, in Praha!). Bill was the last surprise: extremely low cost and cheap: about 25€ in two! Don't miss it when in Praha!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamLeleMomoAnoukMoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fascinating venue, good local food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Going through the big wooden doors into the candle lit cellar like space is like going back in time. Apparently the historic building isn't really underground and centuries ago would have been at street level!
Once your eyes have adjusted the charm of the place is evident, the food is good quality local menu without anything to wild to offend english tastes.
They can cater for anyone from couples to bigger groups, with plenty of local beer to wash down your food.
The service is efficient if slightly lacking in warmth, but this has never bothered us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jude291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“cozy warm”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

what a lovely place. Its in a cellar... big fire in grate.... candles every where... I was with my friend ....Can imagine it to be a quite romantic place, great food.....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkiittiiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cartouche also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing