We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too overpriced”
Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Downtown
Ranked #4 of 650 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Way too overpriced”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I used the Hostel International website to book Hostel Downtown in Prague, without doing any further research, thinking that this place would be competitively priced. However, when I got to Prague, I realized that this city is generally more reasonable, compared to other European cities. We stayed in a double room en-suite, and paid quite a bit for each bed per night. When we walked around, we realized that at that price, we could have gotten a pretty nice HOTEL in and around the vicinity. In fact some of the places we saw were a few $s cheaper.

The location of this hostel is amazing, very close to all forms of public transportation. The hostel is clean and decently maintained. The staff seemed knowledgeable about the local areas. If you are single, and travelling alone I would suggest considering this place. However, if you are a couple, and looking for an en suite room, just get a hotel as this place is a complete ripoff. Moreover, they wouldn't even accept our Hostel International cards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaushik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    238
    39
    14
    3
See reviews for
48
111
353
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Good hostel. Clean and nice rooms. Only thing to moan about was the mattress was too thin. To be fair it didn't bother me enough to complain . Overall I would stay here again and would recommend. Also the conference facility is a definite plus with free Wi Fi as well.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I found out about hostel downtown via trip advisor when planning a trip to prague. The staff are all very friendly and helpful upon arrival and showed us to the room. I booked a room for 6 with a private backroom, which was extremely clean and inviting. The room was spacious, lighy and fresh. The bathroom was also cleaned to a high standard. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in prague with friends! It definitely beats a hotel stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mattyboi819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

By far the best hostel I've stayed in Europe. People are extremely nice and carefull, the amenities are big and confortable, location is the best, and also it is not expensive. The kitchen is huge and there is enough space in the firdges. Washmaschine is 2 Euros and they give you towel for free. Bringing a padlock is a must, my friends iphone got stolen, nowadays no place is safe. But at least they do have outlets by the beds. When I come back to Prague I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place has most of the amenities that you would want if you are OK living in a dorm. I stayed here for 1 day and the place treated me well. The common room and kitchen are well maintained. The place is at a central location and there are cheap (and averagely cheap) restaurants nearby that you can dine in. Great locations to visit are nearby as well.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srijankumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This pretty much was my favourite hostel of Europe. Located down the road from Mustek underground and a great starting point to check out the sights. The best thing was the people who ran the joint had an organised activity for every day of the week, be it cooking a meal with others staying there then eating a "family" for free was great, night and day tours and even a beer tasting night [unfortunately I left before this day :( ]. A bloke called Kristian ran most of these activities and I'm telling you he is a cracker of a mate. His custom made night tour of the lesser town was brilliant and you could tell he has really thought about what he takes you and the way in which he presents it, pretty much proves that he really cares. plus you meet people that you might not of had a chance to say Gday to and make friends which make the stay awesome!

The rooms are good, showers do your head in having to press the button every 10 seconds, although I did find one which had a 20 second timer. The staff on the desk are great and have all the info you need about the city, and they are happy to talk to you. Also the info boards around the place tell you all the great pubs/eats and the one trustworthy exchange point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smoky222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hostel Downtown is in a great location within walking distance of the Old Town Square, which made it a really good base for the weekend. It's clean with good facilities and a nice atmosphere, the staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rfrdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 649 in Prague
1,973 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,673 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 649 in Prague
2,315 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#9 of 650 in Prague
731 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#7 of 650 in Prague
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Property: Hostel Downtown
Address: Narodni 949/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 650 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Downtown 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing