We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Downtown
Ranked #5 of 663 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are 21 and 22 years old and we travelled in the summer time. Coming from other party hostels we found this hostel quiet but comfortable. It was harder to meet people in this hostel and if your looking for a busy and socialable place with a bar this probably isnt what your looking for.
Even though we paid for a private room with a private ensuite our bathroom was a separate room which we had to walk through the hallway to get to. This was a bit annoying as we expected an attached bathroom. The bathroom and mirror was tiny and we had no mirror in our bedroom at all.
There was also no airconditioning or fan. Depsite this the hostel is comfortable and a good if your looking for a quiet and safe place to sleep at night.
The reception staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast is okay. We would recommend for families or travelling couples. It is close to the metro station, the river and walking distance from the five story club that is famous in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefani-Kristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    236
    39
    13
    3
See reviews for
47
110
343
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beerse, Antwerpen, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hostel was by far the best one we visited when we were travelling. The building is very clean, the people are extraordinarily friendly and always ready to help, and the sheduled daily activities give you that overdose of culture that Prague has to offer all while meeting interesting people. The location in the heart of the city is the cherry on top of an almost perfectly baked pie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here during my travels around Europe. By far, this was the best hostel I stayed in and what makes it great are the people. The daily activities such as cooking demo n castle tours are great ways of meeting people and trust me, people who stay at this hostel are super cool. The staff are super friendly n helpful, always warm and approachable!

The rooms are clean and spacious, there is wifi access in the rooms too (some hostels claim to have wifi but it is only available in the public areas which suck). It is shared bathroom but I never had trouble going to the shower when needed either in the morning or evening. Bathrooms get cleaned everyday (important)!!! Best of all, the hostel is situated in such a good location that's walking distance from Old Town and just a few hundred metres from shopping strips and a supermarket. It has fully equipped kitchen too which is helpful when u want to save a few bucks by cooking yourself. The only thing that would improve the stay would be having individual powerpoint to each bed... but that's really not a big problem as there were about 2-3 in my room between 6 people. We learnt to share!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperficiallyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielsko-Biala, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice, clean hostel. Perfect location, friendly and helpful receptionists. Good prices!! What can I say more? If you are looking for some nice place to stay in Prague let's go there ;)! I'm sure you will be enjoyed

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hostel Downtown for 4 nights, and it was a wonderful experience for me!
Right at the door, a friendly staff member called Kristian said they've just started a social activity and i could join and in no time i was sitting among really nice travelers and eating food that we cooked together!
The facilities are great, the beds/showers etc are clean, everything works.
The main strong point is the staff.
First and foremost, Kristian - he does special activities every night. When I was there, about half the nights it was cooking food together and then eating it, and the other nights he did a tour to the Prague castle. I've been to many guided tours, and this was not like them. He's funny, engaging, and really knowledgeable, this was an amazing tour and i recommend it highly.
The rest of the staff was also really friendly and helpful and fun!
Jirka and Kate -- a lot of fun! spent a whole evening with them laughing and talking
Katka -- so patient and friendly, answered all of my (sometimes stupid) questions with a smile.
Jakub -- the manager, very laid back and friendly, had an interesting talk with him
Karel and Petra who i've only met for a short while -- still were always smiling and helpful.
So in general, I haven't met a staff member here who I didn't like.
The other travelers I met here were really nice too.
Overall, excellent experience!
In terms of activities, I recommend all of Kristian's activities.
The pub crawl was very touristic but fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonatan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've been twice to this hostel, it's just amazing, it has everything. It near to the centre, it has big rooms with comfy beds. Everything is clean. The kitchen is very well equipped and you can have breakfast (all you can eat) for 3€. Plus, the hostel have a lot of free activities with Kristian and he just awesome. Definitely one of the best hostels in Prague.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel! Great location! Near the metro, near Old Town Square and Charles Bridge. The room is clean, the breakfast is really good. The staff is kind! Lots of fun activities to do, and Kristian gave an awesome Castle tour at night!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsacPiresMoraesFilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#63 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#97 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Property: Hostel Downtown
Address: Narodni 949/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 663 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Downtown 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing