We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hotel - great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Charles Central
Ranked #169 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed during a city trip to Prague in this hotel and just for that I can recommend it. It's just a hotel to sleep with a good icluded breakfast and free wi fi. You shouldn't expect more but only for this it's totally ok. The rooms are very clean and contains a big tv screen, toilet and shower is located on the floor.
It is located in a quiet area and it is about 20 minutes walk to the city centre. But you can also choose the metro which is located directly infront of the hotel.
The hotel offers also free parking and safe which is perfect when you arrive with your car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Charles Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great 24h english speaking reception that can help you with everything you may need,
Pizzeria is just outside the door and a shop is nearby.
Close to metro only 2stops to old town.when not flooded;/
Taxi is also cheap if you make sure to fix the price before you sit in.
Rooms are pretty basic but for a weekend its ok, If you like to spend your money seeing things instead of on a fancy hotel this is definitely for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ekstam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Was over with a stag party in June, the hotel was located a 30 second walk to the metro station which is two stops away from Prague city centre.
Rooms are basic but clean (we had a suite between 4)
Reception is fine and the wee guy that is the spitting image of Luis Suarez is a legend that will help you out with anything.
Pizzeria out front did a nice cheap pint and an amazing pizza.
Dontget me wrong, hotel wowould be a 2 star at best here, however you do get what you pay for and its Prague, why would you want to spend that time in your hotel when that city is out there

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spankybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

There of us stayed here for three nights for the beer festival. Two other friends joined us for the next two nights. The hotel is totally basic. It has rooms, beds, a place to hang clothes and a bathroom and toilet! It is NOT a great hotel, but it does the job as it was very clean and brilliantly located at a metro station! The beds were sort of comfortable, we all had three in our room, so choices were good! The only complaint I have is that the shower head holders were broken in all of our rooms!
The location is good. It's set in a really quite area east of the Old Town Square. The metro is right outside the hotel, so getting about was easy and there is a tram line to the right as you leave the hotel.
If you head left from the hotel and left again, there is a nice sports bar with cheap beer! The bonus in the area was finding local bars and places to eat! If you head left from the hotel and turn right, you'll see a bar called The Pub. Brilliant new place with great beer and even better food! You even pour your one beer! Along a bit is what seems to be an Italian style restaurant. Three of had drinks outside, then decided to have food inside as it got a bit cold! The food was out of this world!
The two places I just mentioned are unbelievably cheap!
The five of us watched the Champions League final in The Pub. We had a lot of beer and we all had brilliant food. The cost was only about £60 for five mains and litres of great beer!!
Going back to the hotel, book this if you're on a budget. Do NOT expect quality service or a la carte breakfast! You'll get a smile from the staff and that's enough!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank SmithS&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

very good location, near the subway and easy to find. The room is very clean and you will get clean towl every day. Free internet, breakfast with much option. Compare to what we payed, absolutely to recommend!!
The quality of the sleep is a little bad because the heater has such a noise during the whole night...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank dawn1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked easily via Booking.com. Firstly my rating of 'very good' is for the 'budget' value,I.E for a very reasonable price ,you are not expecting the Ritz in Central Prague. That said,check in was quick and easy.My room was clean/TV was fine/bed fine/shower fine/toilet fine. Only issue I had was the curtains weren't thick enough so when the sun came up ,it woke you up!.Also outside noise in the morning if window open.Not a issue for me as I was getting up early. Could have been if wanting a lie in!. breakfast was very good I thought.I stayed for two nights.The reason that the Hotel was chosen was fairly central location along with being virtually opposite Krizikova Metro station (yellow line B) in addition the useful tram route 3 also stops opp the Metro station in the nearby Sokolovska (turn right from Hotel Entrance,walk past Metro station Entrances to get to the tram stop just down the road for the city bound trams.About a 2 min walk in total). The hotel had tram times on the wall of the reception or they are available on the tram stops. There are night tram routes for any late night revellers too! If arriving at the Airport suggest go to the DP info desk (Prague Transport department) in the Airport and buy whichever all day ,multi day ticket is best for your visit. The staff are helpful are the tickets are great value. By doing that saves looking for change at ticket machines. There are other DP offices around at stations or Tabaks,etc.

Room Tip: If the option available and you are a light sleeper may be wise to try and get a room at rear of hot...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

As happened to an earlier contributor, I arrived at the hotel around 9pm, tired after arriving at the airport, taking the airport bus, onto the metro, changing metro etc, to find they didn't want me! I had booked 2 months earlier, and had even called in a fortnight in advance, in person, to confirm things.
I arrived, and could find no staff. Afther about 5-6 minutes someone arrived, and I was told I was staying at another hotel, the reason given was that there wwre two groups of students in, and the hotel was very noisy! A taxi was called, and I was taken to the Hotel Brixen near Wenceslas Square (this hotel CANNOT have been an improvement!).
I cannot, therefore, properly review this hotel, but I believe it should be removed from all booking agency lists as it doesn't fulfil it's obligations.

Room Tip: Don't rely on getting a room at all
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
4  Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#132 of 648 in Prague
746 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#156 of 648 in Prague
533 reviews
Iris Hotel Eden
#140 of 648 in Prague
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Residence Casa Italia
Residence Casa Italia
#393 of 648 in Prague
278 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel U Divadla
Hotel U Divadla
#122 of 648 in Prague
591 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#128 of 648 in Prague
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charles Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles Central

Address: Thamova 26, Prague 180 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Brno)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $41 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles Central 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Charles Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brno Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing