We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Must have experience

Saki (as old friends call him) has not changed since we met on highschool 25 years ago. Buddy with... read more

Reviewed December 17, 2020
lukasj129
,
Stara Boleslav, Czech Republic
via mobile
Much more than a portrait session

This is my first review on Trip Advisor, and it is with deep gratitude that I am writing these... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2020
no_lleh975
Read all 71 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Prague
from $51.54
More Info
from $39.75
More Info
from $9.47
More Info
Prague Foodie Tour
2,588 Reviews
from $158.80
More Info
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
71
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
71
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whole process wet plate photo session exciting experience souvenir portraits gonzo techniques camera technology century master shoot insight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 71 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2019

Having seen Honza Sakar's portrait work previously, it was a real treat to have my and my daughter's portraits taken by him. Honza's artwork is made by using wet plate collodion, a 19-century process that gives you not only beautiful tangible photos but it also stands out from any other photo technique. The studio itself is set in a lovely street in Prague centre and to me, having observed Honza's mastery with all sorts of material and chemicals involved in the process of crafting a collodion portrait, made me think he must be an alchemist! He is also a master of improvisation and having seen that my 2-year old was not quite in the mood of staying still for any period of time, has asked his partner and a puppy to help with putting my daughter at ease. She loved the whole experience and had a great time in the studio! It was truly magical to see portraits emerge from the solution. An excitement from being able to observe the process and being able to have something unique, timeless and tangible in the end is something that can't easily be beaten. We are already looking forward to having more portraits taken in this studio next time we are in Prague!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank a1n2n3a4157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotografnaplech, Vlastník at Fotograf na plech, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019
Google Translation

Díky moc, Bělo, rád jsem Tě potkal a těším se na další focení!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

A different and unique experience, a real record and much more exciting than any souvenir youill buy at stores! warmly recommended. You should coordinate in advance. We arrived uncoordinated and luckily he was in the area. Suitable for photography enthusiasts but not only:) I came with my partner and it was an exciting experience! will suit for all types of groups, families couples or good friends :)

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank SigalitCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Having an old camera taking a black and white portrait of us was a fun, interesting experience. The photographer, Honza, was an interesting wonderful person to meet. He explained his technique. We did not feel hurried and could enjoy the moment.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019

I can't recommend this experience highly enough. It was awesome! Had a great time with Honza. He explained the whole process to us and involved us in each step. It's magic! He's got a great eye and took stunning photos of myself and my partner. The plates are unique and beautiful.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank colourmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019 via mobile

If you find yourself in Prague for any reason at all and are looking for something original to do I highly recommend spending an hour or so with this wonderful photographer and artist and having your portrait taken with this wonderful, very different Tinotype process. The end result is an image on a metal plate that is a unique and beautiful object in itself. Honza is a fascinating, gentle person who will involve you in the whole process including the darkroom and processing of the image. He has a lovely little studio in a very nice part of town on the way up to the castle. We also had portraits of our children taken that were absolutely stunning and beautifully captured a moment in their lives that will be treasured for generations to come.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank zacn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews