We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Prague
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Recommended experiences in and around Prague
from $15.78
More Info
from $22.55
More Info
from $38.33
More Info
from $157.83
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
55
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whole process wet plate talented photographer photo session exciting experience souvenir portraits gonzo techniques keepsake camera technology century shoot art
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 55 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Thank you Honza for giving us a memory for life from our trip to Prague. Not only the photograph we get to take home, but also the memory of a conversation with a great guy who showed us the whole process and spent some time talking to us.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank andarsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017

We stumbled on Honza's studio while walking around. I saw his photographs outside of his door and peeked in. He was very kind and took a photograph of our daughter without an appointment. Honza showed us how the process works, start to finish. My family is a bit camera-shy and we are not used to professional photographs, but this was a different experience altogether. Watching him use a 100+ year old camera and combining the old (the camera, the process) with the new (my daughter's clothes, the studio lights) was fascinating. But, the best part is the photo hung on the wall. My daughter at age 12 is captured perfectly, freckles and all. Beautiful and perfect--highly recommend making an appointment on a visit to Prague.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Lola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile

We found Honzas studio by a little research already on our way to Prague. He was super flexible when we requested him and we got an appointment the next day. Honza showed us all steps on how we makes an aluminium plate and now we got this wonderful photograph. The BEST souvenir from Praha ever.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Lara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

If you ever wondered how they used to take photo portraits in the 19th century and if you want to leave Prague with a unique souvenir, then definitely visit Honza's photographic studio.
Honza is a very talented photographer who will take a portrait of you using a technique long forgotten. You will sit in front of his antique camera and follow him in his darkroom to witness the interesting procedure of having your photo developed on a metal plate. Whether you are a photographer or not, Honza will explain you all the details of the procedure in real time. Finally you will leave his studio holding a unique and artistically perfect personal souvenir from Prague.
It is located just a 5 minute walk from Prague Castle and is easily accessible.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank dimitsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016

If you want a wonderful souvenir from Prague, spend one hour at the Honza´s atelier.
You will see how to make photos of a century ago. clean craft.
Take away the wonderful portrait and memory from Prague

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank 634asae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews