We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value Czech cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurace Mlejnice

Restaurace Mlejnice
Ranked #110 of 5,323 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value Czech cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very good food at good prices near the Old Town Square. This is a no frills restaurant that offers good authentic Czech food at good prices in simple surroundings. You will find it popular so either book the day before or turn up and be prepared to wait a while. The first time we turned up, circa 8pm, the wait was going to be an hour, so we went back on our last day for lunch, even then it was busy and by 12:45 was full.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsICHBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,678
    886
    177
    54
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we visited the restaurant one afternoon. We had the pork knee and the beef goulash, which appeared to be the popular choices from the restaurant. To be completely fair, the goulash was decent.

However, the food was destroyed by the repulsive service provided by the waiters. They charged us extra for leaving a bottle of water on the table, claiming that we were not supposed to consume outside beverages. This was despite the fact that the bottle was sealed, and we made the effort to explaining that to them. When we tried to get the bill, we were unable to get the attention of the waiters after over 10 minutes (selective service?). In view that we were rushing for a tour, we went ahead to the cashier to settle the bill, and was rudely told that we were not allowed to pay at the cashier.

The overall experience was extremely offensive. The staff were obnoxious and unpleasant to say the least. I've never felt this disrespected in ANY restaurants ever. The experience was absolutely horrible. Save yourself the annoyance and visit another restaurant in Prague - there are a ton which are better in terms of taste, price and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank moddieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST goulash ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Take it from this foodie and gourmet cook...this is the BEST goulash ever! Its thick, rich, and stew like. I couldn't get enough of it. This place is worth the wait!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliceMoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3lyssa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing food very unfriendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

First of all, if possible arrive very early or make and confirm a reservation. This restaurant has less than 20 tables and fills up quickly.
The food is excellent, we had a cheese plate, salad and split a meal and a couple sides. This was more than enough food for two people. The beer is also very good.
The staff seem like they are being held against their will and each time another party walks in they act shocked and angry... as if they can't imagine why people keep showing up during meal times.
If you can get past the rude staff you should enjoy the food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M3lyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
447 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great place, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The first time we tried to go here it was packed with people waiting. The second time we got in and I loved the atmosphere, kind of rustic, maybe like a local hangout. The entrance is on a small side street just off the main square. The menu is fairly wide ranging in different food items. The three of us had excellent food, good service, and a very reasonable price. This is a definite stop if you want good Czech food in Prague

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurace Mlejnice also viewed

 

Been to Restaurace Mlejnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing