We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metamorphis Excellent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metamorphis Excellent
Ranked #306 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
2 reviews
“Lovely rooms, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

The hotel was in an excellent location, a five minute walk to the old town square and close to the metro station. The building itself is old in keeping with traditional architecture but inside it kitted out with modern conveniences. The room was very spacious with a superb bathroom. The room was immaculate. The breakfast was very good. I woult highly recommend it and definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TokenIrishNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
76
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

Spending a weekend in a beautiful city like prague was a wonderful experience for me and my wife. In addition to that, our hotel was in the very heart of the city, walking distance to all interesting spots that Prague can offer. Hotel Metamorphis Excellent excelled our expectations, the service was superb and our room which was a junior suite was spacious and elegant. The bathroom was the biggest one we've ever seen in a hotel. And lastly, the breakfast was great, different selections every day. All these package has cost us with a very reasonable price. I really reccomend this hotel to anyone who intend to visit the city!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edumination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolin, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

The hotel location is PREMIUM- great courtyard - one side Old Town Square, the other, Jewish Quarter and New Town. It is only a few blocks to a tram stop or the underground and secure ATM's.
The room we had was very comfortable and CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. They look like to pictures online however, the bathroom shown online is only in the suites. We only had a shower stall, but it was roomy enough and the water pressure is awsome! The bed is quite large and comfortable, nice pillows, and extra blankets, but it is two large twins(almost doubles) pushed together. We had two nice windows that open to the courtyard.
The staff was very nice and helpful - always smiling.
The girl that worked everyday at breakfast could not have been nicer (give her a day off!!!) The breakfast buffett was good no champers or omelet station, but if your ok with the basics it will keep you going until an afternoon break.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

The restaurant is in a cellar of fantastic atmosphere, but unfortunately in a separate building and it was just raining, so it is unpleasent to cross the street, it would be better if you could cross within the building or have at least the breakfast in the building, where the rooms are.
Some wellness services would be nice, although I know that free area for that purpose is a problem.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sziki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

The 5* Metamorphis Excellent, is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in! The room was very tastefully decorated, with the most comfortable pillows, and amazing double shower! The location was second to none, close enough to everything, yet in its own small backstreet and courtyard. The breakfast was a little odd (I’ve never had pasta salad for breakfast before!) but there was also a good selection of breads, cheeses, meats, cereals and preserves to have. The reception staff were very friendly and more than happy to help in any way they could.

There is nothing I can fault about this hotel! If you are looking for a little bit of luxury, in a small unique hotel this one is for you!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elliebellieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

Part of a group of connected buildings in the middle of the Old Town but not inconvenienced at all by noise unless the window was open and the tour groups were admiriring the Hotels Buildings and the delightful square they were in.. Nearly everything I have to say about the place is good so lets start with reception which was helpful and friendly and on one day spent some time with us planning an unexpected and very enjoyable trip. The building is very old but has been wonderfully and sympathetically modernised. Our room was really big and but with two four foot beds joined to make a double, distances made romance a bit difficult! The quality of the bed was super. We've just spent 1500 pounds on a new one and this was as good. Excellent bathroom with corner tub and big walk in shower. A little light on places to put things like toothbrushes etc. (I feel it spoils the luxury atmosphere getting my shaving stuff out of a Tesco carrier bag).
The room had an easy chair, coffee table and work station if you were so inclined. Also a 32 inch flat screeen TV but only CNN (and TVE which was OK for us). There was a free internet computer downstairs and with so many trendy people using their laptops in their rooms we never had aproblem getting on it for our e mails and Tripadvisor information.
Now the problem. Being an old building there no lifts. We were on the first floor so it didn't matter but having had a recent bad fall my knee would have liked a lift. Getting to breakfast was a bit worse. You had to cross an open, but very short, courtyard to get to the adjoining building and then down a spiral stone staircase two floors to a fantastic Gothic cellar. There were handrails galore so the stairs weren't really a problem except that you feel such a fool when you have an injury nobody can see and you are grabbing every handrail and going very slowly. Breakfast was good. Nothing to write home about but more than adequate with cereals, rolls, jams and usually eggs and another hot item. Plenty of tea or coffee. Then the steps back up.
The locatiobn of the hotel is excellent. It is on the edge of the old town just a few minutes away from the main square. I didn't feel the square or anywhere else was a rip off as some forum quotes I read before we left suggested. You don't expect a cheap cup of coffee in St.Mark's Square and even opposite the clock in the main square prices were only a little more than further tucked away. We found an amazing vegetarian restaurant, almost as good as Terre a Terre in Brighton, and I'll put that on the forum as soon as I can find their card. The city is beautiful and I am so glad I eventually got round to going there. If we go again the Hotel Metamorphosis will be chosen - as long as the knee is better.

  • Liked — The very high standard of conversion of an old and interesting building
  • Disliked — No lift to the breakfast room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank manzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Booked to stay at the Metamorphis through Booking.com and got an excellent rate of 90 euros a night. Turned up on the Monday and found out that we'd been moved to the Excellent -its next door to the Metamorphis, but its smaller and posher! We had been given the suite on the top floor, complete with spa bath and rooftop terrace. Huge room. Quite comfy, well furnished but more modern than we were expecting - part of the reason we booked the Metamorphis was to have an olde worlde type room.

Huge breakfasts taken next door downstairs at the Metamorphis - big buffet style. Something hot every day, usually sausages or bacon and eggs, pasta or bean stew. Lots of salad, ham, cheese, juice, cereals, cakes, bread and jam etc etc.

All in all we had a great time. We would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that when we checked out the receptionist said that her housekeeper said that there was a black stain on the carpet and that they would be charging us 2000cr for room damage. After much arguing and unpleasantness they eventually agreed to remove the charge - the mark was already there when we got to the room. Left a sour taste in the mouth which was unfortunate.

The location of the hotel is superb, everything is walkable. Lots of steps up to rooms and down to breakfast so maybe not for you if you don't do stairs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Them trying to make us pay for some room damage which was already there.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank saritabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#189 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Merchant's Yard Residence
Merchant's Yard Residence
#338 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Golden deer
Hotel Golden deer
#286 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#211 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#93 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis Excellent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis Excellent

Property: Metamorphis Excellent
Address: Tyn 10/644 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00 , Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#198 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#216 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metamorphis Excellent 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your Metamorphis Excellent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Excellent Prague
Metamorphis Excellent Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing