We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, but do not upgrade to the superior room”
Review of Hotel Rous

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rous
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Please look at this review as a review for their Superior Room, and not the hotel as a whole.

I recently stayed in Plzen for one night at the Hotel Rous. The location is unbeatable: it is half a block away from the town square, and not even a fifteen-minute walk to the train station. The staff were also very courteous, and the included breakfast was more than adequate. I recommend this hotel; however, do not upgrade to the superior room unless you are of inferior height.

While this was not an issue to me since I am able-bodied, the room is located on the top floor, which is two sets of stairs above the top floor reached by the elevator. If you have any walking disability, this is not a good room. While the room is indeed spacious, it has sloped ceilings that are very low in one half of the room and the exposed beams are a likely target for the inattentive head.

The main issue, however, was the bathroom. The tub was on a slope, so unless you were shorter than 1m40cm, you would have to crouch to shower. Additionally, there was no shower curtain, and the shower head had to be held by the user while showering. This resulted in some inconvenient acrobatics when one attempted to clean oneself. In a lower floor, this obviously would not have been an issue. Since we only stayed there for one night, we could laugh about this inconvenience, but it would have been intolerable on a longer stay.

In sum, I recommend this hotel, but do stay in a room in one of the lower floors.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice hotel, very good location in the city - close to the footballstadion and the brewery.
Also close to the shopping centre.
All the displacements are perfect to do by foot.
Sober but good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Filip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed one night for business in Plzen. The hotel was easy to find. The receptionist was very helpful and escorted me up to my room. Note the single rooms are on the top floor, one flight of stairs higher than the elevator . . .not a problem but be prepared. The room was large for a single with beautiful woodwork. Breakfast in the cafe was excellent.

Room Tip: Single rooms on the top floor have excellent skylights rather than windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here one night and overall very pleased with the hotel. The location is ideal - steps away from the main square and a 10 min. walk to Pilsner brewery. The receptionist was very helpful; showed us to the room personally and gave us some good restaurant and pub recommendations. The room was large and well-decorated and the bed comfortable. The bathroom did not have a shower (bath with a low shower head so you could not stand up). This was ok for one night but would get on my nerves if I was staying there for any length of time. Our room faced the street and with the trams it is loud, but we are heavy sleepers and this didn't bother us. The one thing that was a bit odd was that the hotel seems to be locked all the time. I understand why this is, and once we had a key it was fine, but we came by twice to check in and the place was locked. This gives off a rather cool impression and was inconvenient for us. Breakfast the next day was fine - nothing special but satisfactory.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saturdayedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Just spent a night in Hotel Rous, but hopefully I can share some valuable information with you. Finding Hotel Rous is very easy. Arriving by car, you can find some notices and driving down the street, it's very visible. So no problem.
I was lucky, the receptionist was still present when arriving, but she was on her way home already. It was close to 7.30 p.m. In such a small hotel it's understandable, but as rising, the hotel should re-consider this approach.
My room was OK. Although I've booked a single, I stayed in twin, so enough space, very spacious. The equipment is OK, everything is well combined. Except the TV, which should have been better and I was unfortunate to miss football match broadcasting, as the TV reception was not good enough. And faster internet connection would do no harm as well.
Breakfast is very good and all members of personnel are very friendly.
Overall, staying at Hotel Rous is very nice and you should face no problems. And if the hotel uses better the potential, it would be even better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I arrived in the evening at 7:30 pm and the reception was closed. I had to go to a cafe next door and wait at least 15 minutes standing that the (only) waiter took a few minutes to do the check in. The room is very small but looks ok and the building look also ok. The Internet was not working so I had to go again to the cafe to get some connection. The price is very reasonable, but it's not an hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Da-microscope-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed for two nights in a comfortable but small, double room at the back of the hotel - our choice because the larger suites were on a busy street and were too noisy. The hotel is located close to the main square, easily reached by tram from the main train station. (You could actually walk).
Breakfast in Caffe Emily each morning was great - plenty of bread for toast, buns, pastries, juice and an assortment of jams and yoghurts. A freshly brewed cup of coffee was a bonus. Caffee Emily is a smoking cafe, but during the mornings, only hotel guests were present and luckily no-one was smoking.
The free wireless internet was very slow or non-functioning, although the cafe's free connection was fine. Cafe staff were particularly obliging and helpful.
A kettle in the room for the occasional cup of tea or coffee, and a decent internet connection would have made the stay perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gragra_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pilsen hotels
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Easy Angelo Pilsen
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pilsen
1.8 mi away
Parkhotel Plzen
Parkhotel Plzen
#7 of 31 in Pilsen
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ibis Plzen
Ibis Plzen
#3 of 31 in Pilsen
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rango
Hotel Rango
#6 of 31 in Pilsen
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 31 in Pilsen
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rous

Address: Zbrojnicka 113/7, Pilsen 301 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Pilsen Region > Pilsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pilsen
Price Range: $90 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rous 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rous is family, luxurious, 4 stars hotel situated in the historical center of the city of Plzeo. It offers 18 guest rooms, of it 15 double-bedded and 3 single-bedded rooms, including 3 hotel suites and one room for persons with disabilities, and meeting room for up 18 persons. Breakfast is served in nice Caffe Emily or in the outside terrace situated within the historical fortification walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rous Hotel Plzen
Hotel Rous Plzen/Pilsen, Czech Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing