We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ingo

Amazing Rooms, Average Service

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 11, 2016
I stayed there for the second time within four years for roughly a week when visiting our czech office. The rooms are huge, very stylish but still cozy. Definitely amazing!
Unfortunately I have to say that the service and the friendliness (at least at the reception) is below average. At least for some people of the staff. There where some really nice and friendly ones (on our checkout), but also some unkind ones.

I reserved two non smoking rooms for me and my colleague about 4-6 weeks before arrival and I was given a smokers room. As a returning visitor with explicitly reserving a non smoking room I expect to get one. Or the information in advance that there are no more non smoking rooms available.
After (literally!) 2 minutes in that room I took my suitcase and went to the reception again asking for a change.
The staff member was a irritated and made me notify that. She even told me that she'll ask the cleaning staff to come again and then the smell would be gone. Sure! They can turn a smoking room into a non-smoking room with one cleanup. Must be magic. Allegedly they had no other free room.

After arguing for some minutes she finally promised to find a solution. So I got a new room - on the next category. Didn't she mention they have no other free room?
My colleague who was travelling with me got a free upgrade to the next category without any additional charge directly at the check in.
Basically I'm ok with that even if I still would have gotten the "small" room, but why did she refuse it to a returning customer when he has eligible complaints regarding the first room?
Be honest to your guests and if you are upset and/or irritated be more professional.

Anyway, finally the second room was good, though it (and I assume all the others as well) didn't have an A/C. As we where visiting in early summer it already got pretty warm.

I used the hotels gym twice and was pleasantly surprised of the quality of the training gear they have. But also there is no A/C (or it was turned off the whole week). So it got pretty warm and steamy.

Breakfast is above the average with a good quality and choice, me and my colleague definitely enjoyed it.

If I have to travel to our Czech office the next time I'll try the Golden Fish once again because the overall quality is really good. It's just some people of the staff that should work on improving their service and kindliness.
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $95
  • Wyndham
    $107
1.8 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $89
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $113
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ibis
$65
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $57
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $58
  • Booking.com
1.3 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $96
  • Hotels.com
1.8 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Courtyard
Courtyard
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    $92
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $94
  • Booking.com
    $95
1.9 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $87
  • Booking.com
1.6 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$109
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
2.5 miles from Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pilsen
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
29
9
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
29
9
2
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 44 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2016

We used to stay here everytime we had a conference with Mladí konzervativci. Everything was absolutely perfect and well organized. If you want to arrange a business meeting, Golden Fish is the best choice.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 14, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic and definitely worth a stay. He only downside is the restaurant. The atmosphere is great, but the service is dismal (even by Czech standards). The waiter (Michal) forgot several orders, did not return to serve drinks and never asked if our table wanted dessert before the restaurant closed. No apology offered. The steak was also inedible, but no waiter in sight to return it. This is not the first time this has happened at this restaurant. It is a real shame as the hotel itself is really good and let down by the restaurant staff and food.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank Fergontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Fergontour,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am very sorry about your experience in our restaurant, truly sorry. I'll do my best that this never happens again. Please accept my apology for your trouble.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2015 via mobile

I had a small business lunch here and it was very good. The sea bass was well prepared and came as 2 fillets. It was accompanied with a fresh and mildly seasoned seaweed. The bread for the table was served warm and the coffee at the end was well roasted.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank O6088FCpaulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am very happy that you had a pleasant lunch. We would like to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2015

From the moment you step in this hotel, you feel it is like a second home. I have to say I was very surprised with the level of service, from the restaurant to the rooms and the atmosphere. Great matrasses, quiet and LARGE rooms, nothing to complain!
The director of rooms (Ms. Katerina Stenglova) is great and always there to help, organize or just ask if you need anything.
This was a place that deserves to be your home when travelling to Pilsen (Plzen).

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vla_K81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Vlada,

Thank you very much for your terrific feedback! I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay. We would like to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

All was almost perfect!!! Nice Room, big and comfortable bathroom, fast wifi connection, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, good restaurant inside!!! Perfect solution for a business trip... Price was amazing... Good position 10 minutes far from downtown I will go back again for sure during my next business trip! No doubt to chose it!

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank andreacF9535VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Andrea,

Thank you very much for your terrific feedback! I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay. We would like to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews